Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way horror SHOULD be!
This is one of those low-budget 'B' rated movies from the late 70s. Sadly, it didn't make too well at the box office during its release and was long forgotten and neglected around this time. Now, the original cult classic makes its way to DVD, with even clearer sound and picture (Though the picture quality is not the best, it still fits the horrifying atmosphere quite...
Published on May 20 2004 by Blade

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This blu-ray release is cut and has framerate issues!
Stay away from this release. It's missing 5 minutes of footage and has issues with the framerate. Check the forum on blu-ray.com for more info. The UK release from 88 films has the same issues. Tell these companies that we won't buy their releases if they don't handle them properly. You've been warned.
Published 3 months ago by S. Masson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way horror SHOULD be!, May 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of those low-budget 'B' rated movies from the late 70s. Sadly, it didn't make too well at the box office during its release and was long forgotten and neglected around this time. Now, the original cult classic makes its way to DVD, with even clearer sound and picture (Though the picture quality is not the best, it still fits the horrifying atmosphere quite well) and let's not forget the interviews and commentary. I was not too sure about getting this or not, knowing that the film has gotten some mixed reviews but I'm actually very glad I did! Once I saw the trailer, I decided to take a chance. I wasn't disappointed! Some reviews here are claiming that this is ripping off Tobe Hooper's "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", but really I beg to differ. Yes, it may have been INSPIRED by such classics as Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho" & TCM and it may BORROW a little here and there (barely much was borrowed at all really, except for the killer dressing up in women's clothing) but this is a whole new and original story, people! What I liked mostly about "Tourist Trap" was the scary, nightmarish look and feel of a REAL horror flick and wasn't anything stupid and pathetic like "The Ring". I mean, people got scared of that just because of a video that looked like it was made by a bunch of stoners and a little girl crawling out of a television set! Oh, GIVE ME A BREAK! That's NOT scary at all! You want real (I repeat REAL) horror that will send chills down your spine? This is the one to see! And now for a quick plot summary... The story concerns five youths who take a summer afternoon drive (yes, it SOUNDS TCM but it's NOT!) and end up having their car broken down. Coincidently, an eerie wax museum is nearby and after meeting the owner, Slausen (given an AMAZING performance by Chuck Conners) they decide to check it out, unaware of the horrors that await! Mannequins suddenly come to life and begin commiting acts of murder (laughing and screaming insanely) while Slausen's mysterious brother, who lives right next door to the museum in an old house, holds the teens captive and terrorizes them with unspeakable horrors! The truth about the grotesque mannequins and Slausen's brother later unfolds, but I don't want to spoil it for those who haven't seen it yet! Sure the acting drags at SOME points, but it's not always everything! This is more like something you'd see out of your nightmares. If you're not too sure, rent it first and give it a try. Otherwise, if you're hardcore with the horror genre like me, I say go for it! I also recommend Tobe Hooper's "The Funhouse" & Steven Spielberg's "Poltergeist"! All carry the same style to horror and haunt you to the bone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This blu-ray release is cut and has framerate issues!, April 22 2014
By 
S. Masson (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Stay away from this release. It's missing 5 minutes of footage and has issues with the framerate. Check the forum on blu-ray.com for more info. The UK release from 88 films has the same issues. Tell these companies that we won't buy their releases if they don't handle them properly. You've been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy After all these years..., June 15 2013
By 
S. J. B. (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is underrated 80's horror as well...seller does you right, the movie does you right and this flick is proof they don't make em like they use to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 16 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Import] (DVD)
Arrived in good time and was exactly as was advertised. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eeeeeeeeeeeeee, Oct. 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
It seems a lot of the old horror "B" movies have been coming out in the recent past on DVD. I've been building my DVD collection with the Massacre series and the like. Seeing this is the season for horror movies, I've been desperate for good movies I haven't seen yet. I've been scouring Amazon's reviews and purchased this movie based solely on previous comments by those who have seen "Tourist Trap". I have to say, I am not the squeamish type. I can watch "Dawn of the Dead" while eating King Crab legs. I watched "Tourist Trap" on DVD for the first time last night. And let me repeat myself. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee. What a creepy movie. Chuck Conners is no longer "The Rifleman" for me. The movie has a bit of gore but leaves most to imagination. The Mannequin thing has been done a million times, but not like this. I don't want to spoil the movie for anyone, so I won't say anymore. Thanks to all the previous, positive reviewers that turned me on to this gem. My suggestion for horror genre lovers. Read my lips. "BUY THIS MOVIE". You can't beat the price. And if you don't put this flick along with your best top 5 horror favorites, you can beat on me via email. mkar@xtdl.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top ten favorite horror movies!, July 7 2004
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
This has got to be one of the creepiest movies ever! Forget garbage like scream and i know what you did last summer. this is real horror! a group of friends get stranded at a wax museum run by chuck connors. the wax museum is filled with these creepy mannequins who.. well im not going to ruin it for you! Watch the movie! I cannot believe i had never seen this earlier. From beginning to end this movie will have you on the edge of your seat! beautiful music by pino donaggio. ONe of my top ten favorite horror movies! Highly recommended. I watch alot of horror movies and this is one of the best! Just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awsome movie and great value DVD!, April 7 2004
By 
J. A Miller "conjammenson" (Computer Chair) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
Tourist trap is a classic B-Movie and totally fun to watch. The story is about a twisted man that can move things with his mind and has made a world of his own amongst maniquines; making them move and talk to him and each other with his mind control power. Of course, a few un-lucky teens happen to stumble upon his place in the world and find themselves emmersed in a sick and twisted world.
The DVD is a grea value. It has director commentary; made by a director looking back to a movie 40 years ago. There are over 40 full-moon trailers. Lots of merchandise to view on the special features.
The DVD is a great value and the movie is awsome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Blood, A Few Scares, Lots of Fun, March 28 2004
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
TOURIST TRAP is a film for the horror afficionado, not the casual horror fan. If you like shock, gore and nail-biting, screaming scare scenes, this may bore you. If you've spent hundreds of hours watching all-night camp fright flicks and have a soft spot in your heart for good (not great) and slightly goofy films a la MOTEL HELL, you'll fall in love with TOURIST TRAP.
The set-up is the same you've seen a thousand times. Three gals and two guys break down in the woods, go skinny dipping and then die one by one. You know by the second murder who the killer "really" is and also which heroine will survive the carnage (this one plays by all the standard rules). Still, you've got a great cornball factor with Chuck "Rifleman" Connors in the Jim Siedow-esque role of helpful country bumpkin and a bona fide Scream Queen in Jocelyn Jones (easily the best performer in the film, her eyes convey true terror - it's a pity she didn't make a career of this).
The film fails in the pacing department and we have too many escapes and recaptures and escapes again after the killer's identity is revealed two-thirds of the way through the film. Still, there is a genuine creep factor in the apearance and manipulation of the mannequins (and Ms. Jones' mental breakdown at the film's end has the viewer wondering if they're really alive as well), though it's almost cancelled out by the notion of the lunatic slasher wielding psychokinetic powers as well. Coming five years after TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, the vision of the hulking killer in a woman's mask surrounded by an artifical family of mannequins doesn't seems as original and eerie as it should.
All in all, though, TOURIST TRAP is fun viewing - and actually appropriate for the young horror fan (no nudity, cursing and very little blood) as well. This DVD, from Koch Vision Entertainment, looks great and boasts a nice selection of extra features, all at an incredibly reasonable price. Not the best by far, but this will undoubtedly warm the heart of anyone who enjoys films such as Tobe Hooper's FUNHOUSE, ALICE SWEET ALICE, MOTEL HELL, HELL NIGHT, and PHANTASM. Grab WAXWORK and make it a double feature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool movie, but where are the 40 Full Moon trailers?, Jan. 21 2004
By 
Sean Brady (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm happy to own this film on DVD (hence the 4 star rating), but I was extremely disappointed to find that the advertised 40 Full Moon trailers are nowhere to be found on this disc. There's only a handful of them. I would have bought the film anyway, but I was looking really forward to sitting back and watching lots of wonderfully cheesy trailers. There's a lesson to be learned here, fellow Amazon b-grade movie lovers...spend some time reading through as many reviews as possible to avoid disappointment in future :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Low budget creepfest, Jan. 1 2004
By 
Jeffrey Leach (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Widescreen) (DVD)
Ahhh, tourist traps! Those ramshackle buildings hugging the sides of state highways all across this great land of ours, places where you pay through the nose to see the world's biggest ball of used bubblegum, or sculptures of American presidents made out of navel lint. Who wouldn't want to shell out a few traveler's checks to see the only preserved Sasquatch in existence only to discover it looks like your rolled up entryway rug with a wig placed on top? No matter what your destination, whether a secluded little hideaway with your significant other or a march across the country with five kids in the backseat, the lure of the tourist trap is often too strong to resist. Especially for that one feebleminded passenger found on every lengthy trip, the one who messes with the radio stations and has to go to the bathroom every five minutes. If you anticipate problems in this area on your next vacation, pick up a copy of "The Tourist Trap" on DVD and show it to the family before backing the car out of the garage. I would be surprised if they still want to stop and see the largest collection of used cat litter after viewing this nightmarish movie.
To be fair, sometimes you cannot help but stumble over a tourist trap. What happens if you get a flat tire and the only place to phone for help turns out to be a museum full of odd mannequins? That is exactly what happens to the hapless travelers found in David Schmoeller's "The Tourist Trap." An unfortunate puncture at an inopportune time finds a gaggle of young people--the most noticeable being a very young and very curvy Tanya Roberts--rolling into Slausen's Museum, a boarded up tourist site presided over by the (who else) lumbering Mr. Slausen (Chuck Conners). Nothing seems amiss at first, as the owner of the tourist spot hands out drinks to the exhausted travelers and promises to help them fix their car. When several of the young people express interest in the mannequins, Slausen is only too happy to show them off. As he walks out the door with the only male member of the gang, he warns the ladies to wait for them to return. Moreover, he strongly advises the girls to stay inside since coyotes roam the area and he doesn't want anyone to get hurt. Predicatably, one of the girls almost immediately disobeys orders by heading over to a huge mansion behind the museum. Curiosity killed the cat, so to speak, and it might do the same to busty young ladies who don't keep their nose where it belongs.
When their inquisitive friend fails to return, Becky and Molly (Tanya Roberts and Jocelyn Jones, respectively) head over to the house to investigate. The house and museum sit in the middle of a heavily forested area, which looks mighty creepy late at night. Shrugging off the spooky surroundings, Becky enters the house in search of her friend despite Molly's whispered warnings. Molly reluctantly returns to the museum, thereby missing the unfolding horror in the seemingly abandoned mansion. It turns out that Slausen's crazy brother Dave lives there, a man who doesn't take kindly to strangers snooping around his mannequin-making factory. Dave Slausen has a penchant for wearing masks himself, as Becky soon discovers when the insane man captures her and ties her up in the basement (where Jerry, the aforementioned male member of the quartet, resides as well). Becky and Jerry soon discover that Slausen has telekinetic powers, which he uses to move objects and mannequins around at will, and they also notice he has a yearning to turn human beings into mannequins even if it means committing murder to do it. Things are not what they seem in this movie, with revelations occurring constantly against a backdrop of plot twists and turns. The conclusion alone makes picking up this DVD a necessity.
The performances, with the exception of Chuck Conners and Jocelyn Jones, are mostly forgettable. Jones as the goody-goody Molly and Conners as the omnipresent Slausen elevate "The Tourist Trap" above the run of the mill slasher/low budget horror flick. After seeing Jones shriek and scream through the last quarter of the movie, I wondered why she never attained the type of scream queen status accorded to the likes of Jamie Lee Curtis. She does a wonderful job here, neatly playing off of Conners's creepy turn as the enigmatic museum owner. Who knew Conners had it in him to play such a sick, offbeat role? Too bad he didn't follow this movie up with a few other equally deviant performances. As for Tanya Roberts, well, she does parade around through the woods in a pair of cut off shorts and a tube top, so I guess we cannot complain too much. She made this movie immediately before signing up for the last season of "Charlie's Angels," and the two projects couldn't be further apart in terms of subject matter.
I take exception with people who claim that the picture quality is great on this DVD. It isn't, not by a long shot, but for some reason this is one of the few times where a grainy hue helped give a movie great atmosphere. I'm not sure I would want to see this sleazy little gem with a crystal clear picture. Happily, the amazing score by Pino Donaggio sounds great, achieving as it does a spectacular mix of lazy whimsy and eerie sweep. The DVD itself sports an interview with director Schmoeller, a collection of schlock trailers, cast bios and filmographies, and a few other minor goodies. Note: don't watch the interview with the director before you watch the movie. It contains spoilers that will ruin the whole experience. If you like horror, be sure and check this little movie out as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tourist Trap (Widescreen)
Tourist Trap (Widescreen) by David Schmoeller (DVD - 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews