Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Work of Knowledge and Soul
I loved every page of this book. The author is extremely knowledgeable. The book is artfully done and so varied with valuable formulations, history, sources, and much more. This is unlike the multitudes of aromatherpy books I have read. Included for the reader are the latest researched remedies and formulations from "Herpes Formula" to one of my favorites,...
Published on Feb. 11 2000 by Monica Hall, founder of Plantl...

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing; poor safety information, illogical methods!
I had looked forward to this book. However, I consider the book a waste of money. The [book] ignores current safety information, and gives very inaccurate and wasteful lessons on perfume blending. Save your money for any one of a dozen better guides.
Published on Nov. 19 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Work of Knowledge and Soul, Feb. 11 2000
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
I loved every page of this book. The author is extremely knowledgeable. The book is artfully done and so varied with valuable formulations, history, sources, and much more. This is unlike the multitudes of aromatherpy books I have read. Included for the reader are the latest researched remedies and formulations from "Herpes Formula" to one of my favorites, "Thigh Flab Lotion". The chapters are interesting, well written and entertaining. This is not only a valuable reference book but also a book that is suited for the beginner and the professional. I especially enjoyed the Natural Perfumery chapter where she includes formulas for the classics. I made Shalimar, by Guerlain and Chloe, by Karl Lagerfeld and they really worked. There is truly something for everyone contained in these pages. She even included a complete and glossary and index. AN EXCELLENT BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written with Intelligence and verve, Feb. 10 2000
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
I was amazed at the warmth and depth of knowledge this book has. I have read it and enjoyed it a lot and I wanted to share with others this review from England "What a relief it is to read a book written by someone with so much good stuff to say." This is a quote from Robert Tisserand author of "The Art of Aromatherapy" and "Essential Oil Safety a Guide for Health Care Professionals" printed in the International Journal of Aromatherapy vol 9 #3 Tisserand goes on to say The Fifteen chapters include Safety Guidelines, Carrier Oils, Creating Blends, Aromatherapy and Ayurveda and an A-Z section with some 125 essential oils. These, along with the other ten chapters is laid out in a two colour text in a reader friendly fashion, and it is easy to dip into. Masses of useful practical information written with intelligence and verve. I recommend this book to all my friends and students as very helpful and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bursting with information, Feb. 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
I'm delighted with Victoria Edward's Aromatherapy Companion. The book is bursting with usable information. Along with an extensive list of essential oils, their properties and applications, and a close look at carrier oils and the opportunities they present, the book contains a simple introduction to the complex subject of aromachemistry and a rationally presented discussion of safety and toxicity, along with scads of recipes and activities with which to "get one's feet wet." But that's just half the book. Then there's the wealth of lore, history, mythology, personal anecdote and modern mystic interpretation that brilliantly addresses the appeal of aromatherapy to the creative and artistic instinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Work of Knowledge and Soul, Feb. 11 2000
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
I loved every page of this book. The author is extremely knowledgeable. The book is artfully done and so varied with valuable formulations, history, sources, and much more. This is unlike the multitudes of aromatherpy books I have read. Included for the reader are the latest researched remedies and formulations from "Herpes Formula" to one of my favorites, "Thigh Flab Lotion". The chapters are interesting, well written and entertaining. This is not only a valuable reference book but also a book that is suited for the beginner and the professional. I especially enjoyed the Natural Perfumery chapter where she includes formulas for the classics. I made Shalimar, by Guerlain and Chloe, by Karl Lagerfeld and they really worked. There is truly something for everyone contained in these pages. She even included a complete and glossary and index. AN EXCELLENT BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Knowledge Returns., Feb. 18 2000
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
Have you ever wondered where all the information that was acquired by people living on this planet for 1000's of years went? And why we seem so impoverished by our loss? This book was written by a woman who is helping to reclaim our misplaced heritage by teaching us to care for ourselves and others with the essences of the earth. Victoria Edwards has hands on experience with the essential oil palette from the usual to the exotic and reveals many different ways to use and experience the benefits of aromatherapy. A thorough and pracitcal guide to teaching yourself how to respond to the myriad of life's challenges. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of Information, Nov. 29 2008
By 
Barbara "Nature Lover" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
This book doesn't have the wow of colour photographs but it makes up for it with the shear volume of information presented. All aspects of aromatherapy are covered including a bit of the history of aromatherapy, how oils are extracted, a brief excerpt on the different oils and how they react, a whole chapter on Safety & Toxicity Guidelines - along with sidebars in the margins on oils that are NOT safe to use. There's a section on carrier oils and then we get to recipes for blends of oils as well as recipes for skin care products. There's even information on reflexology. This book is an excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Memories, March 15 2000
By 
Donovan L. Harmon (Mendocino, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
Having had the opportunity to study personally with Victoria Edwards, the author of this lovely compilation of ancient wisdom concerning Aromatherapy, I am greatful for the organization of the information in her book. In studying with Victoria I can vouch for her life-long devotion to the study, practice and teaching of Aromatherapy but it was, at times, difficult to tell where in the forest we were in the study as we delved deeply into the various facets of this discipline. Her book conveys the esoteric aspects of Aromatherapy while organizing it in a comprehensive manner so that one also attains a sense of history of this important healing art as well as a sense of direction and orientation during your study. A must on the shelf of any serious devotee of Aromatherapy yet written clearly and concisely providing an excellent manual for the beginner as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book by An Aromatherapy Pioneer, Feb. 14 2000
By 
Joan K. Loughran (Sonoma County, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
We have long-awaited a book by Victoria Edwards, one of the founders of the first aromatherapy association in this country. The book is a treasure and a good representation of Victoria's vast knowledge and artistic perspective of this healing art. The broad range of topics, fun recipes, and easy-to-understand format makes this a very valuable book to the world of aromatherapy for both the novice and the veteran. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE AROMATHERAPY COMPANION, Feb. 17 2000
By 
Bobbe Allender (Black Mountain North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
As the owner of a natural products store which features aromatherapy as a true focal point, I recommend TAC to all customers seeking an introduction to the topic, advanced customers seeking blending ideas and information, and students ready to expand their aromatherapy knowledge base. It is well written, accurate and easy to explore and understand. It is our hottest aromatherapy title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing; poor safety information, illogical methods!, Nov. 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aromatherapy Companion: Medicinal Uses/Ayurvedic Healing/Body-Care Blends/Perfumes & Scents/Emotional Health & Well-Being (Paperback)
I had looked forward to this book. However, I consider the book a waste of money. The [book] ignores current safety information, and gives very inaccurate and wasteful lessons on perfume blending. Save your money for any one of a dozen better guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews