Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivian comes out of the shade
I'm surprised how many one, two and three star reviews there are on US Amazon for this excellent photo book. On any level it really can't be faulted. Blank pages in a photo book are quite common though here the confusion was probably caused by having them very close to each other and repeated as such throughout the pages. Book designers would normally space a few...
Published on Jan. 18 2012 by Robin Benson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder, she wrote...
I love Vivian Maier and admire her work that's why I bought this book. It was a total disappointment as this book does not has any fresh content. I would not recommend buying this book at all as most of her photographs 'published' in this book are already all over the internet. I also doubt that more can be published by the author(s) as a recent lawsuit claims that he...
Published 4 months ago by Da Doctor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivian comes out of the shade, Jan. 18 2012
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
I'm surprised how many one, two and three star reviews there are on US Amazon for this excellent photo book. On any level it really can't be faulted. Blank pages in a photo book are quite common though here the confusion was probably caused by having them very close to each other and repeated as such throughout the pages. Book designers would normally space a few blanks roughly evenly between all the photos. The printing by Asia Pacific is comparable to any other quality printed art book (and it costs less than quality printing in Europe or the US). The duotones use a 200 screen on a very acceptable 157gsm matt art with perfect register. The slight black/ochre feel to these photos, I thought, was a wise color choice.

As to Vivian Maier's photos, the 106 in the book are quite stunning. In particular the framing is just prefect and I think this separates her work from other well known street photographers especially those classed as the New York School who go for a more emotional style of imagery. The photos reveal everyday street scenes in Chicago and New York and work so well because they always pull you into the composition without any distractions about what to look at first. The pacing helps here too, close-up portraits merge into medium shots and then, perhaps, a long shot saturated with detail. The more I looked through these pages the more the sequencing added to the photos.

If I have a criticism it is that there is really nothing about Vivian Maier. Her named website gives some background and I think it would have been helpful to the reader to have included some of this material

John Maloof, the book's editor, is to be congratulated on finding and preserving a treasure trove of photos by an unknown photographer who had such a remarkable eye. I'm hoping this will be the first of many books revealing Ms Maier's creative vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder, she wrote..., March 24 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
I love Vivian Maier and admire her work that's why I bought this book. It was a total disappointment as this book does not has any fresh content. I would not recommend buying this book at all as most of her photographs 'published' in this book are already all over the internet. I also doubt that more can be published by the author(s) as a recent lawsuit claims that he does not has copyrights yet he is benefiting a lot by selling her work "commercially". Lawsuit also claims that Vivian Maier has another living heir at France and anyone selling her work commercially is in violation of copyright laws.
On a side note, I do believe that her work should be in the public domain and the US Government agencies and State of Illinois should investigate how and why this poor Jewish lady died. While she had head injuries and still alive, why her life's worth were auctioned-off?? She deserves justice.
(Please read the flickr thread and it's interesting to know that one other photgrapher who bought her negatives as well, got "hit" by a car as well and he was forced to sell them)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great find!, June 11 2013
By 
A. Richard "A. Richard" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
I first discovered Vivian Maier's photography before the book was publish from an Facebook link. At first I wanted to purchase on original print, but when I contacted the future author of the book John Maloof, the price range was out of what I could afford. Maloof acquired the full catalogue of her life's work the then unknown photographer at an auction sale after her death. When I saw the book in print, I purchased it immediately and got a first edition. It is captivating and compelling survey of street photography echoing a slice of reality during the mid 20th century. A GEM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic catalog of Vivian Maier's work despite her modesty as a person throughout her lifetime. She hid away very nicely as a nanny and was able to capture stunning shots of NYC. I am extremely intrigued by the social commentary developed in these images.

Highly recommend for the photography book collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
I feel so privileged to view these photos and am forever.grateful that they have been published for everyone to see.
They are amazing works of.art, and Vivian Maijer has captured three decades of urban Americana unbenownst to the subjects.
This is a book I will visit over and.over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
Excellent book, beautiful pictures.
Would recommend for everybody owning a camera.
At this low price everybody should own it to see street photography at its greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Eye, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
Great images. Unfortunate that Vivian is not around and no one nows her in relation to her body of work. Maybe it's best that way, let the images speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative lady., July 27 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
Interesting what you see in her photography as each image has a story you can imagine.
Good choice of images considering she took so many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book Honouring A Great Photographer, June 24 2013
By 
Costa Maragos (Regina, Sask. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
Wonderful book honouring a wonderful photographer. This is definitely worth a look if you enjoy photog books. Thank you and all the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 20 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier: Street Photographer (Hardcover)
Excellent, finding her stash was a huge asset to photographers everywhere and well presented in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivian Maier: Street Photographer
Vivian Maier: Street Photographer by Vivian Maier (Hardcover - Nov. 16 2011)
CDN$ 46.00 CDN$ 29.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews