Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What you need to know condensed
I'm about to embark on a 2+ year journey around the world and have read many books about travelling on both what to see and how. I thought I had read it all until I found this easy to read gem of a book.
This book clearly describes multiple methods of travel
and why you might decide to choose the method which he calls "threading." A method of...
Published on Oct. 9 2002 by Dustin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless
This book is aboslutely worthless, unless you're totally clueless and have never ventured over 20 miles from your place of birth.
Published on June 1 2004 by Oil Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What you need to know condensed, Oct. 9 2002
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
I'm about to embark on a 2+ year journey around the world and have read many books about travelling on both what to see and how. I thought I had read it all until I found this easy to read gem of a book.
This book clearly describes multiple methods of travel
and why you might decide to choose the method which he calls "threading." A method of travelling that many backpackers who have taken multi-week trips or longer might already be familiar with, but clearly outlined and compared with other methods.
The author also describes route planning, and living on the road. While I have not read these latter two sections yet, the quality of writing and advice in the 1st section is good enough for me to warrant giving this book 5 stars.
As an earlier reviewer stated, most will find many nuggets of information, save for the most seasoned of travelers. Even for those - it's nice to hear another voice. This book is how-to book, not what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It had to happen, June 4 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
Greetings--
I'm the author of The World Awaits. I haven't posted anything about my books on Amazon in the past but thought I would now in response to seeker993's review below--one sharply contrary to all other reviews of both editions of The World Awaits. I realize my book isn't for everyone. I have to admit, however, that such a terse and negative quip stings a bit. My apologies to the reviewer, who I assume purchased the book here and feels that it was money poorly spent.
I would be glad to hear from seeker393 regarding the details of the complaint. I can be reached via worldawaits.com. Others wishing to know more about The World Awaits are also encouraged to visit the site, which is structured like the book and includes many excerpts. I welcome all communication.
My thanks to the very many of you who have supported The World Awaits with encouraging feedback. The third edition is in the works.
I welcome email questions and opinions.
Cheers,
Paul Otteson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, June 1 2004
By 
Oil Man "Oil Man" (Kenai, Alaska United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
This book is aboslutely worthless, unless you're totally clueless and have never ventured over 20 miles from your place of birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good global tips, Feb. 16 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
This is a great book for how to travel in different situations. The advice applies at a global level - how to cope in situations which could be in any place in the world. It certainly made me consider getting up and about again. In that way it could be a dangerous book as it is very tempting to leave it all behind and set off around the world as the book infects the reader with the travel bug very effectively. If you need advice or travel tips specific to a country or city buy something else or you could visit a web site called TravelSlang which has all sorts of user added advice for thousands of cities world wide. A good buy nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Mix of Practical & Inspirational, Aug. 23 2003
By 
Renee Thorpe (Karangasem, Bali) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
This book manages to speak to both the travel veteran and the uninitiated. Readers from either group (and in between) will find value in this enjoyable handbook.
In a friendly tone, albeit occasionally repetitive, Otteson offers real, valuable, practical advice (how to bargain, what to pack, how to deal with bribery, etc). Some of this stuff you'll find tucked away in Lonely Planet guidebooks, but Otteson's editorial sense makes his advice easier to find, and it applies globally. Backpacker networks abound with "how to's" for various scenarios. It can be overwhelming. But Otteson has gleaned the gentlest, most useful, and most intelligent tips.
The newest concept Otteson brings to the table is HOW to make a journey. This was very useful to me. He gets the reader to really think about what is important... do you want destinations only (sleep on trains as you go?) or do you want to get a feel for the whole of a region, and travel only in daylight hours (what he calls threading). You may opt for a combination of the two styles, but he makes an excellent argument for the latter.
Within the pages are wonderful glimmers of enthusiasm for travel itself; reader will be bitten by the travel bug... So if you are not really sure you should get off your duff or if you are trying to convince a homebody to join you on a trip, this book will whet the appetite for the adventure of the open road.
Now, more than ever, does the world need to see the face of the American traveler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your gonna travel, you got to have it!!, July 21 2001
By 
Joe Veltri (The Beach, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
I'm planning a trip around the world and this book told me everything i needed to know. From visas to local bargaining advise its all here. Although Mr. Otteson stresses the importants of traveling light, i'll make room for his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent travel advice, March 14 2001
By 
Wyote (a planet rich in iron and water) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well (Paperback)
Paul Otteson writes this book for would-be IBATs: International Budget Adventure Travelers. He includes practical advice about planning travel routes, acquiring visas, managing money, packing, finding transportation and shelter, health concerns, mail, language barriers, bribery and black markets. Without descending into superficiality or sentimentality, he also discusses the motivations and lessons of traveling. I found this book incredibly helpful and sometimes inspiring, and I think everyone except the most experienced travelers would too. I very strongly recommend it to anyone planning their first extended overseas trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well
The World Awaits: How to Travel Far and Well by Paul Otteson (Paperback - Dec 27 2000)
CDN$ 22.00 CDN$ 15.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews