Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A page-turner
The story of the murderer Billy Porter, as told by various people whose lives he affected.
This entertaining crime novel is Arnott's follow-up to "The Long Firm" - although it's not strictly a sequel, it's similar in format, and several of the characters from the earlier novel reappear. I thought that it was a good read, though I imagine that it will not surprise or...
Published on April 30 2002 by MR G. Rodgers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Muddled and, ultimately, disappointing
I loved The Long Firm; it was wonderful. So, naturally, I bought author Arnott's second book, He Kills Coppers. After the opening sequence, I started to wonder if I was having an extended senior moment (age often has nothing to do, I've discovered, with those senior moments. A tedious book can induce them; so can bad rap music.) I couldn't figure out which character was...
Published on Feb. 25 2003 by Charlotte Vale-Allen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Muddled and, ultimately, disappointing, Feb. 25 2003
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
I loved The Long Firm; it was wonderful. So, naturally, I bought author Arnott's second book, He Kills Coppers. After the opening sequence, I started to wonder if I was having an extended senior moment (age often has nothing to do, I've discovered, with those senior moments. A tedious book can induce them; so can bad rap music.) I couldn't figure out which character was which, what was happening, or why.
This is a book that could have used some serious definition, instead of simply placing asterisks between sections. Those asterisks, one learns after much confusion, indicate a shift to another character. And some of the characters are written in third person, some in the first. As well, the copy-editing leaves much to be desired. (Who's instead of whose was one of my favorite goofs.) References to both Beatniks and hippies in supposedly the same era distorts the time frame--Beatniks were of the 50s, hippies of the latter 60s and early 70s. So it's not only hard to jump from one character to the next, it's also tough figuring out the era.
At moments, the book leaps to life and for twenty or thirty pages it becomes gripping. Then the grip eases and we're back in the muddle--reading of characters about whom it's hard to care; killers, cops, thugs of every stripe. And, finally, an ending that leaves one thinking, "So what?"
A very disappointing effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A page-turner, April 30 2002
By 
MR G. Rodgers (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
The story of the murderer Billy Porter, as told by various people whose lives he affected.
This entertaining crime novel is Arnott's follow-up to "The Long Firm" - although it's not strictly a sequel, it's similar in format, and several of the characters from the earlier novel reappear. I thought that it was a good read, though I imagine that it will not surprise or overly impress real crime fiction fans (I am a strict amateur!).
The action takes place mostly in 1966, the strongest part of the book in my opinion, then shifts to 1971 and then again to 1985. Arnott paints a picture of an English underworld in which both criminals and corrupt police operate to their mutual advantage. Yet, this is not a self-contained substratum of society - the dividing lines between the criminal world and "respectable" society are very grey.
Arnott's England is one which is increasingly at odds with itself: the tension of the "swinging" yet still repressed 1960s; prone to mindless violence (soccer riots of the 1970s); and riven by the bitter strife of the mid-1980s. The establishment has lost its way, become corrupt and lost the confidence and respect of the masses it purports to lead.
I enjoyed this novel (as I did "The Long Firm"). Whether or not Arnott can go on to develop new themes in future novels remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, Feb. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
I've been on a London binge: LONDON FIELDS (M. Amis), CAPITAL (M. Duffy), and now HE KILLS COPPERS. So good I read it one sitting. And like passive people everywhere I am into detail, which Arnott provides so artfully. Especially good is an English soccer riot. What do you call these guys? Hooligans? Rude boys? Anyway, this mass-spectacle is right up there with DeLillo's awesome crowd episodes: the Moonie wedding at Yankee Stadium in MAO II, the epic Giants game in UNDERWORLD. So satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, violent and vintage Arnott, Feb. 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
If you loved The Long Firm, you'll really love He Kills Coppers. Arnott is a master at crafting round characters and each of the 3 narrators here jump from the page. Its nice to know that British noir is alive and well in Jake Arnott's hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, Jan. 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
The writing is so excellent & London is done with the acuity of Dickens. Arnott's depiction of Great Britain teetering toward dissolution is truly amazing, like a Red Giant about to blow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A really great half a novel, Feb. 7 2002
By 
T. Summers (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
This thing really crackles along for a while and I was expecting great things, but then the dialogue goes flat, the characters thin out and, blah.
It's still preeeetty good, but just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He Kills Coppers
He Kills Coppers (Hardcover)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews