Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I kick ass for the Lord!"
This movie has it all. It has to be one of the funniest, bloodiest, most enjoyable horror movies I've ever seen. Don't go into it expecting to be scared...it won't frighten you in the least. But it works wonderfully as a campy, blood-splattered ode to zombie movies.
The actors completely nail their quirky characters, and the entire movie is peppered with hilarious,...
Published on June 25 2004 by Allison Mansfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Dang COOL
Some people would say that 3 stars is a harsh rating for someone that liked the movie. However, some people would also give The Green Album 5 stars. All I'm saying is, just because you liked it doesn't mean that it is one of the best movies ever made-It doesn't have to. Remember, a review board is not always a way to voice your opinion. Some people actually read it to get...
Published on Jan. 1 2004 by 123456789


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I kick ass for the Lord!", June 25 2004
By 
Allison Mansfield (North Babylon, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
This movie has it all. It has to be one of the funniest, bloodiest, most enjoyable horror movies I've ever seen. Don't go into it expecting to be scared...it won't frighten you in the least. But it works wonderfully as a campy, blood-splattered ode to zombie movies.
The actors completely nail their quirky characters, and the entire movie is peppered with hilarious, memorable lines such as "I kick ass for the Lord!" and "Your mother just ate my dog!" Not to mention the all-out gorefest which includes an unfortunate bowl of pus pudding, two love-struck zombies getting it on, and an all-out finale involving a roomful of partying zombies, one remaining human, and a lawnmower.
If you only like straight horror movies, and like to be frightened by what you watch, this movie is not for you. If you can handle buckets of gore and manage to laugh while watching it, DEFINITELY give Dead Alive a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead and/or alive, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
Currently Peter Jackson is reknowned for his fantasy movies and exceptional cult remakes. But once upon a time, he was better known for splatter-gore horror movies, like the "Dead Alive," a bizarrely hilarious movie full of zombies, rat-monkeys and messy death. Glorious!

Lionel (Timothy Balme) is a downtrodden young man, who has the unpleasant honor of caring for his nasty mum (Elizabeth Moody). Then he meets store clerk Paquita (Diana Peñalver), and the two young people fall in love. Unfortunately, during a date to the zoo, his mom follows them so she can wreck his date.

She succeeds, sort of -- she gets bitten by a Sumatran rat-monkey from Skull Island (the same one where Kong came from?) and dies. But poor Lionel can't get off that easily -- because of the bite, his mom comes back to life as a flesh-eating zombie. Soon zombies are running amok, and Lionel and Paquita must find a way to get rid of them. Can true love triumph over the undead?

Be forewarned: this movie is gross. Very disgusting. Lots of fluids and body parts, and zombies eating people in detail. And the whole movie climaxes with hundreds of zombies crashing a party, and a spectacularly gory sequence involving a, uh, lawnmower and chainsaw.

But gore alone doesn't make a movie a cult hit -- any idiot can make a zombie movie. This one is special because of Jackson's twisted sense of humor; "Shaun of the Dead" definitely owes a stylistic debt to him. How many movies do you see where a character tries to clean up the blood after Zombie Mom has lunch?

Jackson sprinkles his 1950s setting with all sorts of weird characters -- a kung-fu reverend and a Nazi vet among them. He takes every weird zombie scenario and runs with it, whether it's Lionel babysitting a hyper zombie baby or the Reverend McGruder announcing, "I kick ass for the Lord!" or "Stand back boy! This calls for some divine intervention!"

But the movie is also notable for a very touching love story, between Lionel and Paquita -- and like any good hero, Lionel has to overcome obstacles (the zombies and Mum) before they can live happily ever after. Both actors do very solid jobs, and Balme really makes us like his downtrodden mama's boy, especially once Lionel picks up that lawnmower.

"Dead Alive" is a delightfully stomach-turning ride through a town full of zombies, body parts, and those ugly little buggers from Skull Island. Although it's not for the faint of stomach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Look Out For the Lawnmower, May 18 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead-Alive [Import] (VHS Tape)
Last week I returned from a meeting to find some movies awaiting me. One of them was Dead Alive. Dead Alive is a very silly film involving unstoppable zombies and a son's devotion to his mother with a healthy splash of love story.
The movie opens on Skull Island (home of King Kong, remember?) where a trapper is trying to get out with a captured monkey. The natives do not like the idea. We are then treated to the idea that if the monkey bites you then you have the bitten area amputated.
Enter a young Latin woman whose grandmother tells her future and that she will meet the man of her dreams very shortly. That man lives with his mother, a very distasteful woman. She spies on the two at a local zoo where they have just seen the Rat Monkey, a truly ugly specimen brought to life with stop motion animation. The monkey bites the mother and the movie is really underway; like a roller coaster.
Mother becomes even meaner and uglier and dies. But she won't stay down. Neither will anyone she kills. The son tries to keep it under control but the intervention of a greedy uncle really complicates matters.
The remainder is a really silly gore fest as the son gets things back in some semblance of order and the hundred zombies are stopped with some more interesting stop motion animation.
Like I said, very silly, but if you want a horror film that makes you laugh unintentionally, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All for the Love of Zombies, March 6 2004
By 
M. Casarino (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
God bless you, Peter Jackson! After "Meet the Feebles," all is forgiven with "Dead Alive," a no-holds-barred-or-even-considered zombie flick/love story/Freudian drama/splatter-fest. I had heard so much about "Dead Alive" before I watched it that I was a little disappointed to discover that it's basically a zombie flick (the cinematic equivalent of a shoot-em-up videogame), but all disappointment fell away once I let Jackson's thoroughly corrupt and hilarious vision take over.
"Dead Alive" has your basic zombieplot (or zombie situation, I guess), but it has some wonderful twists - one, that our hero's mother, an evil, oppressive witch-with-a-capital-b, becomes essentially the head zombie, leading to a climax where our hero must face down his Freudian fears to defeat her. Two, there's a charming love story buried in all the gore. Three, Jackson finds some of the darkest, blackest slapstick humor imaginable, as his zombies - and their entrails - do that thing that they do.
And oh, the payoff! So many movies botch the big ending, but the final third of "Dead Alive" is an absolutely anarchic comic nightmare, as our heroes must defend themselves from scores of party-hungry zombies (including a zombie baby muppet - maybe a bit too much, but you can't deny Jackson his indulgences). Disgusting & corrupt? Oh, absolutely. A damned good time? You bet.
Oh, and "Dead Alive" has a satisfying answer to the eternal question: "How do you kill something that's already dead, anyway?" The logical answer: "Grind it to a pulp, that's how."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oopsy Daisy! I Slipped & Fell Into The Bloodbath!, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
WARNING: This film contains Bodily mutilations, Dismemberment, Decapitations, Impalings, Cannibalism, Electrocution, Zombie-love, Zombie-conception, Zombie-infant attack, Zombie-mom, Tranquilization, martial arts, sacrilege, and general murder and mayhem. There, you have been warned! Now, DEAD ALIVE is also one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. I laughed most of the way through, pausing only to groan or wince once in a while. You may already know the story: Sumatran (Skull Island) Rat Monkey in zoo bites old woman, causing her to turn into flesh-eating zombie. Lionel (dominated son of old woman) must try to control her and the others she's zombified, while attempting to date his new girlfriend, and keep his disgusting uncle from calling the police. The whole thing ending in an ocean of blood and innards. However, words cannot convey the reality! See it! The blood-soaked finale is a wonder to behold. The love story is sweet and oddly fitting. The characters are hilarious, especially mum, Lionel, the rotter uncle, Piquita, and the kung-Fu Priest! See- the fantastic cemetery showdown! Witness- the incredible beer bash / zombie holocaust! Watch- as humans are reduced to a zombie-buffet! Cheer- as true love triumphs! Yes, the zombie-baby is ridiculous, but I still cannot recommend this one highly enough, but heed the warnings! Heh-heh-heh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best zombie movie EVER, Feb. 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
Do not go into this movie taking it seriously at all. Leave all logic and whatever mumbo-jumbo they taught you in film classes behind.
Have you? Good. Now that you've done that, prepare for the most sickening - and enjoyable - time you'll ever have with a horror movie. Actually, this isn't so much a horror film as a comedy of camp...but fun camp at that! I hadn't laughed so hard in a long time, and thank god it was all intentional or this review would be a lot more bitter.
The plot consists of a rat monkey (formed by "rats raping tree monkeys") stolen from an island by Wellington Zoo officials (who, by the way, are licensed to carry heavy submachine guns) to their respective zoo. While a possessive mother is stalking our lead hero and his new girlfriend, she is bitten by said monkey. The monkey is thoroughly crushed under her heel, but sadly the mother soon becomes a flesh eating zombie. So what is our hero (wonderfully played by Timothy Balme) to do?
What any good son would do, take care of mum! Unfortunately, within an hour of the movie he's got a lot more on his hands: a zombie nurse, a zombie priest, and a zombie punk - all of whom enjoy their stay in Timothy's mansion watching sitcoms in the basement. The nurse and priest shag up and create a zombie baby, which only puts more hassle on our hero; he has to beat it into submission at the city park.
This continues for most of the film's 97 minute span until finally within the last fifteen minutes all hell breaks loose. I had never realized how many horrible ways there are to dismember a human being, but this movie opened my eyes to the art of puketology. It also gave me more appreciation for my lawn mower.
I won't ruin the ending (which introduces a monster that will haunt your brain and retard sleep for nights to come), but I can reassure you this movie is definately worth your watch. I would recommend it for the graveyard scene alone where the local vicar leaps into a zombie gang and declares "I kick ass for the Lord!"
And you know what's weird? This was what Peter Jackson was doing before "Lord of the Rings"......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look who is laughing now!, Jan. 7 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
A long time ago when we were all saying that this was a horror gem and that the director would go on to do bigger things but there where people who would laugh at us. Now those same people are sitting jaw-smacked in front of the big screen as Gollum walks and talks like a real living thing.
Peter Jackson has made the ultimate comedy gore movie. The concept for this genre was based on Jackson wanting nothing more than to see Pinhead from "Hellraiser" fall on his face, so he went off and made his own brand of comedy gore. The end result is nothing short of sheer madness and you just wish that more indie film-makers would be granted the capital and funds to realize what is on their mind onto the screen.
This film is sick and twisted but remarkably tongue and cheek and very funny. Here there is every gag in the book from "babies in a blender" to "granny abuse". This is as a black as humour gets but also completely outrageously funny in a Buster Keaton/Three Stooges sort of way. The scenes with the Kung-Fu priest stand out as one of the funniest horror events ever filmed. The baby abuse in the park is just plain whacked in the head and a funeral turns out in the worst possible way imaginable.
The premise is simple. Lionel's mum is a cruel woman who dominates him. When she is bitten by a "Rat-Monkey" (my god you have to hear the story behind that thing) she turns into the living dead. Lionel keeps her locked up in the cellar but all hell breaks loose during a house party that turns into one of the bloodiest and goriest scenes ever committed to colloid. The final piece with a strap-on lawnmower will blow your mind.
This looks like it got a major budget to boot too and the special effects are nothing short of what you would except from makers of Lord of the Rings. This is a very squeamish and sick movie that is not for everybody. If you can stomach the gore then you will love it. Those who prefer to keep away from severed limbs flying everywhere would do best to maybe have a few drinks before watching it. It is sicko stuff but done so brilliantly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Dang COOL, Jan. 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
Some people would say that 3 stars is a harsh rating for someone that liked the movie. However, some people would also give The Green Album 5 stars. All I'm saying is, just because you liked it doesn't mean that it is one of the best movies ever made-It doesn't have to. Remember, a review board is not always a way to voice your opinion. Some people actually read it to get information and see whether or not they should buy it.
Anyway, enough of that annoying babbly crud. I caught this one on some sci-fi channel with no commercials, so it was probably edited WAY down. I have also heard that every version but the English version are edited. But I thought it was very good, the way that it was filmed, and the way the gory scenes were executed. Fun to watch, but do not watch this for the acting, plot, or anything of that matter. This is simply an escapist gore movie. Also, very few scenes were very suspenseful or scary, nor were they meant to be.
It will blow your mind if you haven't seen any hard-core gore before. Even if you have, (which I haven't) apparently this is still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars YOU GOT THE BITE!!, Dec 28 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
As an avid fan of graphic horror, I'm delighted to say that "Dead Alive" is the biggest bloodbath ever to be filmed. This gaggle of gore is even more disgusting and vile than 1987's "Evil Dead II," which I once thought had pushed cinematic violence as far as it could go. However, once I witnessed the seemingly endless trail of amputations, cannibalism, writhing organs, and exploding heads, my jaw dropped. Of course, this film (like Evil Dead I and II), is an insane mixture of undead violence and camp comedy. However, what makes "Dead Alive" stand alone is that it's a bleeding British farce for the 90's. As a result, it can be enjoyed by any freak who collects episodes of "Monty Python's Flying Circus" and "Fawty Towers." I guarantee that "Dead Alive" will make you laugh, gag, and vomit all over your seats! Ironically, the film was directed by Peter Jackson, the same New Zealander who unleashed the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy!
"Dead Alive's" synopsis takes place somewhere in the English suburbs. A nice but timid young man named Lionel (Timothy Balme) slaves as a caretaker to his cruel, straitlaced Mother (Elizabeth Moody). Lionel is Great Britain's answer to Norman Bates, although what follows is no fault of his own. While fearful and pathetically dependent on his Mum, he starts dating a pretty Hispanic girl named Paquita (Diana Penalver), who becomes infatuated with Lionel immediately. Beforehand, Paquita was given a premonition by her fortune teller Grandmother; the old woman claimed that Paquita would be romantically involved with the man of her dreams. Unfortunately, it's later revealed that this same man is haunted by dark forces, and that he'll be surrounded by a cloud of suffering and death. Still, Paquita decides to pursue Lionel's heart. He, meanwhile, is determined to win her love despite his Mother's power over him. The next day, the two blossoming lovers take a trip to the zoo. One particular cage holds a vicious rat monkey imported from Skull Island. Soon enough, this same animal attacks and bites the arm of Lionel's Mum, who just happens to be spying on him and his new date. In a few hours, the old woman gradually turns into a zombie; while wheezing and groggy, she develops an appetite so voracious that she ends up devouring Paquita's dog! Throughout the rest of the film, Mum bites on the people around her, infecting the town with the decaying disease. Poor Lionel tries to control the situation by locking the corpses in the basement and injecting them with toxic tranqulizers. Things get even more twisted when he's blackmailed by his fat, greasy Uncle (Ian Watkin), who wants get his pudgy hands on his sister's inheritance. I don't want to bore you with any more details, but would like to mention the film's finale, when Lionel and Paquita are forced to battle a crowd of flesh-eating party guests. In perhaps the most grisly sequence in history, Lionel himself pulverizes skulls, limbs, and torsos with a lawnmower! In other gory instances, a woman is punched through the head and mouth, a man has his ribcage ripped out, a another fellow's face is torn off! If that's not horrible enough for you, a dead biker's intestines squirm across the floor, wrapping themselves around Lionel's legs like tiny snakes. Even obnoxious Uncle Les contributes to this massacre; in one example, he cuts off a zombie's head with a pair of clipping shears!
The gruesome action I just described is merely a taste of what "Dead Alive" has in store. But despite how nauseating this film is, it's also quite humorous! What other film includes an over-the-top karate match between Father McGruder (Stuart Devenie) and a rotting gang of bikers? Or how about a Terry Gilliam-style scenario in which Lionel strolls down the park with a zombie infant in a carriage? Okay, so "Dead Alive" isn't quite like "Lord of the Rings." The acting is sometimes mediocre, and Diana Penalver's artificial accent can be annoying to some. BUT SO WHAT?!! This movie still diplays a generous slew of shock and surprises. Buy the DVD when you can, kiddies. Movies like this aren't made anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, Dec 27 2003
By 
punky brewster (on the road again, usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Alive [Import] (DVD)
I really heard a lot of cool things about this flick. I became a huge pete jackson fan when lord of the rings came out, and the premise of a Zombie film directed by the New zealand fellow seemed like it would be worth checking out.
I was sorely mistaken.
The so called horror never really comes of as any kind of scary, and the supposed comic slapstick stuff is nowhere near as clever or enjoyable as evil dead 2, a frequent comparison. The gags, as they were, are really just long, drawn out scenes of shameless cartoon violence, and i was really turned off by the whole thing. The idiots who edited the US version basically butchered all of the violence, making almost the entire final twenty minutes nearly incomprehensible, or maybe it was due to the nothing-budget, i'm not really sure because it hardly ever shows much of anything.
The best way to describe this film is like putting a frog in a blender and then trying, through heavy, thick beer goggles of some sort, to watch the horrid thing spin around in juicy, revolting agony. It might come off as entertaining if you really stretch your imagination, or you have a tremendous amount of time on your hands.
in other words, avoid this one at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Alive [Import]
Dead Alive [Import] by Peter Jackson (DVD - 1998)
CDN$ 87.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews