Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable vade mecum
This is a nearly perfect book both for learning HTTP and for an HTTP reference. HTTP is a small, simple protocol, and this is reflected in this book's small size. Great sequence diagrams illustrate the basic HTTP transaction which is detailed in less than ten small pages. And you will probably soon find yourself with several post-it bookmarks or dog-eared pages.
The...
Published on March 11 2003 by D. Dulay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, but needs an index
Overall this is a good book for looking something up, but an index at the end of the book would be very helpful. Without it, you have to thumb through page-by-page and find what you're looking for. Maybe in the 2nd edition.
If the index had been there, it definitely would have gotten four stars.
The book could stand a couple of examples, too, maybe with a CGI...
Published on June 29 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable vade mecum, March 11 2003
By 
D. Dulay (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
This is a nearly perfect book both for learning HTTP and for an HTTP reference. HTTP is a small, simple protocol, and this is reflected in this book's small size. Great sequence diagrams illustrate the basic HTTP transaction which is detailed in less than ten small pages. And you will probably soon find yourself with several post-it bookmarks or dog-eared pages.
The book could use an explanation of HTTP proxies and gateways and a list of common user-agents. But any more and it would be too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't realise I needed it!, Feb. 16 2003
By 
"websiteowner" (Morecambe, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
If you develop your own web applications then this book is invaluable! You don't realise that you need it until you know what's in it. An overview of HTTP headers, client methods and server response codes along with URL character and media type tables makes for a great pocket reference!
The O'Reilly pocket references are so concise that they are not really meant for someone who is totally new to the subject. They can however be the ideal way to provide an overview to anyone who wants to know the basics of the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, Nov. 28 2001
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
The praise of other reviewers is well met. Overall, this is a very good book and every CGI programmer and anyone else doing Internet programming should buy it.
My only complaint is that it doesn't group information based on servers and is missing some server-specific items that are important, although they are not part of the Spec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly short, but packed with info, Nov. 14 2001
By 
"the_coder" (Plano, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
This is the smallest and shortest book I have probably read since first grade. I did not realize it, at the time of ordering, that this is actually a miniature book. It actually does fit in your pocket.
The HTTP specification is relatively small and simple. This book covers it all. I was able to complete it in two hours. It was refreshing to have such a brief and concise reference available. This book certainly did not fall into the trap of elaborating to the point of irrelevance. I fully recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for HTTP, Oct. 3 2001
By 
C. Young "C. Young" (West Jordan, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
I bought two books on HTTP. This one and a very forgetable doorstop of a book. This was by far my favorite. It is only about 70 pages or so, but contains everything I need. I wish I could say this about every book I buy.
If you are planning to work with Java Servlets or CGI, you should get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book on the Hypertext Transfer Protocol, July 29 2001
By 
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
The author, Clinton Wong, does an great job of covering HTTP. He points out the differences between HTTP 1.0 and HTTP 1.1 in an excellent manner. This books covers the following topics:
What is HTTP? -- HTTP Transactions -- Client Methods -- Server Response Codes -- Headers -- URL Encoding -- Client and Server Identification -- Referring Documents -- Retrieving Content -- Media Types -- Cookies -- Authorization -- Persistent Connections -- Client Caching
This is a SMALL book. "HTTP Pamphlet" would be a better description. As a "Pocket Reference", trust me, it will definitely fit in your pocket. However, the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) probably doesn't need more than the 75 pages it is given (after all, it is a pocket reference).
I'm not sure the (price) cover price is right. There are best selling noves 5 times this size that only cost (price). However, technical books, especially computer/programming/networking ones always seem to cost more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pocket Reference..., June 5 2001
By 
Thomas Lunsford "Computer Engineer" (Pensacola, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
This book is what a POCKET REFERENCE ought to be: It gives an appropriate explanation of the material AND it presents elements of the topic in an easy-to-find and organized manner.
It's also inexpensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, but needs an index, June 29 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (Paperback)
Overall this is a good book for looking something up, but an index at the end of the book would be very helpful. Without it, you have to thumb through page-by-page and find what you're looking for. Maybe in the 2nd edition.
If the index had been there, it definitely would have gotten four stars.
The book could stand a couple of examples, too, maybe with a CGI program to show the practical application of the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc39871a4)

This product

HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol
HTTP Pocket Reference: Hypertext Transfer Protocol by Clinton Wong (Paperback - June 16 2000)
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews