Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Negotiator: 1 (O'Malley)
I started this book this morning and just finished it right now. I loved the story and how you weaved God into it was absolutely wonderful. I can't wait to find out if Jennifer beat the cancer. Thank you for this series.
Published 5 days ago by Glenda Kochany

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a bit too detailed for me
I really enjoyed this book, and read it in three days. I expected better, however, after reading high-star reviews of it. It was exciting in parts, and romantic, too. I like Kelly and Dave and the whole O'Malley family (though I haven't read the other books in the series yet). The main thing that I didn't like so much was how detailed it got into how they were trying...
Published on June 29 2002 by Growing in Grace


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Negotiator: 1 (O'Malley), July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I started this book this morning and just finished it right now. I loved the story and how you weaved God into it was absolutely wonderful. I can't wait to find out if Jennifer beat the cancer. Thank you for this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
Was a second thought grab at a book store and ended up buying whole series after reading this one. Great book. If you liked it read the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, Dec 21 2003
By 
Keegan (Spokane, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
I was very impressed w/ this book! Towards the beginning it wasnt into it so much but by the 2nd or 3rd chapter i couldnt put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Book, Nov. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
The Negotiator by Dee Henderson is about a female police negotiator that has a past she would rather forget. She was removed from her family and put in an orphanage at an early age, her and other orphans decided to adopt one another and make their own family. But when someone from her past becomes involved with a plane blowing up she gets scared. She tries to clear this person from any wrongdoing. The negotiator didn't believe in god at first but eventually she does. This author seems to bring the word of god into her writings, she writes a mystery that has a little romance and action tied into one story line. I will admit when I found out this book came out of the Christian living category I thought this is going to be a boring book, much to my surprise it isn't. This book keeps you interested and makes you want to read more to find out what is going to happen next. This book is more like something that would happen in real life although it is fiction I could see something like this really happening. I can't wait to read the next one out of the O'Malley series. I would recommend anyone that likes a suspenseful story this is a great book for them. If all of Dee Henderson's are as good as this one is then you can bet I will start reading them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - thought provoking!, Oct. 12 2003
By 
Candy Woods (Van Buren, OHIO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
I have read all of Dee's books and I absoultely love the O'Malley series. These stories are so thought provoking and "real" that you just want to "be" a part of these characters lives! The issues are so familiar and true to life that anyone could relate. These characters provoke the emotions and are to good to forget!
Keep up the great work Dee!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Book, Oct. 4 2003
By 
James M Seghers (Covington, LA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
I enjoyed the Negotiator as well as all the other books of the O'Malley series. I love Mrs. Hederson's style of writing. I found the O'Malley's close relationship with each member of their family and their unusaul background very appealing. She also has interesting twists in her plot which keeps you guessing as to what it going to happen. I strongly encourage that you read this book as well as the other books of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsively readable!, Sept. 6 2003
By 
Jo28 "jo28" (Washington State, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book! I stumbled across Danger in the Shadows by accident and enjoyed it, so I decided to go ahead and read the Negotiator. I'm so glad I did. This is truly a great book. The suspense made it a page turner, the romance was sweet, and the religious questions addressed were interesting and thought provoking.
Kate O'Malley is a no nonsense hostage negotiator who doesn't believe in relying on anyone, other than her family, the O'Malleys, and who believes God doesn't exist. How could He exist, she wonders, with all the bad that happens in our world? Then, Kate works a hostage situation and meets Dave Richman, who was introduced in Danger in the Shadows. Dave and Kate are opposites in many ways; Dave is rich and he grew up with his father in Britian, while Kate grew up in an orphanage. Dave is a patient FBI agent with a strong faith in and devotion to God.
As Dave spends time with Kate trying to protect her, his feelings grow. But their opposite views on God hold them apart. This book is excellent at examining religious issues people face as they date. Dave has feelings for Kate, but must wrestle with the fact that she is a non-believer. Meanwhile, Kate likes Dave and she respects his beliefs, but she still struggles with her questions. In the midst of it all, Kate is in danger and trying to solve a high profile case.
This book is wonderful is so many ways. There are many choices a reviewer could make to talk about in a review; the well written and suspenseful plot, the gentle romance, etc. All would make interesting discussions. I also don't think the reader has to be Christian to enjoy The Negotiator. This book will generate some great thought questions. It isn't empty entertainment by any means. And the best part is that is a clean read. Dee Henderson did an absolutely fabulous job in creating this book. It is, indeed, compulsively readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IMPRESSIVE!, Sept. 1 2003
By 
Janet Bly "author and co-author of more than ... (Winchester, ID United States, http://www.blybooks.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
A solid piece of writing from both my editor's and writer's eye sense. Couldn't believe it . . . a romance developing while trying to calm down an armed crazy man threatening hostages! Very creative! Would not have changed a single word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but...., Aug. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
It's obviously a great book but I would also recommend Faith Bishop's "Secret Babylon: Enemy of the Spirit". That book has it all, suspense, romance, vivid imagery and engaging dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery/suspense + romance + religion = The Negotiator., Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) (Paperback)
While the prequel "Danger in the Shadows" was 25% suspense and 75% romance, the first official entry in Dee Henderson's popular "O'Malley" series sees a welcome switch of the figures: 75% suspense and only 25% romance. The main plot of this mystery concerns hostage negotiator Kate O'Malley and FBI agent Dave Richman (brother of the protagonist Sara from the prequel), who together unravel the mystery involving a bank robbery crisis, a bombed aeroplane, a family member from Kate's past, and various mysterious threats against Kate's life. This suspense thriller plot dominates the novel, generating strong interest and resulting in a real page-turner. The only real weaknesses is that the solution is rather complex and at times frustratingly hard to follow, and the clues given on the first page of chapter four are enough for astute readers to figure out whodunnit, preventing them from being misled by the red herrings which rest suspicion on a different character. And the characterization isn't very deep (both Kate and Dave are rather too bold and beautiful to be believeable), but it's the storyline which really drives this book. On the whole, the main plot is immensely satisfying, and carried me from the beginning of the novel to the end.
Besides the main plot, there are three sub-plots: 1. Romance - the relationship between Kate and Dave; 2. Religion - Kate's journey to becoming a Christian; 3. Sickness - the cancer of Kate's sister, which is left hanging and not resolved at the end of this book (as well as related questions about unanswered prayer). Unlike the prequel, these sub-plots do not weigh down or detract from the main suspense. Just as with the first book, I had a few questions about the Christian elements, such as attitudes towards Sunday rest and entertainment. I was pleasantly surprised to notice that Dave at the outset did not want to get into a relationship with someone who was not a believer, although disappointingly this didn't seem to put the brakes on the way he grew closer to Kate as the novel progressed, and that he wasn't able to stay entirely true to his principles by allowing himself to fall in love with her. But unlike other Christian novelists, the focus was neither romance nor an artificial conversion story (the conversion itself wasn't very plausible, but there are certainly some interesting apologetics!). In fact, it was refreshing to see some often misunderstood Biblical truths very clearly stated: "It wasn't his job to convince her to believe. God knew best how to draw her to Him." "He is both just and merciful in equal measure." "God didn't shortchange justice to grant mercy. He paid the full price Himself." In her post word, Hendersoon remarks that the relationship between justice and mercy is one of the questions that was central in her mind as she wrote the novel: "I was curious to find out which would be more powerful - a need for justice or a need for mercy - if the dilemma became very personal. I sketched a story that let me explore the subject, and found Kate's journey through the questions fascinating." These questions were not central to the novel (they seemed to be more questions about Christ rather than the characters themselves), but they were certainly not dealt with an an unsatisfactory manner as has been the case in other Christian novels I've read. Closely related to this theme is the Bible verse that Henderson begins the novel with: "For the Son of man came to seek and to save the lost" (Luke 19:10), about which one of the characters says "Part of the mystery of salvation is that to save the lost, us, Jesus had to die in our place."
But while the theology is there, Henderson doesn't make the mistake as some other Christian novelists, and focuses mainly on the plot. And she's right in doing so, because we don't firstly pick up her book to read theology, but to read a good story. And a good story is certainly what she delivers (although not as successfully as Terri Blackstock), while reminding her readers of God's justice and mercy in Christ in the process. The good news is that Kate is merely the first of the O'Malley family, seven siblings from an orphanage who became a family by changing their name to O'Malley, and that Henderson has a book on each other member of the family. Keep 'em coming! -GODLY GADFLY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1)
The Negotiator (O'Malley Series, Book 1) by Dee Henderson (Paperback - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews