Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars the sendmail bible
If you are a mail admin and don't use this book, you are either doing it wrong or are a genius.
Anyone who is serious about sendmail administration and configuration must use this book.
sendmail is far to complex to be used w/o a great reference such as this.
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Eric Kent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't limit yourself
This is a great book if you are seasoned Sendmail admin with good C programming skills. I give 3 starts because it is so hard to understand.
I've been using sendmail for 3 years and I just tried Qmail and Postfix. I have chosen Postfix because it's so darn efficiant and configurable.
Viktor Duchovni, is a great help on the online community and the online docs...
Published on Sept. 20 2003 by Gene Ballard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Don't limit yourself, Sept. 20 2003
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
This is a great book if you are seasoned Sendmail admin with good C programming skills. I give 3 starts because it is so hard to understand.
I've been using sendmail for 3 years and I just tried Qmail and Postfix. I have chosen Postfix because it's so darn efficiant and configurable.
Viktor Duchovni, is a great help on the online community and the online docs are just as detaild as this sendmail book.
If you are stuck on sendmail then get this book.
But try Qmail and Postfix if you can...
BTW... RedHat lets you choose between Postfix or Sendmail. That means a lot to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the sendmail bible, Sept. 18 2003
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
If you are a mail admin and don't use this book, you are either doing it wrong or are a genius.
Anyone who is serious about sendmail administration and configuration must use this book.
sendmail is far to complex to be used w/o a great reference such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Sendmail Admin, Aug. 15 2003
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
Without a doubt, this is the best reference book there is on Sendmail. No other books come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you use Sendmail, you should use this book., May 11 2003
By 
Tim Greer "Mr. Tim" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
This is a very good book to read and reference and covers a lot. Although I don't use Sendmail anymore, I still reference it when I support a server that runs it and it coveres everything a book shoudl cover about a topic. It doesn't get all generalized and go off into basic installs and configures of other software and things just to waste more trees, it does it's job and does it well. It's *the* Sendmail book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Better than the 2nd edition!, April 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
This book is definitely better than the 2nd edition.....well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Need This!, Jan. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
Excellent update from the 2nd edition. Anyone who administers a Sendmail server needs this "reference" includes SMTP Auth, libMilter etc.
I would suggest to the negative reviewers here to stick with a zero configuration solution such as iMail, this isn't a hold your hand setup text, it's reference. Sendmail requires some dedication, the learning curve is steep, but the rewards are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the 3rd edition!, Jan. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
BUY THIS BOOK! If you have an earlier edition, throw it away and buy this book! If you looked at earlier editions and decided that they were not for you, forget the past ! Buy this book!
The third edition is more than a new edition; it is a complete re-write that vastly improves the sendmail book. The second edition had 38 chapters spread over a 1,000 pages. All of the details were there, but they were so hard to find, the index was the most used section of the book. Not anymore! Despite adding 200 more pages of material, the book has been reduced to 25 logical, organized chapters. Each chapter describes an important function and covers that function in a step-by-step manner.
The book is well organized, beautifully written, and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'SEND' YOUR 'MAIL' WITH SOME COMFORT, Jan. 19 2003
By 
reviewer (Zurich, Switzerland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sendmail (Paperback)
This versatile well-illustrated book is detailed enough as to take the place of a reference text. It has kept pace with all the evolving versions of the software (up to the 8.12 edition). A whole chapter on Spam and Anti-Spam has been added to this latest edition. Other new additions include elaborated chapter on Performance Tuning; as well as expanded coverage of Vacation and Makemap. Every new option as regards the software (version 8.10 through 8.12) was included. At the same time, the simplistic outlook of the book remained unchanged. This is a good text to own, although that some of its details are really unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sendmail
Sendmail by Bryan Costales (Paperback - Dec 28 2002)
CDN$ 92.95
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews