Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for the vegan athlete
This book is great for anyone considering veganism but especially if you are (or want to become) a vegan athlete. (I do triathlons)
There is a chapter that goes over special considerations for vegan athletes and also gives a great overview of sports nutrition in general.
I was a little nervous giving up all animal products thinking there would be some...
Published on Feb. 16 2004 by Roman A Milner

versus
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Newbie Vegan
I knew giving up animal products was the right thing to do, but after reading "Becoming Vegan," I got the impression that it would have to be a long, gradual process, as (according to page v of the book) one of the co-authors is not yet vegan herself.

If you're looking for the motivation to become vegan, I urge you to listen to Bruce Friedrich's...
Published on Nov. 15 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegan or not, a must!, Dec 11 2002
By 
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
I'm a 22 years old vegetarian boy who's trying to get into veganism, but it's quite hard due to my country of residence (Spain.)
In this book it's not only clear why anyone should become vegan but also is very informative and clear for people learning about nutrition.
A++ for the Author and all the contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you'll need, Dec 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
Everything is listed in this book. This is the only book on Veganism that you'll need. It covers all nutritional aspects, all the vitamins you will need, how to eat properly and even some recipies.
If you are new to the diet, than this will help you be succesfull in the change and most importantly, wont leave you deficient of nutrients.
There is information for people of all ages who want to or have to become Vegan.
This book will be your Vegan bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Vegans!, Nov. 9 2002
By 
Paul (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
It is almost unfortunate that this book has the title it does, because it clearly presents such a wealth of information on nutrition that anyone - including meat eaters - who are interested in a healthy diet will find lots of information here to help them. There is no missionary style here to convert anyone to a meatless diet - just very well presented facts from people who know what they're talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, Aug. 18 2001
By 
Charlotte (Starbucks :)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
This is the sort of book that you hear about, decide maybe you'd be interested in, check it out from the library, read it again and again, then BUY it still! It is a perfect education in the history of veganism, the health benefits of avoiding ALL animal products in our diet, and resources to help us with the transition. There are chapters on pregnancy, childhood, the senior years, athletes, travelling...all you need to know through all aspects of your life. Numerous studies are cited throughout to back up all information. A perfect book to share with someone you care about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book belongs in every vegan household, Feb. 27 2010
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
This is a well researched, evidence based book that goes step by step through the nutrients and issues of nutrition in general and vegan nutrition in detail. It also addresses, growth and development, overweight, eating disorders, underweight, the athlete and dealing with others diplomatically. It is not a cookbook but is a great education that will allow the vegan or non-vegan to evaluate food and nutrition information.

This is a book that will never be downsized from my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to become a well-worn resource book!, June 23 2001
By 
Melanie "mongoliamel" (Cass Lake, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
Anyone familiar with Becoming Vegetarian, written by the same authors, knows what a valuable resource it is for vegetarians or those hoping to make the switch to a vegetarian lifestyle. Now there is a similar book with all the latest nutritional information just for vegans. It covers everything you could possibly want to know about a healthy vegan diet, including detailed sections on fats, vitamins, and minerals; feeding children; eating while pregnant; overweight; eating disorders; and eating for athletes. Also included are chapters on the roots of veganism, plant proteins, carbohydrates, phytochemicals, vegan diplomacy, and more. This book was written by two of the foremost authorities on vegetarian and vegan nutrition, Brenda Davis, R.D. and Vesanto Melina, M.S., R.D. Brenda Davis is chair of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group of the American Dietetic Association and a noted author, speaker, and educator. Vesanto Melina is the author of three vegetarian cookbooks and the coordinator of the vegetarian section of the Manual of Clinical Dietetics, 6th Ed. She is a respected speaker and consultant and has taught nutrition at the University of British Columbia and Bastyr University.... This book is sure to become a well-worn resource. --Reviewed by Melanie Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Must Read" for V-People and Anyone Considering a New Diet, Oct. 13 2000
By 
Peter Roosen (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
I just read Brenda Davis' and Vesanto Melina's new book "Becoming Vegan" and am thoroughly impressed with the material and its presentation.
The authors did a much more rigorous job of researching and presenting the current scientific data, presenting both the pro and contrary findings than in earlier works. I found the directness refreshing in comparison to some of the less scientific and more evangelistic writings that have been published.
Highlights are:
-A unique and thought-provoking look at the relationship between diet and chronic disease and the protective effects of vegan diets against the leading killers.
-One of the most convincing and well researched explanations on why plant proteins are both adequate and preferable to animal protein as the major protein source for humans.
-The most comprehensive examination of dietary fat and essential fatty acids for vegans written to date.
-A thorough and practical discussion on all of the vitamins and minerals of concern to vegans, including calcium, iron and vitamin B12.
-Invaluable guidelines for people at various stages of the lifecycle: pregnancy, lactation, infancy, childhood, adolescence and the senior years.
-A detailed and thoughtful discussion on matters of weight and shape including underweight, overweight and eating disorders.
-Straight-shooting advice about vegan diets and athletic performance.
-An exceptional vegan food guide, helping you design a well-balanced vegan diet.
-A lively discussion about diplomacy and how to handle sticky situations gracefully in this nonvegan world.
I suggest this to you as a must read and something for anyone either considering or already on a vegetarian or vegan diet.
Peter Roosen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming Vegan...Most Definitely!!, Nov. 25 2001
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
Great resource book/guide!! Highly recommended by John Robbins, author of The Food Revolution (another 5 *****)
You can get all your nutrients from a whole food plant base diet. I only wish I knew about becoming Vegan years ago!
Great for health, weight, well being & respect for all living things.
It's a book I intend to re read more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Up-to-date Nutrition Info, July 24 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
I've recently become vegan for health reasons, and this book is my bible. It contains all the up-to-date nutrition information you need to make smart food choices on a plant-based diet. The authors manage to do something that few health writers can: they write for the lay reader without dumbing things down. So, as well as summarizing the data on vegan nutrition, they analyze the strong and weak points of the various studies--which are often based on very small numbers of vegan participants. If you are looking for a cookbook or a book that details the evils of the animal food industry and other philosophical and ethical reasons to become vegan, this is not it. But if you are looking for nutritional facts and advice on putting together a healthful diet at any stage of like, you won't be disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High-level nutrition information for everyone, Aug. 11 2002
By 
Gentleheart (Sierra Nevada Mtns, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet (Paperback)
Excellent nutrition information for everyone, whether vegan, vegetarian or omnivore. My sister recommended this book because she is attempting to design a healthful diet for herself that is also respectful of all living things. I bought and read the book (and continue to use it as a reference work) because I want to know as much as I can about nutrition. Even though I am not in the process of "becoming vegan," I am not at all disappointed in my purchase. The authors rely upon scientific studies in drawing their conclusions and making recommendations. Their chapter, "Big Fat Lies," provides one of the most enlightening summaries of essential information about fat in the diet currently available to the general public. Truthfully, all eaters should read Becoming Vegan and analyze and modify their diets accordingly. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet
Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting A Healthy Plant-Based Diet by Vesanto Melina MS RD (Paperback - Sept. 2 2004)
CDN$ 23.95 CDN$ 17.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews