Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading
Anyone interested in serious programming with Javascript should definitely consider "Javascript Application Cookbook" by Jerry Bradembaugh. First and foremost, this book is not for the lighthearted. One should be well versed with programming (Javascript, Java, C, C++) before considering taking on this book.
From the very first sample (Online Test), I knew this book...
Published on June 18 2002 by Scooby Doo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not what I wanted.
I thought this book would be the Javascript equivalent of the Perl Cookbook, but not even close. This book just doesn't serve the same purpose. It's not a bad book, but it needs to be simplified into categories. Us programmers don't need to have our hands held while we code stuff, we just need help here and there and that's what made the Perl Cookbook so good. This...
Published on Nov. 21 1999 by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you're past the fundamentals, Jan. 10 2004
By 
Thomas Duff "Duffbert" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
This book fills a very nice gap in the world of JavaScript books. Most of the books either are basic "how to" learning guides or exhaustive reference manuals. Both of those types of books are necessary for a good developer, but there comes a time when you want to cross over from the theoretical to the practical. As in, "how would I do a function like this in JavaScript?"
The "cookbook" approach is designed to take a common web site feature, like a search engine, and code a common JavaScript routine that would do that. You can then take the code in the book and use it with very little modification. In most cases, you would learn from the code as you are implementing it, and from there you can enhance the function to better suit your particular needs. You get the best of both worlds... You are quickly able to implement a function you are getting paid to build, and you are learning at the same time.
I liked the piece on context-sensitive help files. Nothing is really complex or visually impressive. But it's core functionality that you can implement quickly, it's useful for the end user, and you can build on that technique both in your current and future applications.
For Notes/Domino developers, you'll find a lot you can use here. Being that Domino functionality often translates to the web, you may find that a pure JavaScript implementation of a feature may not be the fastest or easiest way to build something for your application. You'll need to examine the functionality you need for your application and determine the best way to do it. But even if you choose to use Domino to accomplish some task, seeing the way to do it in JavaScript can help you expand your horizons and consider different approaches.
Conclusion
I would recommend this book as a practical supplement to a good "how to" and a good reference book. If you're just starting to learn JavaScript, you may want to leave this one alone for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually Useless Text, Feb. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
The text is focused on providing ready built constructs that can be applied to any website. In summary this book contains 11 application constructs. 3 are possibly applicable in todays world, albeit their relevancy is questioned, the other 9 topics such as text ciphers in JavaScript and Shopping Carts in JavaScript, etc. are completely unacceptable in today's world. Adding text cipher or Shopping cart logic in the browser completely exposes that logic to the hacking public leaving your site completely vulnerable to attack. Even in 1999, when this book was written, this would have been a ridiculous way of implementing these things. I must say I gathered no useful information from this text. And as for the author, anyone who had their site implemented by this person should hire a professional to correct the security holes he has most likely left behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, javascript without the cheap tricks......, Sept. 17 2002
By 
Thomas E. Temple (Hilton Head Island, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
After working through the first chapter (site search engine) I felt that this was a book work reading. It isn't a beginner's book, but anyone with intermediate javascript skills and an interest in using client-side processing will pick up a good amount of useful techniques and some needed perspective on how client-side scripting can be a powerful asset.
The code could be better (as could anyone's). There is a strong focus on using local variables instead of global and the naming conventions make following the logic from one function to the next a little difficult. This, however, does not diminish the value of the concepts presented.
To use the book, you "MUST" download the files. Not only are they a lot easier to read, you can comment them extensively as you go and pick up logic bits.
An inportant suggestion is to not blow through the example application too quickly. If you take the time to take them apart, modify them and reassemble, you will pick up much more than just running them reading the code and moving on.
I wish there were more books that presented the business functionality of javascript and how it can be used to handle many of the things that are being passed to server-side processing.
I bought it, used it and would buy it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for moving past javascript cheap tricks...., Sept. 16 2002
By 
Thomas E. Temple (Hilton Head Island, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought the book expecting to pick up techniques to accomplish some serious client-side actions. After working through the first chapter, I was pleased with the purchase. This is a no nonsense book that gets right to some usable applications.
Chapter one's search engine is not a lengthy script, but takes a while to digest because so many local variables are used. While this is economical, it makes picking up the logic flow from one function to the next a little more difficult. Having said that, the concepts presented in the code are well worth the effort to work through every line.
Downloading the zip file is the only way to go with this book. the code in the book is, due to format limitations, much more difficult to follow than the code viewed in a good editor. Besides you can comment the code line-by-line if that helps you.
If I was looking for an intermediate business oriented javascript book, this would be it!!
After fully mastering the approach of any one of the samples, you can begin immediately to see ways to either expand or apply the code. That's really what most of us are looking for.
Thanks for writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading, June 18 2002
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
Anyone interested in serious programming with Javascript should definitely consider "Javascript Application Cookbook" by Jerry Bradembaugh. First and foremost, this book is not for the lighthearted. One should be well versed with programming (Javascript, Java, C, C++) before considering taking on this book.
From the very first sample (Online Test), I knew this book would be teaching me a lot of new techniques. Having a web-based application running solely (actually, more like 99%) on Javascript is great. Bradenbaugh is very thorough in his writing, explaining, and guiding readers through various sections of each application. His presentations of the processes and variables used are so helpful when walking through the source code.
Right out of the book, there is no need to configure anything except to download the samples. Once you have it saved on your machine, it's time to make things happen. The best thing about the author's walk-through is that he tells you explicitly what is going on, and he offers ways to enhance each application. That's a must when you are looking for ideas from someone with as much knowledge as he has.
I see combining several chapters worth of code into a bigger and better application. For example, using the file I/O techniques used in the Online Test application in conjunction with the Slideshow application, one could create a database of images used and allow users to load and save them. Better yet, why not offer something like a shopping cart for your users to select which image to include in a slideshow. The possibilities are endless from the use of this book. If time permits, incorporate other functions and create a true scripting-library. Use the include directive to bring in what is needed to make your application lean and user-friendly.
There are some sample chapters of the JavaScript...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars promotes bad coding practices, May 29 2002
By 
AlanDog (Chico, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
Not a cookbook, not well-organized, not very helpful.
He recommends syntax that is harder to read and understand because it saves a few bytes of memory--he may have experience with javascript, but is he an experienced programmer? He's overly-concerned with speed of execution, and not concerned enough regarding readability and maintainability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PEFECTION!!!, April 4 2001
By 
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this book about 3 weeks ago to help with my newest assignment at work. WOW! IT works wonders with all good browsers (sorry, Netscape isn't in this section).
The information presented in this book is concise and logical. The examples are superior to anything else I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Examples do not work, Aug. 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
I purchased this book and downloaded the sample code from O'reilly. I then applied the errata from the o'reilly site.
The first example does not work in either netscape communicator 4.72 or ie 5.0. It is full of script errors. This really irritates me. I don't mind doing a little debugging but this is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is exactly what it says in the title!, June 26 2000
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
The title is 'JavaScript Application Cookbook'. The author says he aimed to provide complete applications in JavaScript to demonstrate its power and in my opinion, he has done this extremely well.
If you don't quite have the time to try and build entire applications, or would like to use cross-browser JavaScript to its fullest extent, then this book is highly recommended - kudos to the author. If you're looking for a JScript reference, stick with JavaScript : The Definitive Reference by David Flanagan or the JavaScript Bible by Danny Goodman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toughtful and complete, Feb. 9 2000
By 
Brian Donnelly (Tigard, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript Application Cookbook (Paperback)
I definately stress that you have some experience with Java script before diving into this book but it is by far one of the best intros I've read. This book guides you through semi-complicated to very complex application designs that would be useful for any web site. The coments on the code are clear and pretty much line by line explainations. This book will be exceptionally useful to the user wanting to refine his/her Java script skills in regards to the web. Its books like this that make O'Reilly what they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42e212c)

This product

JavaScript Application Cookbook
JavaScript Application Cookbook by Jerry Bradenbaugh (Paperback - Oct. 21 1999)
CDN$ 54.99 CDN$ 34.64
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews