Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen , fallen is Brown the Great.
What goes up must come down, the saying goes, and Jay Russell has imagined a world in which all our childhood heroes have done just that, not simply reaching Earth, but bypassing it and sinking more deeply into the mire than I would have thought possible.
Deconstructionism and continuation have been a part of literature, almost as long as there has been literature...
Published on July 16 2002 by Patrick Burnett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun
This book is a gigantic kick for anybody who grew up reading about the adventures of Francisco and Jose Robusto, or about the Old Keene Mansion on Drew Hill, or about... well, about a certain Boy Detective we all appear reluctant to mention by name.
Is this a copywrite thing?
Published on Dec 11 2001 by Charles W. Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen , fallen is Brown the Great., July 16 2002
By 
This review is from: Brown Harvest (Paperback)
What goes up must come down, the saying goes, and Jay Russell has imagined a world in which all our childhood heroes have done just that, not simply reaching Earth, but bypassing it and sinking more deeply into the mire than I would have thought possible.
Deconstructionism and continuation have been a part of literature, almost as long as there has been literature. New authors with new ideas use the ideas, words and characters of old authors in order to illuminate the present or make some other kind of statement. Witness "The New Testament", "The Wide Sargasso Sea", "The Wind Done Gone", "Paradise Lost" or any Sherlock Holmes pastiche to see what I mean. Sometimes these attempts are profound; mostly they are dull and add nothing. Then there's "Brown Harvest", which is both a tongue-in-cheek update to Hammet's "Red Harvest" and a continuation of the stories of nearly every child detective you ever read. Ch*rry Ames is here, as are D*nny Dunne, J*piter Jones and the H*ppy H*llisters. The H*rdy Boys are major characters. So are B*gs Meany and Curious Ge*rge. But the story truly belongs to the smartest kid in Id(e)aville, *ncycl*p*d** Br*wn.
Yes, I've hidden the identities of these characters, just as Russell did, to protect their memories. In Russell's mean streets, nothing good ever happens to a fictional character when he grows up. These once-pure literary entities are now alcoholics, drug-addicts, prostitutes, wastrels, murderers, crooks and sodomites. If you loved these characters, then learning how they turned out will break your heart.
Fortunately, this is only one possible ending for these kids and I'd like to think that other books, as yet unwritten, hold a brighter future for them. But that's another matter entirely.
The story looesly follows its hard-boiled inspiration, "Red Harvest", in that a lone man enters a town gone wild, run by three opposing gangs (in this case, violent software companies). Each gang hires the loner who, in turn, begins turning the gangs against one another in order to force them to wipe the others out. The goal is to gain revenge and be the last man standing.
Jay Russell is a sly and unflinching reporter, able to bring both humor and pathos to nearly every paragraph. I did find myself laughing out loud and relating the plot or dialog to my friends (most of whom never read the originals, sadly). But on nearly every page I also felt a piece of my childhood die when I saw what Russell had done to my beloved childhood friends. This is not a book for sentimentalists or the faint of heart.
But if you can stomach it, this is a hell of an entertaining book, one that will keep you reading, keep you guessing, keeping you rummaging through the attic to retrieve those relics of the past and read them again, to assure yourself they are still as they were.
And if you get a chance, read Jay Russell's "Marty Burns" series. This book led me in that direction and I'm now a huge fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but very, very entertaining, Nov. 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brown Harvest (Paperback)
This is a very unusual novel, but one that I found to be very funny and really entertaining. It's a kind of parody of about a zillion different things - especially kid detectives like the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew - but it's a lot richer than most parodies, with some really interesting things to say about growing up and getting wise to the things that really matter in life. The plot which I believe is a close parody of Dashiell Hammett's Red Harvest, is a little bit crazy, but in a good way and the dialogue is a blast. Lots of familiar characters from childhood turn up in almost every chapter and it's a lot of fun trying to identify them all. "Los Bros Robusto" - a disguised, crazed version of the Hardy Boys - were my favorites, along with a certain curious (and kinky) monkey and a man in a yellow hat. This is definitely not a run of the mill book and one which deserves some attention. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining genre-bending, Nov. 29 2001
By 
william schafer (la jolla, ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brown Harvest (Paperback)
This is an unusual page-turner in which a ridiculous number of characters from kid's fiction enact a hard-boiled detective novel (the plot similarities to Hammett's Red Harvest are particularly marked). Since all the reviewers so far seem reluctant to mention the other obvious primary source for the story, I will only say this: Roach Blackwell=Bugs Meaney. If you know who Bugs is, and you appreciate dark humor, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining genre-bending, Nov. 29 2001
By 
william schafer (la jolla, ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brown Harvest (Paperback)
This is an unusual page-turner in which a ridiculous number of characters from kid's fiction enact a hard-boiled detective novel (the plot similarities to Hammett's Red Harvest are particularly marked). (...) to mention the other obvious primary source for the story, I will only say this: Roach Blackwell=Bugs Meaney. If you know who Bugs is, and you appreciate dark humor, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun, Dec 11 2001
By 
Charles W. Anderson (Atlanta Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brown Harvest (Paperback)
This book is a gigantic kick for anybody who grew up reading about the adventures of Francisco and Jose Robusto, or about the Old Keene Mansion on Drew Hill, or about... well, about a certain Boy Detective we all appear reluctant to mention by name.
Is this a copywrite thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brown Harvest
Brown Harvest by Jay Russell (Paperback - Oct. 15 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews