Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter The World Of Feudal Japan...
Rumiko Takahashi is the writer of InuYasha, which is known by fans has being a Feudal Fairy Tale. InuYasha is a story about a average schoolgirl who is taken back in time through a well on her family's property. She soon discovers many facts abut herself and her destiny that makes one realize that she in no average schoolgirl. She, with the help of Inuyasha, a half human,...
Published on Jan. 8 2004 by Midnight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No, not the best Takahashi comic
Inu Yasha doesn't even come close to the best Takahashi comic. In fact, ever since Maison Ikkoku, all succeeding works have followed the path of becoming less plot-orientated and more action packed. The characters are losing more and more soul. Ranma 1/2 still had some memorable people, but Inu Yasha just has stereotypes. The panels are getting bigger and bigger, and...
Published on Feb. 23 2000 by Christopher Deutsch


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Enter The World Of Feudal Japan..., Jan. 8 2004
By 
Midnight (Miller Place, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Rumiko Takahashi is the writer of InuYasha, which is known by fans has being a Feudal Fairy Tale. InuYasha is a story about a average schoolgirl who is taken back in time through a well on her family's property. She soon discovers many facts abut herself and her destiny that makes one realize that she in no average schoolgirl. She, with the help of Inuyasha, a half human, half demon hybrid, must gather the shards of a Sacred Jewel that gan give demons enormous amounts of power. Now, one might think that this is just a simple story, that can't be very interesting, but one would be very wrong. InuYasha is a 'historical action and romance from one of Japan's most beloved creators' with a touch of gothic horror. What more could one want? With a cast full of interesting characters, and even more interesting villains, anyone reading InuYasha will instantly fall in love with at least one of the characters, and instantly hate a few has well. I myself have read all the books in this series to date (Jan. 7, 2004) that are available. But, if you want to find anymore out about Kagome and Inuyasha's adventures, well... you'll just have to read the book yourself.
Allison R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance!, July 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Many people have complained that Inu-Yasha's story has been overused, lacks good characters, etc. First of all, this is the FIRST manga. We BARELY even KNOW the characters now. Way more info is headed our way, and the plot is going to become much more complex. I kid you not. Like I said, this is the FIRST volume. The plot is only just getting started.
Inu-Yasha may seem cliched but it's not. One viewer complained Kagome lacked personality. Once again, this is the FIRST volume. We get to know Kagome's character much better. Yes, OF COURSE Inu-yasha and her are going to fall in love. But it's definetly not going to be like Fushigi Yuugi where they fall in love at the second volume and make out in every novel. Absolutely not! This is a SHONEN series. Meaning it's mainly targeted for MALES (no, this doesn't mean females won't enjoy it. I'm a female, and I enjoyed it A LOT). Meaning it has more action than romance.
About the whole collecting the shards so no evil villain will try to get them--I know it sounds like a HUGE cliche, but there's much more significant things about the jewel shards and everything and a reminder for the last time, this is the FIRST volume! Don't expect so much coming out of one volume. Read up to volume 12, and THEN decide whether you still hate Inu-Yasha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars captivating!, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Wow! I have probably read this book a million times! It is way up there (perhaps at the very top itself) with my favorite mangas. Plus, it's by Rumiko Takahashi who is definitely a respected and well known manga author. It's filled (the whole series, not just this one) with interesting plot twists, gory battles, creepy demons, and a touch or two of romance and comedy.
And most of all, the characters are very easy to get to know and relate to. After you have finished the book (and make sure you have the second and third one two, and maybe the fourth lying around 'cause you'll wanna read them right away) the characters will still be in your mind.
Here's the beginning of the plot (it wont give away anything important): Kagome, a newly turned fifteen year old school girl lives in a home filled to the brim with legends. Beside her home, there is also an old well that comes with a legend: the legend of the bone eater demon who lived in the well, a horrible creature with six arms. When Kagome's grandfather, the biggest teller-of-legends you'll ever see gives her the Shikon jewel, the jewel of four souls, things change for Kagome. By legend, the Shikon jewel has incredible powers, power to make demon's strength horrific, which is why when Kagome's cat, Buyo gets into the well house, and Kagome has to follow him, she gets ripped away, literally, by the bone-eater itself, looking for the Shikon jewel. And after Kagome fights off the demon and climbs out of the well, she is no longer home. She has gone back in time to the fifeenth century where she finds Inu Yasha, a half-demon punished for his want of the Shikon jewel's powers. But when an accident rips the jewel away from them, shattering and scattering it across the land, they must go on a quest to find it, battleing horrible demons and meeting new characters to join their search. This is truly a magnificent book, absolutely (and I say this for every book in the series) worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not up to Takahashi's usual standards, April 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Don't misunderstand--Inu Yasha is a very good series. But it just didn't grab me the way that Ranma 1/2, Urusei Yatsura, and Maison Ikkoku did.
For one thing, I noticed a lot of similarities between the characters of Inu Yasha and some of the author's earlier series.
Inu Yasha is a lot like boy-type Ranma--arrogant, loud, easily irritated, and has problems with females. Kagome is in turn much like Akane--easily offended, not willing to listen to reason occasionally, and stuck with a boy she can hardly stand. Miroku is a younger version of Happosai, and Sango shares traits with Ukyo from Ranma 1/2, including a preference for outrageously big utensils/weapons.
This does not mean that these are carbon copies of the older characters; each one of the characters in Inu Yasha has a charm and style all their own. And the plot is interesting.
The bottom line is, go ahead and get this book if you want. Just because I don't absolutely adore doesn't mean it's not worth a look.
By the way, I had the same problem with this book that I had with the first two books of Ranma 1/2. The pictures are too dark, like it was run through a copier without Edge Erase before it was bound together in the book. Be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inu Yasha, manga goodness., March 7 2003
By 
The_Insane_Baka (Huntsville, AL, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
...To start out, I have read Inu Yasha mangas, volumes 1-3. It is my favorite manga at the moment. It is the story of a girl named Kagome, a 15 year old high school girl. Her family lives in a house with an ancient minishrine in the yard. Her grandpa even has a gift store that sells all kinds of little trinkets that he claims to have some ancient story behind it... I don't believe him. But one day, she goes inside the shrine to find her cat. omething pops up from it and drags her in, thus beginning he adventures. She will end up in ancient Japan, where the states are still fighting for land, and there are even demons! All of these demons seek the Shikon Jewel, or Jewel of Four Souls, which will make them more powerful.
Inu Yasha, a half demon dog, is one of these who seeks the Shikon Jewel. This is a reat little manga book, a must for just about everyone.
But parents out there take not, there are some things you might not let a more influentuable kid see. There is blood, gore, violence, and nudity. It's all pretty mild, the Inu Yasha anime is rated 13 and up. The reading level up there says 9-12, but I doubt alot of 9-12 year olds would get the story, there are some complicated words in here. So I'd read it first and decide if it's right for your child.
And there you have it, my first review, and of a great manga. Buy this one now, and if youlike it, check out the Inu Yasha anime. Rumiko Takahashi has come up with something great here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by it's cover, Feb. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
...i'm serious about that, don't judge Inu-Yasha by it's cover. For one thing, it *is* a great series, the plot's great, and the artwork is wonderful. But, for those parents out there, please for the love of god don't trust www.amazon.com whole-heartedly. I, a 15 year old male, have this book myself, and know for a fact that there is alot of gore, violence, and some brief nudity. I mean, there WAS a reason why Inu-Yasha (the tv show) aired with a warning before it on Adult Swim saying it was only meant for responsible viewers who are 18 and up. I, for one, may not be 18 and up, but i'm a responsible viewer and i think i'm mature enough to handle gore and intense language.
.....
i don't think the parents of a 9 year old would like that
.....
Anyways, the as far as gore goes, i'm sure kids these days have seen a bunch of violence and stuff on tv and soft porn either on their computer or on mtv or something. In my opinion, the age range for this series would more likely be something like 12-18 rather than 9-12....i mean REALLY...jeez, come on people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the Beginning..., Feb. 6 2003
By 
Tiffany (Littleton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Kagome is a 15 year old girl who lives in modern day Tokyo. On her 15th birthday, she is pulled through the Bone-eater's well by a demon and travels back in time to Japan's Sengoku Jidai (or age of warring states) about 500 or so years ago. It is here that she meets Inu-Yasha, a half-demon who tried to steal a powerful jewel, the Shikon no Tama, in order to become a full demon. However, the priestess who guarded the jewel, Kikyou, used an arrow to trap Inu-Yasha magically for before dying herself from fatal injuries. She had the jewel cremated with her, and now Kagome, who is the re-incarnation of Kikyou, has brought the jewel back to the Sengoku Jidai 50 years later, and releases Inu-Yasha from the entrapment spell. Not long after this the jewel is shattered, and Inu-Yasha is forced to pair up with Kagome (against his will at first) in order to collect the shards.
The first Inu-Yasha comic ran in Shonen Sunday Isuue 50, December 1996, nine months after Takahashi's most successful series "Ranma 1/2" ended. Although it has a darker tone to it than Ranma, Inu-Yasha's tactiful blend of comedy, romance and violence has helped it to become another very successful series by Rumiko Takahashi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and brilliant, Dec 31 2002
By 
Gwen Gambling (AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
I started reading Inu-Yasha after I saw the first few episodes of the anime on Adult Swim a few months ago. This is the first manga and the first Rumiko Takahashi that I've ever read and I've found it to be absolutely brilliant. I can't get enough. I spent most of the last few months tracking down and buying the 12 available graphic novels, quickly diminishing the size of my bank account. (I hope that the others are published quickly!)
This first book is what started it all. There are many other great plot summaries posted here, so I'll just say that I find the characterization, art and plot to be absolutely irresistable. The story continues to get more complex and the characters more interesting; the combination of horror, adventure, comedy and romance is unlikely, but I find that it all fits together perfectly. The dynamic between Inu-Yasha and Kagome is established immediately in this book and continues to get more complex and interesting in future editions. I love reading this continuing story, and I sincerely hope for a happy ending (but not any time soon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Japanese anime/manga ever!, Sept. 11 2002
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
Ok. First, let me got this straight. This is the absolute BEST Japanese comic I've ever read! And let me tell you, I don't often hand out praise like that lightly. I mean it. I was first introduced to this story last year, while sitting on the bus with my friend, when she pulled out a manga (from lack of anything better to do) and started reading. Well, I read over her shoulder, and got so totally engrossed in the story that I didn't even notice when the bus finally stopped! The characters in this book are portrayed so realistically that I was continually laughing, crying, and sympathizing with them as I read. Volume 1, volume 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and god knows how many other volumes sped by my eyes so quickly that I'm amazed I didn't go blind at the speed that I was reading. I even went on the Internet to hunt for the translations from the Japanese version of Inu-Yasha so that I could hurry up and find out what happened next. I'm totally obsessed and in love with this story! Inuyasha is a wonderfully complex yet simple character that makes people totally relate to him, while everything Kagome does brings a warm-hearted, cheerful smile to your face. I am definitely supportive of the two's up and down relationship and I seriously love the action, romance, humour, and adventure that's all crammed into this one book. I recommend it to anybody, everybody, and especially those people who like a little bit of everything. Please take some time to read this comic! It certainly won't be a waste of time, and worth your while. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sing sing sing!!!, July 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale (Comic)
While the plot is not exactly fresh (think Fushigi Yugi, Rayearth, etc.) this is still my absolute favorite series of all time, anime or regular books. If you're wondering about the title of my review, it's because this series has, on occasion, caused me to burst out singing!! No, i'm not a patient in a mental hospital, I just love these books! They're funny without being ridiculous, as Ranma 1/2 is(don't get me wrong, Ranma is great. IY is better.), and they have and element of Maison Ikkoku in them, but Inu Yasha shines above the rest. I really care about the characters. This series isn't just entertainment, there are some real, more serios themes under all the jokes.
My only real complaint is that, (again, like Fushigi Yugi and Rayearth) the main character, Kagome, runs around in a her school uniform (with an incredibly short skirt) to fight demons!! I mean, come on!! Get real!!! She should at least wear jeans or something.....
Anyhoo... I could talk all day about Inu Yasha and probably bore the heck outta you, and put you off the books forever.... so I'll shut up now!
Wait! One word of advice!!! See if you can borrow them from the library instead of purchasing them, becuase just like all other anime books, these are EXPENSIVE! So, unless you as obsessed as me, go to your library!!Libraries rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale
Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale by Rumiko Takahashi (Comic - July 6 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews