countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2012
This is a great reference for anybody studying typography! There are many photos and examples to view as well as helpful information to study from. I am in a graphic design program and think this is a book you should definitely buy instead of renting if your in an academic program.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
I found this book to be a general overview of design and typography. Unfortunately the designer(s) who designed the book stayed true to their stated form. What that meant is that I found the book's pages to be a jumbled mess of crowded data, something they claim is good thing in design trends. I disagree. I like minimalism. I like clarity. The book is to be commended for teaching me a few things, but condemned for having my eyes work overtime to know where to look and what to read. If you're looking for a straightforward "linear" approach to learning typography, then look elsewhere. If you're looking to read a book that has all of the noise, clutter, and distraction of a webpage (non-linear "choices"), then you'll love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
I really love that book, it's really interesting. As a student in graphic design I find it important to know more about typography. This book is a good add to my classes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
A simply incredible resource for any designer. Lupton does an excellent job of breaking down typography for everyone to understand, appreciate, and use to its potential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
If you're looking for ideas on font or type-set graphics, etc., this is the book! I use it all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2014
Essential to those who need to learn about typography and understand it's roots and it's logic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
This is a good book that shows a lot of vivid examples to the audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2010
Product was shipped faster than I expected! I was very impressed!! I need this for a university course and was very pleased to recieve the book the day after I ordered it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
The Envelope Manufacturer, Chris Oliveros

I can’t remember the last time I bought envelopes. The only envelopes most of us encounter now contain bills and financial statements. Email and texting have made envelopes almost obsolete. It is no surprize therefore that the company in Chris Oliveros’, eponymously titled graphic novel, The Envelope Manufacturer, is facing hard times.

The Envelope Manufacturer opens with a pages-long establishing sequence of word balloons floating over a city that resembles Montreal (Oliveros’ home town) with the sound of a machine operating somewhere out of sight. The word balloons eventually lead to a single machine at the envelope company that is causing the noise, which changes from “Ta –tlak, Ta –tlak” to “Phssss” as the machine breaks down, precipitating the string of events that fill the rest of the book.

One of the firm’s employees, Hershel, an overweight middle-aged man with a “pencil thin moustache,” stands arms akimbo and proclaims the hopelessness of trying to repair the machine for a fourth time. He proposes buying a replacement part on credit. “What other choice do we have?” he asks. Once the firm’s owner, Jack Cluthers arrives and learns of the equipment breakdown, he wrestles with some of the remaining machinery and suggests they can keep the company going by being more efficient. Meanwhile, Patsy, the other employee is on the phone to the bank trying to negotiate deferred loan payments. One wonders if similar scenarios occasionally plagued Drawn & Quarterly, the graphic novel publishing company that Oliveros founded in Montreal in 1989.

What seems at first reading to be a fairly simple story of a business in decline becomes more complex with the unfolding of certain sequences that challenge our sense of time, our sense of coherent narrative and our identification of individual characters. For example, Oliveros has scenes where characters don’t hear what other characters have said, forcing them to repeat themselves, disrupting and recycling the flow of time. Word balloons also drift around, so a character that is outside the panels sometimes talks to another who is situated within the panels. This strategy mixes up who is speaking and who is being spoken to, increasing the tension between company employees. In another long sequence on a bus, word balloons from a conversation between two people who are not shown drift through the panels. During the same sequence, one character mistakes the identify of another character and confronts him off-panel so that we can’t see for ourselves what is happening. Finally, several sequences appear to take place either after death or in the imagination of the Jack Cluthers character.

All these devices serve to reinforce the fruitlessness of the actions Cluthers and his employees propose to save the company—repairing the broken down machine, postponing payments on their bank debt, drumming up new orders—suggestions they reiterate throughout the book in a fruitless Waiting for Godot optimism.

In another conflation of characters, a window jumper, Mr. Dershowitz owner of a rubber stamp business in the same building, threatens to throw himself off a tenth-floor window ledge. Presumably, his rubber stamp business—like the envelope company that has succumbed to the dwindling world of paper—is also teetering on bankruptcy. Anonymous bystanders chant “Jump.” “Jump.” as if in taunting encouragement or to try to bring an action to completion. One bystander quips: “He won’t jump. They never do.” Indeed, Dershowitz is eventually rescued by the fire department after he falls to a lower fire escape balcony.

But later in the book Cluthers appears to carry out his own window-jumper suicide. As he flies through the air, he carries on a long dialogue with his secretary, Patsy, about the insurance policy that will return the company to solvency. Apparently however, the policy was never mailed. His long fall ends with the word “Thud” alone in a black panel. Shortly after this episode, Cluthers, seemingly still alive, runs back home to search for his wife. The sequence is extended for pages with word balloons that say only “Huff” “Huff” as he struggles to make it home. This sequence conveys the feeling of running in a dream in which supreme effort results in negligible progress.

Oliveros’ drawing style is sketchy, perhaps done with fine felt markers rather than the traditional cartoonist’s brush or pen. There is no shading, only black hatching to suggest shadows. The style evokes black and white newspaper comics from the 1940s. The machines are like Rube Goldberg devices with no recognisable function while the drawing style suggests the influence of George Herriman and Krazy Kat. This sketchiness at times causes confusion about characters’ identities and the actions associated with them. The initial telltale differences between Cluthers and Hershel is sometimes not maintained so it is easy to mistake one for the other. If this is not intentional, then it is Oliveros’ relatively recent foray into cartooning that is to blame.

Meanwhile, at the envelope company, amidst the slim hopes of keeping the company afloat, men arrive and begin hauling off machines, presumably to settle the debt owed to the bank, even while Cluthers and Hershel try to repair one machine to keep the company going. Sure enough, the machine kicks in again, starts rumbling “Ta-tlak, ta-tlak” as Hershel assures Cluthers that “Things are going to get better.” A final establishing sequence shows buildings, clouds and the staircase to Cluthers’ apartment, but this time, bereft of people, leaving us in doubt about the certainty of Hershel’s optimistic outlook. Perhaps, as similar sequences throughout the book demonstrate, life will go on, other things will happen, new plans will be implemented, including perhaps, a whole new kind of envelope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse