Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new classic
If change were easy, a lot of us (psychologists, counselors, health care providers) would be out of work. Still, that doesn't stop us from complaining about those clients and patients who just won't do what we think is in their best interest. Motivational Interviewing, a "client-centered, directive method for enhancing intrinsic motivation," was developed specifically to...
Published on May 8 2004 by Deborah Van Horn

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies!
I wouldn't recommend this to my enemy, however, this book is great for new counsellors/therapists in the field. Enough said.
Published on Nov. 28 2012 by Kristin Dann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new classic, May 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
If change were easy, a lot of us (psychologists, counselors, health care providers) would be out of work. Still, that doesn't stop us from complaining about those clients and patients who just won't do what we think is in their best interest. Motivational Interviewing, a "client-centered, directive method for enhancing intrinsic motivation," was developed specifically to help faciliate change in "resistant" populations and has been embraced by addictions treatment and general health care professionals alike. The entirely re-written, highly readable, second edition of MOTIVATIONAL INTERVIEWING updates readers on the state of the art and science of MI, and provides a practical guide for helping people to make all kinds of behavior changes.
The book opens with a brief review of the converging lines of inquiry that supported the development of MI and an overview of core concepts such as readiness to change, ambivalence, and an interpersonally-based understanding of motivation. The second section is a guide to practice. While "spirit" is emphasized over technique, this section is filled with practical advice on how to increase motivation for change while minimizing resistance. A new chapter on ethics addresses the concerns that arise when attempting to motivate clients to do something they aren't sure they want to do. Consistent with the method's client-centered approach, the third section constitutes a chapter on learner-centered training in MI. The fourth section - comprising about half the volume - includes diverse contributed chapters on applications of MI. These include a discussion of MI and the Stages of Change model with which it is often associated; an excellent review of efficacy research in MI; adaptations of MI such as brief advice and MI with couples or groups; and applications with specific populations and settings. The application chapters necessarily vary in format but share in common careful consideration of the rationale for MI in the particular setting and the available evidence for success along with offering clinical wisdom from the field.
The first edition of Motivational Interviewing has become a modern classic in the field, and the second edition is a worthy successor. Whereas the first edition presented MI as an alternative to traditional approaches to treating addictions, the second edition presents MI as an approach to helping people get "unstuck" regardless of the kind of behavior change in question. The key principles are more fully thought out, yet streamlined and presented in an almost conversational tone. The humanistic values that underlie MI are more consistently evident, yet the dedication to empirical validation of clinical insights remains. There is enough new material to justify buying this book even if you already have the first edition. - reviewed by Deborah Van Horn - first posted 5/16/02, updated 5/18/04.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivational Interviewing; Preparing People for Change (2nd edition), July 29 2010
By 
MI RD "MI RD" (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
Motivational Interviewing; Preparing People for Change is a must-read for anyone involved in helping relationships; clinicians, care-givers or parents. It enables one to begin to transform their helping-style from one of trying to convince a person why their current thoughts and actions are incorrect to one where the helper is able to bring a person to see the discrepancy between what their own value-system and their current behaviours. It is this discrepancy that enables the person themselves to change. The analogy that is used in the book is the difference between wrestling and dancing, in both cases someone is directing another, but in one case one person is expending a great deal of energy and coming up against huge amounts of resistance (seen as bad) and in the other case, one is seemingly effortlessly guiding another, with little resistance (seen as part of the process of change). As a dietitian and a parent of teenagers, this book has been life-changing in how I approach both of my professions.

http://www.amazon.ca/Motivational-Interviewing-Preparing-People-Change/dp/1572305630/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1280425832&sr=8-15
Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide to Exploring and Resolving Ambivalence, Oct. 10 2003
By 
Mary C. Cole "Cathy Cole" (Chapel Hill, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
When do you use a Motivational Interviewing approach? Whenever there is ambivalence for change. How often does ambivalence for change occur? At almost any time people are considering some kind of change. In this 2nd edition of Motivational Interviewing, the authors are very clear that MI is not an approach that obviates the use of other therapy approaches, such as CBT, but is an approach that prepares people for change.
I have been a trainer in Motivational Interviewing since 1995 (see [...]) and am privileged to have received my training from the authors, Drs. Miller and Rollnick. The first edition, Motivational Interviewing, Preparing People to Change Addictive Behavior, provided information that has helped many professionals working in addictions a way to more effectively engage clients in the process of change. The 2nd edition is written so that professionals working with clients around any issues...mental health, health behavior, addictions, health promotion, life coaching...are able to apply the methods for exploring and resolving ambivalence for change.
The first three chapters of the book set the stage for understanding the nature of change and ambivalence for change so that the reader is more fully prepared to understand the value of fully understanding the client situation and eliciting desire, ability, reasons, need and committment for change from the client. This approach differs from the often tendency to understand the client's situation and then in a well meaning way, prescribe the needed steps for change. The strategies for interacting with clients via the use of open ended questions and the use of reflective responses is clearly discussed. Methods for eliciting change talk and responding to the concept of resistance are easily understood and examples are provided that will assist readers in considering how this approach will fit into their unique situations.
Of great value to me has been the expanded view of the concept of client resistance. From the MI approach, resistance is seen as occuring in context and is conceived of as dissonance...just a lack of harmony, or being on the same page together. When viewed in this way, it just signals the professional that another approach is needed. How to 'roll with resistance' is then illustrated very clearly.
This edition of Motivational Interviewing has expanded my ability to provide training. Even more importantly, the emphasis of this edition has underscored even more for me,that in my provision of psychotherapy, MI is not an approach to be pulled out for special occasions but is the treatment philosophy from which I approach all clients, despite the particular therapy modality utilized in the specific work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide to Exploring and Resolving Ambivalence, Oct. 10 2003
By 
Mary C. Cole "Cathy Cole" (Chapel Hill, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
When do you use a Motivational Interviewing approach? Whenever there is ambivalence for change. How often does ambivalence for change occur? At almost any time people are considering some kind of change. In this 2nd edition of Motivational Interviewing, the authors are very clear that MI is not an approach that obviates the use of other therapy approaches, such as CBT, but is an approach that prepares people for change.
I have been a trainer in Motivational Interviewing since 1995 (see [...]) and am privileged to have received my training from the authors, Drs. Miller and Rollnick. The first edition, Motivational Interviewing, Preparing People to Change Addictive Behavior, provided information that has helped many professionals working in addictions a way to more effectively engage clients in the process of change. The 2nd edition is written so that professionals working with clients around any issues...mental health, health behavior, addictions, health promotion, life coaching...are able to apply the methods for exploring and resolving ambivalence for change.
The first three chapters of the book set the stage for understanding the nature of change and ambivalence for change so that the reader is more fully prepared to understand the value of fully understanding the client situation and eliciting desire, ability, reasons, need and committment for change from the client. This approach differs from the often tendency to understand the client's situation and then in a well meaning way, prescribe the needed steps for change. The strategies for interacting with clients via the use of open ended questions and the use of reflective responses is clearly discussed. Methods for eliciting change talk and responding to the concept of resistance are easily understood and examples are provided that will assist readers in considering how this approach will fit into their unique situations.
Of great value to me has been the expanded view of the concept of client resistance. From the MI approach, resistance is seen as occuring in context and is conceived of as dissonance...just a lack of harmony, or being on the same page together. When viewed in this way, it just signals the professional that another approach is needed. How to 'roll with resistance' is then illustrated very clearly.
This edition of Motivational Interviewing has expanded my ability to provide training. Even more importantly, the emphasis of this edition has underscored even more for me,that in my provision of psychotherapy, MI is not an approach to be pulled out for special occasions but is the treatment philosophy from which I approach all clients, despite the particular therapy modality utilized in the specific work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivational Interviewing, Jan. 7 2012
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
I was very impressed with my order, as others I've had with Amazon.ca. The service is quick and the product is always in good shape and what I ordered. Will continue to order my book needs through you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies!, Nov. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change (Hardcover)
I wouldn't recommend this to my enemy, however, this book is great for new counsellors/therapists in the field. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change
Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change by Stephen Rollnick PhD (Hardcover - April 12 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 36.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews