Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Contribution
This book comes as a hugely welcome, reader-friendly primer on a very important area of study. Over the last few decades, scientists, Buddhists, and scholars have renewed investigation into the resonance between science and Buddhism. Analysis of theoretical physics and Buddhism and crossover studies in Buddhism, meditation, and neuroscience are making significant progress...
Published on July 13 2011 by Erin in Toronto

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars another money grabber
This is like a university paper (undergrad) which cites all kinds of studies and results and doesn't really establish any kind of cohesiveness. I'm so disappointed with this kind of trash that capitalizes on an authors name and doesn't produce. So long to Hanson et al ... I won't buy another book with your name on it.
Published 11 months ago by Brother Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Contribution, July 13 2011
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
This book comes as a hugely welcome, reader-friendly primer on a very important area of study. Over the last few decades, scientists, Buddhists, and scholars have renewed investigation into the resonance between science and Buddhism. Analysis of theoretical physics and Buddhism and crossover studies in Buddhism, meditation, and neuroscience are making significant progress in understanding the nature of the cosmos, the wisdom of the Buddha, the importance of meditation, and the structure of the psyche. This book manages to condense and simplify the science and the philosophy, and it offers several recommendations for meditation practice aimed at helping the reader to directly experience the knowledge.

Buddha's Brain is suitable for beginner and intermediate readers or newcomers to the field of neuroscience. It is well written, balanced, and well presented. I recommend this book highly. In fact, I bought extra copies and gave them away as gifts! Enjoy!

I'm waiting for the next book: Beyond the Brain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Techy version of Buddhism, March 19 2013
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
The author (a practicing meditater) has succeeded in generating a pop best-seller without stepping on too many toes.
He presents a medical jargon-filled neurologists view of how the brain distorts reality and leads to suffering of the sort long ago described by Buddha. This happens through a built-in "negativity bias [that] fosters or intensifies other unpleasant emotions, such as anger, sorrow, depression, guilt, and shame." "it typically takes about five positive interactions to overcome the effects of a single negative one"
He lists a set of cures based on "Activating the Parasympathetic Nervous System" including relaxation, Run warm water over your hands, diaphragm breathing, progressive relaxation, big exhalation, touching the lips, imagery, balancing your heartbeat and, predictably, meditation, among other things.

He talks about the illusory nature of human experience which he calls self-ing, how the brain constructs an apparent, fragmented false self.
"Your brain simulates the world--each of us lives in a virtual reality that's close enough to the real thing that we don't bump into the furniture."
"Just because we have a sense of self does not mean that we are a self. The brain strings together heterogeneous moments of self-ing and subjectivity into an illusion of homogenous coherence and continuity. The self is truly a fictional character. Sometimes it's useful to act as if it's real..."
"The self has no independent existence whatsoever."

"In sum, from a neurological standpoint, the everyday feeling of being a unified self is an utter illusion: the apparently coherent and solid 'I' is actually built from many subsystems and sub-subsystems over the course of development, with no fixed center, and the fundamental sense that there is a subject of experience is fabricated from myriad, disparate moments of subjectivity." "No self, no problem."
So, there you have it. Now that you know you are a fictional construct you can decide if you can find your genuine self through the rapture of meditation.

The author relates a story "about a Native American elder who was asked how she had become so wise, so happy, and so respected. She answered: 'In my heart, there are two wolves: a wolf of love and a wolf of hate. It all depends on which one I feed each day.'"
In chapter 7 of his book he covers equanimity. "'Equanimity is a perfect, unshakable balance of mind.'"
"Equanimity is neither apathy nor indifference: you are warmly engaged with the world but not troubled by it. Through its non-reactivity, it creates a great space for compassion, loving-kindness, and joy at the good fortune of others."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHANGE YOUR MIND, Oct. 4 2013
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful bridge between Buddhism and neuroscience. It explains why we do the things we do that aren't very helpful to us. Then it tells you what you need to do to learn to act in a way that is skillful. If you read this book then you will get a lot of information, however, information is just a lot of stuff filed in the brain. Often we can intellectualize it and regurgitate what we have read or heard. This book, as the Buddha taught, says that we must take the information and live it in order for change to occur. If reading a book or hearing a teacher would enlighten us, then there would be a lot of enlightened people. Books and teachers simply point the way, like pointing out directions on a map. We have to actually take the trip to get to the destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddha's Brain - an excellent marriage of science and meditation, Nov. 25 2013
By 
Martha McGee (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
Very clear, easy to understand and up to date neuroscience - brain anatomy and function. It is interlaced with a deep knowledge of meditation practice, showing how these ancient ways can change our brain for the better. A must read for anyone wanting practical ways to calm the nervous system, recover from trauma or just have a better life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, Jan. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
A must read, especially if you or someone you know struggles with ADD. Changed my husbands way of approaching life and made a big difference in how we communicate with one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great information science and how to knowledge ., Nov. 5 2012
By 
Suzanne M. Rankin "Tech 15" (Barrie, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
I have read four other books on the brain and found this one to be excellent with tips on how to teach / change the brain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite psychological/neuroscience book, Aug. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
A wealth of knowledge. A recommended read for anyone interested in learning about why and how the brain works the way it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appreciate this book, May 4 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
Thank you to the authors of this book. I appreciate the clear, concise, reader friendly manner this book is written in. It lays the information out in a way that is useable with the practice to go with it. A winning combination. It is obvious that the book has been written in a mindful manner and can be received by the reader in the same manner. I really appreciate this. I can also share this with others, even those who are just starting to explore this subject, clients also. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brain troubles, Sept. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
haven't finished and it might take me a while with my head troubles so read reread cause memory understanding is not thee like it once was hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars another money grabber, Oct. 5 2013
By 
Brother Bill "BroWilliam" (Regina, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom (Paperback)
This is like a university paper (undergrad) which cites all kinds of studies and results and doesn't really establish any kind of cohesiveness. I'm so disappointed with this kind of trash that capitalizes on an authors name and doesn't produce. So long to Hanson et al ... I won't buy another book with your name on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom
CDN$ 21.95 CDN$ 15.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews