Customer Reviews


351 Reviews
5 star:
 (222)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Male Psychology + Humor
After THE LOSERS' CLUB: Complete Restored Edition, this is my favorite "guy" novel. It's an accurate portrayal of a guy's interior life, maybe the best depiction of male psychology and their uneasy relationship with opposite sex I've ever read. Plus, it's really funny!
The protagonist is just breaking up with his girlfriend; she's leaving him and this makes him...
Published on July 21 2005 by Kevin Ulene

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This Was Great!!
High Fidelity is a brief insight into the life of a British man obsessed by music and his love life. When Rob's girlfriend initially breaks up with him the first thing he does is reorganize his enormous record collection. He is so over whelmed by the power of pop culture that his vision of where his record collection ends and his relationship begins is clouded. Directly...
Published on April 28 2002 by lareinalatina77


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Male Psychology + Humor, July 21 2005
By 
Kevin Ulene (Spruce Pine, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel (Paperback)
After THE LOSERS' CLUB: Complete Restored Edition, this is my favorite "guy" novel. It's an accurate portrayal of a guy's interior life, maybe the best depiction of male psychology and their uneasy relationship with opposite sex I've ever read. Plus, it's really funny!
The protagonist is just breaking up with his girlfriend; she's leaving him and this makes him recall all his past relationships, his past "failures" in trying to access the damage Laura, his new "ex," has done -- and how she stacks up compared to other gals who have broken his heart. This is first of the lists, Rob shares with us; the top 5 five list is a theme carried throughout the entire novel.
The protagonist is a used record shop owner, a modest business that is failing; Rob knows he should move on, but to what? His ex meanwhile is a lawyer, earning a great living. And that of course only underscores his feeling of "being left behind," or being some kind of protracted adolescent.
I love this book because I really related to the main character; we live in a materialistic age where at a certain point you start to feel foolish if you haven't established a "career." Rob's a passionate guy, passionate about music -- not a dullard, and yet he remains the way he always was, without much career ambition, content to indulge his passions. To me, he seems decent, pretty cool -- the type of guy you'd like to have as a pal. To women, no doubt, he's just a "loser."
There's a huge market of books for women, books that depict women's relationships and their needs, etc. -- this is one book that gives the male point of view.
It shows how frail men are, I think. Early on, Rob talks about "Charlie" an arty girl who he was insanely in love with and who dumped (and essentially crippled) him. I know guys like this, who after being dumped 10 years earlier still find themselves unable to deal with it. Because men are less able to access and deal with their feelings, certain feelings remain frozen inside them for years, paralysis of this kind is common. Women are just more emotionally resilient, I think.
In many ways, HIGH FIDELITY is a "guy" romantic comedy, a book about relationships after the age of 30, a book about societal expectations for men, a book about "recovery" from damaging relationships. Along the way it gives great insight into how guys think, male paranoia ("Is he better than me? [i.e. Bigger?]"), male insecurity and fear and sadness. Also the tendency of men to be a little narrow-minded (overly focused [ie, the top 5 lists]) at times, even misanthropic. At his age, Rob doesn't have many male friends, except for the two guys who help out at his record shop; other past friends, no doubt, have moved on, gotten married, formed families -- we (or at least I) can relate to the feeling of being "left behind." I think we all feel a little like Rob.
At first the book seems a little bitter, because the Rob is terribly wounded -- that's the tone of book: he's hurting. But as the novel continues, the book lightens up a bit and remains a truly enjoying reading experience. And I've read it more than once! Anyway, check out this book! And also read "THE LOSER'S CLUB: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez -- another great "guy" book that in many ways is related to HIGH FIDELITY. Just excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous piece of witty storytelling, May 2 2001
By 
Sean Waldron (Burr Ridge, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity (Paperback)
Two things I must say before I jump into my top five, a) I saw the movie, "High Fidelity" first, b) the real rating is 4.5. Let's continue: Top Five things that I liked about this book: 1. I enjoyed the witty commentary and style of the novel. It felt as if Rob Fleming was telling me the secrets of his life, opinions, etc. It was like a modern, non-three day "Catcher in the Rhye." 2. The fact that every comment and opinion and statement about life, love, relationships, etc. I could relate to. It was like one of those "Did you ever notice?" comedians where after every joke you're in absiolute agreement with the stan-up. 3. The characters. Like most readers I enjoy good charcaters. Not interesting charcaters who do amazing or different things, but charcaters that you can relate to, feel for, and almost tak the place of, so to speak, during parts of the film, novel, series, etc. 4. Everybody's favorite- the obbsessive, intelligent conversations between Rob, Barry, Dick (Sorry, jumping ahead, they're all characters that you'll recognize when you read the book). It was funny to hear how music obbsessed some people could be. It made you feel almost envious of their extensive knowledge about music, film, and novels. 5. The "tie-it-together ending." The ending wasn't spectacular, and it probably should have been seven or eight, but it felt very soothing, and completeing, like the how the song played on the credits of a movie can in some way make the film more enjoyable, because it sets a mood or whatever. I'm not going o ruin anything, but I guarantee a smile of approval and happiness after reading the last chapter or so.
"High Fidelity" was a funny, witty, novel that at some points dragged, but at most points was gratifying. I rarely do this, but I'm going to have to say it: this book I guarentee you will enjoy, even for a brief few chapters, but for most people, the entire novel is enjoyable. Good Luck with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love, men and music, Feb. 24 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel (Paperback)
Nick Hornby gives music and romance a philosophical spin in "High Fidelity," the funny, rueful book about men, music, and modern love. While occasionally his lead character's "top five" lists can be a little annoying, this is a charmingly original, wry and thoughtful novel - an offbeat romance for our time.

Rob owns a little music shop in London, which is a good thing because he is musically obsessed -- pop music, he claims, makes him fall in love. But even pop music can't heal his heart when his longtime girlfriend Laura breaks up and moves out. What's worse, Rob has no idea WHY she broke up with him, and he feels mixed feelings about losing her (he cares about her) and her musical tastes (bad).

He immerses himself in his rickety business with his weirdo employees -- these guys alone are worth checking out the book for. He dates a folk singer. He learns that Laura is now involved with the repulsive guy upstairs. And finally, he assesses his past sex life and romances (the top five, specifically), getting a bit of insight into what Laura's problem with him might be: He's stuck in his mid-teens.

Thirty-five is kind of old to start growing up. But like many real people, Rob learns that it's change or die -- in his case, alone and surrounded by records. "High Fidelity" is a nice blend of musical/movie memoir, love story and belated-coming-of-age tale. It's kind of geeky and pokes fun at itself, but therein lies its charm.

Hornby writes a nice, breezy kind of prose, peppered with plenty of pop culture and musical references. Not to mention the top five lists: Top Five Episodes of Cheers. Best Side One Track Ones Of All Time. Top Five Bands or Musicians Who Will Have To Be Shot Come the Musical Revolution. At times the pop culture name-dropping gets a bit tiresome, but it mostly underlines how quirky and mildly obsessive Rob can be.

And oh, he can be quirky. He can also be a self-centered jerk, and a bit confused and clueless to boot. Hornby's alter ego is likable for his flaws, and somehow manages to shed a little light on how men think. Good backup comes in his clerks Barry and Dick, who are just as geekily eccentric about music and lists as Rob is.

Nick Hornby's "High Fidelity" is an excellent slice of Brit-lit -- it's quirky, wry, insightful, and a bit obsessed with good music. Definitely a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Male Psychology + Humor, June 3 2005
By 
Kevin Ulene (Spruce Pine, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel (Paperback)
After THE LOSERS' CLUB: Complete Restored Edition, this is my favorite "guy" novel. It's an accurate portrayal of a guy's interior life, maybe the best depiction of male psychology and their uneasy relationship with opposite sex I've ever read. Plus, it's really funny!
The protagonist is just breaking up with his girlfriend; she's leaving him and this makes him recall all his past relationships, his past "failures" in trying to access the damage Laura, his new "ex," has done -- and how she stacks up compared to other gals who have broken his heart. This is first of the lists, Rob shares with us; the top 5 five list is a theme carried throughout the entire novel.
The protagonist is a used record shop owner, a modest business that is failing; Rob knows he should move on, but to what? His ex meanwhile is a lawyer, earning a great living. And that of course only underscores his feeling of "being left behind," or being some kind of protracted adolescent.
I love this book because I really related to the main character; we live in a materialistic age where at a certain point you start to feel foolish if you haven't established a "career." Rob's a passionate guy, passionate about music -- not a dullard, and yet he remains the way he always was, without much career ambition, content to indulge his passions. To me, he seems decent, pretty cool -- the type of guy you'd like to have as a pal. To women, no doubt, he's just a "loser."
There's a huge market of books for women, books that depict women's relationships and their needs, etc. -- this is one book that gives the male point of view.
It shows how frail men are, I think. Early on, Rob talks about "Charlie" an arty girl who he was insanely in love with and who dumped (and essentially crippled) him. I know guys like this, who after being dumped 10 years earlier still find themselves unable to deal with it. Because men are less able to access and deal with their feelings, certain feelings remain frozen inside them for years, paralysis of this kind is common. Women are just more emotionally resilient, I think.
In many ways, HIGH FIDELITY is a "guy" romantic comedy, a book about relationships after the age of 30, a book about societal expectations for men, a book about "recovery" from damaging relationships. Along the way it gives great insight into how guys think, male paranoia ("Is he better than me? [i.e. Bigger?]"), male insecurity and fear and sadness. Also the tendency of men to be a little narrow-minded (overly focused [ie, the top 5 lists]) at times, even misanthropic. At his age, Rob doesn't have many male friends, except for the two guys who help out at his record shop; other past friends, no doubt, have moved on, gotten married, formed families -- we (or at least I) can relate to the feeling of being "left behind." I think we all feel a little like Rob.
At first the book seems a little bitter, because the Rob is terribly wounded -- that's the tone of book: he's hurting. But as the novel continues, the book lightens up a bit and remains a truly enjoying reading experience. And I've read it more than once! Anyway, check out this book! And also read "THE LOSER'S CLUB: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez -- another great "guy" book that in many ways is related to HIGH FIDELITY. Just excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into a man's thought process, April 24 2005
This review is from: High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel (Paperback)
If any of you know a guy who is having trouble growing up, who is jumping from short term relationship to short term relationship and not being able to settle down, then be sure to point them in the direction of this book. Why this book? Because Nick Hornby, the author, does a great job of capturing the struggle that some men go through as they move between that awkward stage of wanting to play games and never settle down, vs. the desire to get into serious relationships and start that nesting phase of life.
Now while this might seem like a touchy-feely novel, it isn't. Hornby deftly stick handles through what might be a dangerous topic only to cover the subject with humour and excellent observations. And while at first glance this might novel appear to be target to men only, women should find an interest in this novel too, as it provides a good glimpse in to how men think and operate.
This book most definitely rates five stars for having human and believable characters, a story line that everyone no matter their age or sex or race can follow, and a writing style that is easy to read. Never mind the many references to cool bands and the great music scene found in London.
Even if you saw the movie, you should still pick up the book and give it a read. The novel does a much better job of capturing the struggle experienced by the protagonist, and better still, the novel is set in London rather than the movie locale of Chicago. For anyone looking for their first Nick Hornby novel, this would be the one to give them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, Aug. 14 2003
By 
Benjamin Koslowski (Bielefeld, NRW Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel (Paperback)
Rob Fleming is the owner of a failing record store and has just been left by his girlfriend. His whole life is a mess due to his obsession with music and him wasting his time with rather unimportant things, for example rearranging his huge record collection every now and again. He is thirty-five years old, single and worried about how his whole life might turn out. Rob wades in depression for a few weeks, but soon discovers what really makes his life worth living.
Most of the characters in "High Fidelity" have got very intense personalities and can make the reader laugh out loud and feel sorry for them at the same time. They all differ from one another, but nevertheless the characters fit together brilliantly.
The author has got his own, very compulsive but also contemporary style of writing and uses a funny language, which he enriches with some of his own expressions (e.g. the "ooh-I-shouldn't-really-but-I-quite-fancy-a-pint sort of weakness" (p. 166, ll.17-18)).
Hornby has created a very flowing and intersting story, which reflects every-day life in such a true and comprehensive way, that the reader can just simply nod in agreement. It confronts you with your own fears and doubts and brings back into mind the repressed difficulties of our relationships.
The film to the novel, which is also called "High Fidelity", plays in Chicago instead of London and parts of the setting, like the record store "Championship Vinyl", deeply disappointed me. Reading the novel I could just perfectly imagine what the shop would look like, had the story been set in London.
The brilliant cast, great acting and especially the truth, that also lies in the film, manage to make up for the fact, that the story does not take place in one of those familiarly uncrowded back streets of London.
Comparing the film to the novel, I must admit that I much prefer the novel, but I think it is pretty much impossoble to make a film that is good enough to be better than the novel.
Nick Hornby has my deepest respect for the creation of such a beautiful and true story. Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mix tapes and foolish pride, June 15 2003
By 
Gina Paradis (Terre Haute, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity (Paperback)
Sadly, I saw the movie first. But the movie was great and I can't say that it ruined my experience of reading the book. Nick Hornby is a delightful writer and his books often carry an air of "this is the story of my life". As a female I'm left hoping that men think the way Hornby writes while hoping that at the same time, they don't.
A self-centered music guru owns his own record shop and has been dating this girl for a long time. They have problems. She wants to leave. He wants to make her mixtapes of songs she doesn't even like and he thinks it's "what you like" and not "what you're like" that makes a person 'cool.' Hornby takes us on a journey through introspection and the reader will form an ambivalent relationship with the main Rob as they realize he is a child in his early thirties suffering from post high school adolescence. Rob is a jerk sometimes. Simple enough. But beneath his pretentious and obsessive nature, he's forming a human being. The book is a love story sometimes, a coming of age story at others.
But most enjoyably, it is a trip down musical lane. Rob's store sells vinyl records and its employees drive away anyone seeking mainstream music. Each one is childish and highly judgemental but well learned in music and the arguments about music pass the days and book along hilariuosly.
Rob has an obsession with lists that at first seems tiresome but later becomes interesting and helpful to any music fan. Also notable are the rules of the mix tape which hold true. This is a geekster sort of novel passing itself off as chic. But no worries; the pretense and comedy are mature and moving. The love isn't mushy at all (maybe part of the problem..) but it's somehow more real than all that fantastical stuff. Hornby's first novel is quite enjoyable and a good foundation for his career.
And hey, if it seems like his books are written to be movies, I assure you that it doesn't devalue the books at all. The movies complement the books rather than disgrace them as say in the case of Stephen King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was funny so I didn't mind the introspection!!!, June 4 2002
This review is from: High Fidelity (Paperback)
Read the book because it is insightful regarding relationships from the male perspective,because it gives a glimpse into the mind of a fanatic collector(music or other), or because it's doggone entertaining. But read the damn book. The protagonist decides to examine his life after, as is often the case, a painful episode in his life. Normally this type of book is a turn off to most men, but this book is so funny, and so dead on accurate that you don't mind taking the trip through Rob's(the protagonist) psyche.
The humor comes in many forms. Rob's co-workers provide some hefty laughs with their top 5 lists, sarcasm and realistic portrayal of music geeks. Rob himself supplies many laffs with his self effacement and irony. And the turns the story takes itself are sometimes hilarious, sometimes just strange.( Wait til you find out what happens at the funeral of Rob's ex's father)
The poignancy and depth of the book sneaks up on ya. One minute your chuckling over Rob's frustration with fans of Phil Collins, the next your sharing in a truthful,sometimes almost brutally so, insight into his mind.
I guess what I'm trying to say is that any book that can take a self -obsessed guy's ruminating on music,relationships and life in general, and keep me interested because of the humor and truthfulness of the inner and outer dialogues, is a damn fine book. Try it. It makes soul searching fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This Was Great!!, April 28 2002
This review is from: High Fidelity (Paperback)
High Fidelity is a brief insight into the life of a British man obsessed by music and his love life. When Rob's girlfriend initially breaks up with him the first thing he does is reorganize his enormous record collection. He is so over whelmed by the power of pop culture that his vision of where his record collection ends and his relationship begins is clouded. Directly after his break up with Laura his girlfriend, he plunges himself into a reflection of his life. He looks back at his all time top five break ups and in the story we see him look up his girlfriends from the past, as he searches for where he could have possibly gone wrong. Throughout all of these encounters Rob is hilarious. One question comes to mind, Do all guys act and feel the same as Rob? The situations he engages in are so funny and at times they even make you embarrassed . All in all, High Fidelity is a wonderful novel! I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in how men think and act, and anyone that is in need of some good humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hilarious and Realistic View on Relationships, April 22 2002
By 
This review is from: High Fidelity (Paperback)
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby, is not just another sappy book about relationships gone bad, but a refreshingly realistic account of relationships through the eyes of man. Hornby's exquisite and hilarious style of writing keeps the pages turning and the reader laughing and nodding as they relate to, and gain insight on, different aspects of love and life.
Nick Hornby does a spectacular job at defining each character and bringing them to life. Rob Fleming seems to jump off the pages and speaks of his love life, or lack of at times, in such vivid detail and emotion, it's as if Rob himself is sitting in your living room recounting the confused drama that is his life.
High Fidelity is a definite must read for all who have been in relationships, or are thinking of beginning one. This novel will give you some understanding of the male point-of-view as well as the hardships, confusion, and the sometimes backwards reality that seems to get mixed up in the stereotypical notion of love. All of which is portrayed through the hilarious and blunt writing style of one of my "top five favorite" authors, Nick Hornby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel
High Fidelity (Movie-tie In): A Novel by Nick Hornby (Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 16.50 CDN$ 11.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews