Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars nice reference for java/linux setup & tools
This book fills a niche which has been needed for Java on Linux developers. It's not for someone wanting to learn Linux or Java - instead it quite nicely fills the gap of helping a Java & Linux user combine the two. Primarily it lists the many tools & jdks available and how to get, install, and use them. Having used Java on Linux for several years now, I believe...
Published on Jan. 23 2000 by John S

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated and superficial
This book is outdated and provides very little real information on programming in Java. As other reviewers have stated, it is primarily a list of (outdated) Java programming resources. The author also makes the mistake of assuming throughout the book that the book will be read from cover to cover. As I tried, however much in vain, to use the book as a reference, as I...
Published on Sept. 8 2002 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated and superficial, Sept. 8 2002
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
This book is outdated and provides very little real information on programming in Java. As other reviewers have stated, it is primarily a list of (outdated) Java programming resources. The author also makes the mistake of assuming throughout the book that the book will be read from cover to cover. As I tried, however much in vain, to use the book as a reference, as I thinks most readers do, I constantly ran into unexplained references to "phenomena" and had to go back through the book looking for the initial explanation of said phenomena. Of course, we should always expect that a book nearly three years old would be somewhat outdated, but it would be nice, for a change, to find a publisher driven by more than mere greed who would recognize the diminishing utility of a book like this and adjust the price accordingly. After reading quite a bit of the book, in retrospect I would not even pay half of the [price] when I bought this book, but at least a 50% price-reduction would have meant a little less of my hard-earned dinero wasted and thus available to buy a truly useful book on Java Programming on Linux, if one truly exists...This book should be pulled from the eShelves and replaced with something useful. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice reference for java/linux setup & tools, Jan. 23 2000
By 
John S (Irving, TX, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
This book fills a niche which has been needed for Java on Linux developers. It's not for someone wanting to learn Linux or Java - instead it quite nicely fills the gap of helping a Java & Linux user combine the two. Primarily it lists the many tools & jdks available and how to get, install, and use them. Having used Java on Linux for several years now, I believe this book would have been a real time saver when I first started with them.
Most of the info is quite current and major changes/updates are noted on the author's website.
The book is a monster (nearly 900 pages). IMO, it's too big. The first 185 pages (separate intros to Java and Linux) should have been greatly reduced or removed altogether. The author does a reasonable job in this section of trying to introduce both Java & Linux but would have been better off just pointing the reader to other texts and saving some trees. Part 3, the next 35 pages, could have been reduced to but a few pages as well.
From this point on, I think the book does a very good job of listing your options for tools available for Java on Linux. It is thorough in it's breadth of coverage. The only items where I thought it was lacking was with a few of the available JSP servlet engines and more detail (or references) for database info for Linux (mSql, postgres).
Overall, this book should be a good reference for Java/Linux developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Valuable for description of Java development tools, Jan. 7 2000
By 
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
Java Programming on Linux by Nathan Meyers is a valuable addition to your Java bookshelf, if you work on LINUX.
The introduction is a very good overview of Java and explains why Java (despite the hype) is not much used to program GUIs and why its main use is on the server.
It also explains where you can't use Java.
It is not really the tutorial. It takes the approach of diving into long program listings. The coverage of Java classes is about what you'd get by using the SUN online documentation (which is better).
So I wouldn't use the book to teach yourself Java or as a Java reference.
Here is where the book shines: setting up Java on LINUX and using the large number of tools that are available on LINUX for Java programming.
The book takes the approach of running programs and showing their output almost without commentary, but it is the only book I know of that will show you what is out there on LINUX if you want to do Java development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars java programming TOOLS in linux(redhat), Oct. 5 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
I don't know if the other reviewers have read the books carefully or not because the books have been over-rated. First of all, the book is filled with reference stuff for both linux and java which do not help people to understand either of them. The useful stuffs are to help people WHERE to get java softwares, HOW to install them and how to CONFIGURE them both as SYSTEM wide and USER limited usage and HOW to RUN THE SOFTWARES. In these aspects, the book did not do a very good job. The one website the book referred to is BLACKDOWN which is a good site but the java softwares there are not updated often( it still carries jdk1.2 beta ! ).
In conclusion, the book should be trimmed down in half and emphasizes more in those aforementioned stuffs and cut the price. To be fair, the book does contain some good stuffs but these are rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Kept Secrets in Network Development, Aug. 20 2000
By 
Paul T. Mcnally (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
Java development on Linux has lagged behind until now. The news of the day is Java Rocks on Linux. This book goes into detail how to get set up, what tools are available and where to get them. There is a CDROM that comes with the book and a website (CDROMS tend to get stale fast) for crucial updates, news and other vital information. IMHO programming Java on Linux has been one of the best kept secrets of the late 90s. This book is a step toward disclosure. Linux and Java go together like milk and cookies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cookies and Milk, May 27 2000
By 
Paul T. Mcnally (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
I honestly believe Microsoft has intentionally and unintentionally helped keep a very powerful crossplatform tool combination. Programming Java and Linux go together like cookies and milk. Since it's inception in the early 90's, Linux has always been a superior platform for Internet development and Java is and will be one of several paramount tools for the web. This book is written for people who know what they want, not for Windows weenies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable asset for Java programming on Linux, April 4 2000
By 
Drew Varner (Manama, Bahrain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
The book is for people who want to use Java on Linux. It is not for people looking to learn Java or Linux.
I found the book helpful because it explains why Java performs the way it does. In particular, the sections on the relationship between AWT, Swing and XFree86 are very informative.
I needed to implement a server-side Java application on Linux, and this book was very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Help for Java developers starting in Linux, March 17 2000
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
Since Java is a platform independent, you can write java code once and execute it everywhere. THat is assuming that your evironment is properly set up. So if you are looking for a tutorial on Java, stop right here. If you are looking for a guide how to make your life of writing code in Linux environment easy, this is the perfect book for you. Great tutorial on Linux based tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This book is waist of money, Dec 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Java Programming on Linux (Paperback)
This book dose not teach you any think, everything is a reference to some other sources.
I will agree with a comments about Java and Linux going hand to hand but this book will not
show you how to program java on linux. I have seen many other books in that price range
and by far they where much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java Programming on Linux
Java Programming on Linux by Nathan Meyers (Paperback - Dec 22 1999)
CDN$ 74.95
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews