Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well-structured guide for the novice
I am very new to feng shui but I wanted to learn more about it and incorporating it into my existing life. I liked the concepts of "The Celestine Prophecy" very much, and was interested in finding out how to maximize "ch'i", which seemsvery similar to the "energy" in CP. 101 Feng Shui Tips was extremely helpful to me. Not only did it...
Published on Dec 28 1998

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Sexist and contradictory, do not buy!
This book provided some simple information about feng shui and maximizing feng shui in the home. However, I found many contradictory points within such a small book. For example, the book discusses trigrams and tells how to set up one for his home, using the front door as the aligning feature. From the instructions, the back of the house is the prime direction, and the...
Published on Dec 27 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Sexist and contradictory, do not buy!, Dec 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
This book provided some simple information about feng shui and maximizing feng shui in the home. However, I found many contradictory points within such a small book. For example, the book discusses trigrams and tells how to set up one for his home, using the front door as the aligning feature. From the instructions, the back of the house is the prime direction, and the front door faces the direction of "Death". It then goes on to say that that area of the house is the worst place for the front door. The section on individual trigrams for different members of the home is sexist with instructions for the father being Chien (energy, determination and persistence) in the study, den, or main bedroom. The mother is K'un (close relationships and obedience)in the kitchen and sewing room. The children are assigned similar trigrams according to their sex. There was useful information on how to remedy bad situations, but this information did not make up for the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well-structured guide for the novice, Dec 28 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
I am very new to feng shui but I wanted to learn more about it and incorporating it into my existing life. I liked the concepts of "The Celestine Prophecy" very much, and was interested in finding out how to maximize "ch'i", which seemsvery similar to the "energy" in CP. 101 Feng Shui Tips was extremely helpful to me. Not only did it explain the basic tenets of feng shui and the underlying philosphy about "ch'i" in a logical way, it provided practical guidance for analyzing your own space. Since I live in an apartment, the room by room discussions were very useful and applicable. I also like how the book didn't require you to have already a "perfect feng shui space". It gave a lot of pointers for maximizing good characteristics AND offsetting less than desirable characteristics. I wouldn't say I'm an expert now, by any means, but I feel like I have some general, practical ideas to use, now. I've heard he's coming out with a book directed specifically to apartment dwellers and I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for beginners!, July 18 2000
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
Well, it's a simple story: I was interested in the subject and picked up a few books that would introduce me to it. All the books I bought were supposedly written for beginners but this is the only one that I was actually able to read and apply from start to end (the others being too complicated or abstract). With 20/20 hindsight, I can honestly say this is the only book that you'll need to start making significant changes to your sorroundings and your life.
Extremely useful, it is sitting on my coffee table right now and I refer to it almost everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars webster is capitalizing off eastern beliefs, July 1 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
this book was a joke. the only thing webster clearly showed was that he knows how to make money off of other's ideas and beliefs. this book could have easily been condensed into a list of 101 lines, rather than a whole book- as all webster did was take the list and expand on it by writing the same things over and over. had i known before i bought this book that webster has written a myriad of books on feng shui, palmistry, etc. i never would have bought it. for him it is obviously quantity and not quality- not to mention webster does not site his sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars getting your foot in the door, Jan. 5 2001
By 
cheshrkat (St. Thomas, VI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
if you are looking for a simple introduction to feng shui, this is a great door opener. it presents the basic ideas of feng shui without too many details, which can be quite intricate. it provides enough information for a novice to implement the basic principles in their home. however, if you are serious about feng shui, or need detailed attention on problem areas, you will definitely want to follow up with more sophisticated reading once you determine where you need to focus your energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars getting your foot in the door, Jan. 5 2001
By 
cheshrkat (St. Thomas, VI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
if you are looking for a simple introduction to feng shui, this is a great door opener. it presents the basic ideas of feng shui without too many details, which can be quite intricate. it provides enough information for a novice to implement the basic principles in their home. however, if you are serious about feng shui, or need detailed attention on problem areas, you will definitely want to follow up with more sophisticated reading once you determine where you need to focus your energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gives Excellent Tips that worked for me, June 25 2001
By 
Anthony M. Razzano (South River, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
Although I didn't even know what Feng Shui was when my wife bought the book, I have gotten really into it because of the difference it has made in our lives. Thank you Richard Webster. The book is easy to read and understand and if you are not familiar with Feng Shui now, you will be when you finnish the book. Good solid advice. Excellent tips. A great starting point. Well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you do not know where to begin, you should begin here, May 1 2000
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
This is the best beginner's book for fengshui. It is clear, simple and well written. The best part is that it is easy to begin. Each of the tips in the book are independent examples. You can pick and choose as you go through the book. If you have never read any thing about fengshui before, you should start here. This book was featured by the FengShui BookClub(tm) on fengshuihelp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed book for beginners, July 15 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
I liked this book, but the Bagua (octagon) was turned so that it did not point in the North direction. I found this confusing since other books conflicted with this book's bagua. Other than that, it has lots of great detail about the trigrams and other elements that would help you decorate and arrange your home to fit you personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great for begineers., Feb. 9 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home (Paperback)
This is a great book for those just learning about the concept of feng shei and how it works, the author breaks it down room by room,uses placement of furniture, plants,mirrors,water fountains,etc..talks about shars and what to do about them,easy to read and follow. A great assest to any bookshelf ! Highly recommend this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home
101 Feng Shui Tips for Your Home by Richard Webster (Paperback - April 8 1998)
CDN$ 13.95 CDN$ 12.59
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews