Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars You People Are On Dope
Dude seriously whats up with these people and complaining about a book? First of All This Guide Is The BEst one realeased cuz like some one else said it lets you chose you own decisions and some idiot also said it didnt show how to find an ankehg plate mail, well Mr Idiot if you Had Actually Bothered To Play the game you would have found that there is a monster called...
Published on Nov. 2 2003 by Stealth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK guide
This guide is a good one considering how hard making a strategy guide is for this kind of game. It has a very complete walkthrough. It is kind of tiring to flip back and forth in the book though. If you want a guide to help you through the tough parts of the game, get this.
Published on Feb. 28 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars It's marginally helpful getting through the game, June 6 2010
By 
Kenneth Sandberg (Shingletown, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I am having a terrible time getting through the Baulder's Gate game, and I thought this would make it easier. It does, but not by as much as I had hoped. I have found that the only really successful way through this game is hit and miss. The book just doesn't tell you enough about various problems to be meaningfully helpful. (I don't want to be spoon fed, but sometimes I might just as well play the game without the darn book.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You People Are On Dope, Nov. 2 2003
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Dude seriously whats up with these people and complaining about a book? First of All This Guide Is The BEst one realeased cuz like some one else said it lets you chose you own decisions and some idiot also said it didnt show how to find an ankehg plate mail, well Mr Idiot if you Had Actually Bothered To Play the game you would have found that there is a monster called just that.......no not idiot.....called ankehg and if you even maneged to kill him you would have found that you get its Shell...and once again if you had played the game you would have hear that thunderhammer smithy makes "special"armor and incase you didnt even know WHERE he Was Well He's Located In Beregost that building in the east just click on the door and open then you pay him money give him the shell wait a tenday and there ya go........and i hope this helped other people too who werent sure how to get this mail plate. And If Your Gonna Whine About A Book That This Person Maybe SO it could help you and all you do is cry well make a guide of your own then whine as much as you want if you even get to make a guide that contains 1/12th of the entire game:P So yeah to Those Interested In This Guide Give It A chance and Dont Listen to these guys who haent even tried playing every single quest i hope this was helpful to all you thinking about buying this book!:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very incomplete, Aug. 13 2002
By 
Falcon91Wolvrn03 (East Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This book doesn't even come close to giving away all the Baldur's Gate secrets. It seems as though it tries to help guide you without giving away too much. To me that defeats the purpose of a strategy guide. In my opinion, a strategy guide should list ALL the treasures, ALL the traps, ALL the hidden items, ALL the subplots, etc. This book doesn't, and I felt it was a waste of money. I found better strategy guides on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is okay... If you lost your game manual., July 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This book is incredibly bad. Its mostly just the manual reprinted. Under the character section I didn't find how to make a good character, I found the exact same descriptions used in the game. People say this book is good because it doesn't hold your hand. This book just pretends your inept. The "walkthrough" was mostly the exaact same stuff that your journal gives you, with the other being the decisions that the person who played the game made.
It just tells you some of what you need to know to beat teh game, and the rest it jsut hints at. The guide just names the side-quests, it doens't help with any of them, also everything is piled around so that you don't have a cohesive, chapter by game chapter guide, rather parts of the chapter all over the book. For crying out-loud, they made two seperate walkthroughs, neither of which is very helpful.
Save your money, because this book is just an expensive manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely worthless..., July 18 2002
By 
"asestrin" (Novi, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This "guide" if it qualifies to be called that, has all but no content, it's cryptic, obscure, gives no direct information, and free text/graphic guides from fan sites or gamefaqs on the internet provide infinitely more information for no cost. Avoid this, it's a waste of good money, and all too many trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Worthless, July 12 2002
By 
Charles Harrington (Calif, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Some people apparently liked this book because it didn't give away too much of the plot.... why were these people reading a guidebook? The Icewind Dale guidebook was amazing. It had a complete walkthrough that took you through all of the little nooks and crannies of the game and separate sections for every item type and creature you can find/encounter.
The main section of this book is vague journal entries that are intended to take you throught the major plot moments. This was an awful idea as a typical entry reads something like "We hurried through the cavern encountering countless skeletons, spiders, and mercenaries". That will get you nowhere! If you're reading the guide you wanna know what corridors you will walk down and exactly who you will encounter.
The main narrative ignores almost all of the little subquests in the game. If you don't take on a good number of these quests your characters aren't going to have the experience you will need to beat the game. The section on subquests is nearly indecipherable.
The most inexcusable sin committed by this guide is it's horrible maps. The maps are not no help at all. The map of the sewers in Baldur's gate will not tell you what you will find in any given room or corridor.
I usually buy the guidebook for any rpg i play just to make life a little simpler, this book was no help at all. the game's non-linear setup would be challlenging for any writer but they coudl have at least labelled the maps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars lacks info for beginners, May 26 2002
By 
D (Corona, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I was very disapointed in the book. One of the main pieces of information I was looking for was how the ratings of weapons and armor work, ie is a 2D4 sword better or worse than a 1D10 sword or how about a 1D10+1 sword. The book does have a list of the weapons and armor but no ranking. Also the quests and subquests lack enough info. The maps are unreadable. Overall I was extremely disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I agree with John Ciko, March 14 2002
By 
Dale L. Housley (Silver City, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I use stategy guides to answer specific questions about games, items, and quests. This book is almost worthless. The maps and diagrams are too small to read and have no labels on any of the streets, buildings, or points of interest. At least one of the diagrams is of the wrong part of town. Many of the subquests are omitted and the ones that are included consist of one descriptive sentence. The book has no logical organization for finding anything. I have spent hours looking for some information on some aspect of the game without success or with very limited success. This is probably the most frustrating "Strategy Guide" that I own. I agree with John Ciko's review that much better information is available on the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Allows you to "cheat" as much, or as little, as you want!, Jan. 24 2002
By 
Russell P. Horton (Stoughton, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide! It has basically three different levels of "aid" that you can utilize as you play BG. You can get a general feel for the game and how it should go with the walk-through, you can learn about some of the less obvious missions that you might otherwise miss in the second section, and the third section reveals answers to riddles and how to kill various monsters. But there is still a ton of stuff the guide doesn't mention that you can discover on your own. I found this extremely helpful, and didn't think that it ruined the game at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars To spoil or not to spoil..., Aug. 2 2001
By 
Ivan Soares Correia (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Well, there is a lot to say, but I begin with this: buy this book, but know that you are buying a badly written book with a lot of flaws and bad aspects. In the end, it is always the question of spoiling the fun of discovery if you give too much detailed information, and that is precisely the problem with this book. In an atempt to not spoil the fun of discovery the authors gave half-way informations that in my opinion ends up spoiling the fun of discovery anyway. If you stop to think about it: what is the purpose of a strategy guide? Well, the original concept was to offer every single nook and cranny of every corner of the game in full color and detail. However you should organize the material in a way that it could be acessed without making the reader see unecessary information. This book does neither, once it omits a lot of the subplots but at the same time say that they are there. Example: they mention a plot with Montaron and Xzar but do not say when and how. Come on! If I didn't want to SPOIL my fun I wouldn't have bought the damn book in the first place! If I bought it is because I want to spoil it or I already played the game but now want to explore all areas previosly missed. So frankly, buy but be prepared for disapointment. I suggest the good old Internet, they have sites much more complete that this book. PS: Don't even get me started with the romance version of the walkthrough! What the hell is that? You want to write a romance version of the game plot, cool, that's a very good concept, but have the decency to write it in an atractive way, wich is definetly NOT the case of the adventure of the infamous Diana Nightflame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide
Baldur's Gate Official Strategy Guide by Nina Keith (Paperback - Dec 23 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews