Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "Cool"
I have read some books about flight, this is the one make me a "deep" image in my brain in each battle scene it describes. No need to say more, all flight readers or hardcore flight simulation fans can't miss it. One word to say "Cool" :-)
Published on Nov. 3 2002 by vegetalo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More about the pilots than the aircraft
A great book about F-15E pilots experience in that war. It does not however specifically tell you anything much about how the aircraft performs or how it functioned in the gulf war out side of the pilots personal accounts. If you are interested in pilots war time experience - great. If , like me, you are more interested about the aircraft itself you might want to consider...
Published on Feb. 14 2003 by Ong Tso Sheng


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars More about the pilots than the aircraft, Feb. 14 2003
By 
Ong Tso Sheng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great book about F-15E pilots experience in that war. It does not however specifically tell you anything much about how the aircraft performs or how it functioned in the gulf war out side of the pilots personal accounts. If you are interested in pilots war time experience - great. If , like me, you are more interested about the aircraft itself you might want to consider some thing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Cool", Nov. 3 2002
By 
"vegetalo" (Hong Kong China) - See all my reviews
I have read some books about flight, this is the one make me a "deep" image in my brain in each battle scene it describes. No need to say more, all flight readers or hardcore flight simulation fans can't miss it. One word to say "Cool" :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Remedial English, Aug. 16 2001
By 
As a fan of military flight sims, I looked forward to reading this book in order to enrich my understanding of modern aerial combat with the F-15E. Unfortunately, the author's ponderous, wooden narrative and puerile dialog dampened my initial enthusiasim. Though the book is filled with interesting anecdotes and insights that only a person who was actually there would know, they are squandered since the author's command of English is at the level of a grade schooler. I had to stop after only 2 chapters since I couldn't bear it, it was like being forced to watch Sesame Street. I didn't expect the Great American Novel, but the writing here was absymally poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight to the pilots and their missions, June 7 2001
When I bought this book I expected a fairly dry and technical recounting of the planes' operation in the '91 Arabian Gulf war. While there is much attention to technical details this book spends a lot of time focusing on the people that flew and supported these remarkable aircraft.
If you're a fan of the "Mud Hen" or just interested in what it was really like to fly in Gulf War give this book a look. Well written and entertaining from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with actual combat experience, Sept. 7 2000
F-15E is a qite new aircraft when Desert Storm started. It's a new star to the US and brought back a lot of foottages of precision strke day or night.
But there were stories of those pilots when they were sent to the field. How did they prepare and how did they make them ready for the battle. You also can find the conflicting of rescuing down pilots and the commander of the SAR squadren. You also can find how those pilots came back in one piece and those who didn't and what happened.
With latest information and excellent combat experience, makes this book an excellent book not only to understand the F-15E, but also the real life and death of those pilots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, April 17 1999
By A Customer
This is an unbelievably enjoying book. It really shows that the fighter pilot role is not easy. An excellent supplement to this book is the combat sim Janes F-15. As you can gain the terminology that will translate both ways. Also you will understand the F-15E's complicated radar, and the load put on the pilots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strike Eagle: A Brilliant Book, Feb. 2 1999
By A Customer
This book has brought me hours of enjoyment as I have read it three times. It is hard to get enough of the real-world action that this book delivers. I would recommend it as an addition to anyone's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for air combat enthusiast!, Dec 17 1998
Very good description of aircraft's weapons systems. It really changed my opinion of the War in the Gulf. I thought these pilots had it easy but it was a tough hard job flying these machines over extremely hazardous conditions.
A good companion for this book is the Jane's F-15E computer flight simulation. You'll have an excellent hands on experience of what it's like to fly one of the finest Air Force Jets in the inventory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book, Oct. 20 1998
By A Customer
This is one of the best military books i have read. It's details are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally realistic account of life in the Strike Eagle!, Aug. 23 1998
By A Customer
As a former F-15E WSO in the 336TFS depicted in this book, I can say with absolute confidence that this is a totally accurate account of the Strike Eagle in Desert Shield/Desert Storm. Mr. Smallwood took great pains to interview as many of us that flew the aircraft as was humanly possible and he has MORE facts than the Air Force in terms of the leadership problems and difficulties in fielding a new aircraft with new crewmember in a combat situation. This book brought back laughs, sobs and the very smell of being in the jet! He described instances that I was involved in as if he were standing there when it happened. If you ever looked at the F-15E and wondered what it would be like; read this book! It is very accurate and reflects the emotions of going off to "war" and being in combat. All of us that flew the aircraft salute Bill Smallwood for his insight and commitment to accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strike Eagle: Flying the F- in the Gulf War
Strike Eagle: Flying the F- in the Gulf War by William L. Smallwood (Paperback - Sept. 1 2005)
CDN$ 10.50 CDN$ 9.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews