Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for Hobby Roboticists
If you're thinking about building robots for fun and pleasure (the autonomous kind, not the battling kind) then this is the first book you should buy. It covers all of the basics and gives completely worked examples.
Once you've mastered this book you will be well on your way to building robots that will amaze your friends, enchant kids of all ages, and reward you...
Published on April 25 2003 by C. McManis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dubious informaiton -- try 1st. edition
When researching books on robotics, I found a hearty recommendation for this book but also noted some controversy about the accuracy and authorship of the second edition. It was even the subject of a court trial. The first edition lists one fewer author and is recommended!
Published on Dec 12 2003 by Joseph Zapert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly vague!!!, July 2 2004
By 
M.B. (Mountain View, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This book is definitely a classic (in all senses of the word). What hobbyist still uses the Motorolla chips? There is little or no pseudocode (especially when an example would help). Even more troubling is that level of discussion is sometimes exceedingly simple (a transistor is. . . ) and sometimes way over the top (some of the subsumption and behavior based algorithms could have used a lot more discussion room).
I found this book far too general to be useful. However, I will admit that it offers enough background to get you familiar with the words. This book needs a little more modernization (newer parts/processors/languages) to make it useful today.
Worth reading (you can skip entire chapters of basic stuff at a time), especially if you know somebody who will loan you their copy. My recommendation though: buy it used and save the money, as it is not worth full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The first edition is much better, Feb. 10 2004
By A Customer
The *first* edition is an excellent text ; a bible, right up there with Horowitz & Hill's "Art of Electronics". This edition is an apparently unauthorized, butchered, ripoff of the first. The added material due to the new author (Sieger)is certainly not of the same quality. Buy the first edition (new or used), and know you're getting an indispensible book to the credit of the real, *original* authors, Joe Jones, and Anita Flynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Please ..., Jan. 29 2004
By 
Leandro Musso (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
... don't buy this book. Read below, the true author is being injured and stolen with this false second edition. I don't have any relation with the author (Dr. Anita Flynn), in fact I'm an Argentinian reader who is very far from the EEUU. Read the site [...] to learn more about the story behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Author's Comments, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Anita Flynn (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I am Dr. Anita Flynn, an author of Mobile Robots. There has been a long-running dispute between the publisher and me that anyone considering the book should know about. See the web site at [...] for more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dubious informaiton -- try 1st. edition, Dec 12 2003
By 
Joseph Zapert (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When researching books on robotics, I found a hearty recommendation for this book but also noted some controversy about the accuracy and authorship of the second edition. It was even the subject of a court trial. The first edition lists one fewer author and is recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The basics of robot hardware and software, Sept. 21 2003
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
During the fall semester of 2003, I have the pleasure of directing an independent study research project in robotics. One of the robots purchased in order to carry out the research was the Rug Warrior sold by A.K. Peters. While I understood the principles of AI and programming very well, I was weak in the areas of the mechanics of the parts of the robots. Fortunately, both students were solid in that area and I had this book to fill in my gaps.
It is a general introduction to all of the basics of robotics, (with an emphasis on the Rug Warrior), from the fundamentals of hardware and how it works, to the foundations of programming. I found it invaluable in learning how the pieces of the Rug Warrior work, how they are put together and how they interact. There are also several example programs that can be entered to demonstrate the actions of all of the programmable parts.
With this book to get us started, we are having a great deal of fun in programming the Rug Warrior and the other faculty members are starting to wonder what purpose soccer cones could possibly be serving in the halls of the fifth floor of Warde Hall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for Hobby Roboticists, April 25 2003
By 
C. McManis "Chuck McManis" (Sunnyvale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're thinking about building robots for fun and pleasure (the autonomous kind, not the battling kind) then this is the first book you should buy. It covers all of the basics and gives completely worked examples.
Once you've mastered this book you will be well on your way to building robots that will amaze your friends, enchant kids of all ages, and reward you with hours of entertainment. There is no greater ice breaker at a party today than, "The first robot I built had some really interesting attributes..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner's Book, Nov. 9 2001
By A Customer
This was my first robotics book and it gives a very clear, thorough, and easy to understand overview of mobile robotics. It provides a great starting point for future experimentation in mobile robotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner's Book, Nov. 9 2001
This was my first robotics book and it gives a very clear, thorough, and easy to understand overview of mobile robotics. It provides a great starting point for future experimentation in mobile robotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Robotics Aspects in just one book, Sept. 4 2001
By 
Marco Chacin (Tsukuba, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably one of the best books about Robotics that I ever read...This book's a must have on your bookshelf...Trust me you won't regret buying this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mobile Robots: Inspiration to Implementation, Second Edition
Mobile Robots: Inspiration to Implementation, Second Edition by Anita M. Flynn (Hardcover - July 15 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews