Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a city boy preparing to escape from zombie hoards
I bought this book to learn survival techniques to prepare for the impending Zombie Apocalypse. My plan is to head to the woods to avoid the hoards. Since I'm a city slicker, I don't know much about building shelters or purifying water etc. This book covers every topic in enough detail to understand the concepts clearly while still keeping it simple and quick to learn...
Published on July 4 2011 by Bdot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars buy the SAS survival hand book over this
there is a good amount of info however the print leaves something to be desired. The size of the book means that you need a table to read it too large to sit and read or travel with. The Sas by John Wiseman has the same info aside from more detail on navigating by stars however you can take the SAS book with you this book is far too big.
Published 14 months ago by James Couch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a city boy preparing to escape from zombie hoards, July 4 2011
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
I bought this book to learn survival techniques to prepare for the impending Zombie Apocalypse. My plan is to head to the woods to avoid the hoards. Since I'm a city slicker, I don't know much about building shelters or purifying water etc. This book covers every topic in enough detail to understand the concepts clearly while still keeping it simple and quick to learn. The illustrations are engaging like old field manuals. The book is large, too large to carry in a backpack but not large enough to knock down a zombie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE, April 27 2011
By 
allstar7128 (Northern Ontario and Manitoba) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
this book has almost to much knowledge, and is made in a way that a non experienced person could understand, some things are almost to simple said. this book covers the most amount of detail and topics for survival and bush-craft, anything and everything is in here. downside the book is physically huge. its by far the largest book i have for survival, you would not be able to pack this with you. should have went with more pages not big pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survival Wisdom & Know-how, Aug. 2 2011
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
When the book arrived, I thought it would be slightly larger than the normal reading book, but this was absolutely HUGE! Too big to take in a back pack. However, the information in there is amazing. Tons of real good tips and show-you's how to make things work in a difficult situation. Well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 18 2013
By 
Lisa E (Squamish, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
This should be a standard in everyone's home. It's a real back to basic's book which is great for camping and/or preparing for any potential natural disasters. Plus there is a lot of great information that we in the 21st century really do not know how to do anymore and we really should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Information - GIANT BOOK, March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
When I read the reviews about how big the book was, I didn't realize that it meant the book is actually GINORMOUS. Not really thick as it is wide, like a big newspaper sized thing. The paper in it as well reminds me of a newspaper. I suppose it could be a bit better quality, but it's fine, considering how much useful information comes inside it! In my opinion, everyone should have a survival book of some kind in their possession. I wouldn't have chosen this one, just because of the sheer size of it, (I don't know if it will fit into a backpack) but it makes up for it with how much information is in it. I haven't read through the entire thing, but I recommend it to everyone, just because it is about survival skills and know-how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars buy the SAS survival hand book over this, Feb. 3 2013
By 
James Couch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
there is a good amount of info however the print leaves something to be desired. The size of the book means that you need a table to read it too large to sit and read or travel with. The Sas by John Wiseman has the same info aside from more detail on navigating by stars however you can take the SAS book with you this book is far too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
Lots of information in this book. The only downside is that you can't really carry it around with you to read, because it's huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packed with info, Sept. 30 2010
By 
Craig Heinrich (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness (Paperback)
There is literally so much in this book, that I have only just scratched the surface in terms of reading it.

there are lots of excellent tips and diagrams too.
The only draw backs are that the size of the book is HUGE, So you would never want to take this out in the bush with you. Also if you already own the Country Living wisdom and Know How book, then you already have more than half of the information in this book. Both are very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb058484c)

This product

Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness
Survival Wisdom & Know How: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive in the Wilderness by The Editors of Stackpole Books (Paperback - Oct. 1 2007)
CDN$ 25.95 CDN$ 16.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews