Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughing out loud, and knitting "recipes" too!, Aug. 25 2007
By 
Linda Bulger (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
This book begs to be read out loud, and mine certainly was -- to anyone who would listen! If you think you might be a bit crazy about your knitting and your stash, welcome to Stephanie Pearl-McPhee's world. The text rollicks along and makes you realize that crazy's OK, in fact it's fine.

If you are a knitter used to following patterns, the sock and hat "recipes" will help you to listen when your knitting speaks to you. Entertaining but practical -- a must-have for anyone who loves books and knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My go-to knitting manual when travelling!, April 13 2010
By 
Pam (in Toronto) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
My "Knitting Rules" book was my constant companion at the beach, the pool and on the airplane this past March vacation. Thanks to Stephanie's recipe for socks, I was able to knit a pair of pedicure socks (so important to own in Canada when preparing for a sunny vacation!)as well as a pair of socks with toes! I read and re-read chapters and chortled out loud...and had to share it with ladies at the pool! A wonderful gift for knitters and non-knitters. Now I am off to Staples to have it wire-bound before it falls apart...too much suntan lotion and wind, I guess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rate Laughs for All Knitters, March 9 2009
By 
Barbara "Nature Lover" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
This book is entertaining, fun and encouraging as Stephanie reveals her knitting triumphs, mistakes and misadventures. Anyone who knits or has ever had to rip back a few rows will enjoy this book immensely.

Not only do you laugh along with Stephanie's quips, knitting adventures, and stories, she also gives great advice to knitters on how to deal with knitting problems, patterns, tips and tricks, etc. as well as knitting recipes, and my favourite - suggestions on how to deal with the stash.

I laughed along with this book and I have bought her other books too. You can follow along by reading her highly entertaining blog at [...]

Here are some of her other books: At Knit's End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much, Free-range knitter: The yarn harlot writes again, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off: The Yarn Harlot's Guide to the Land of Knitting, Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a KnitterThings I Learned From Knitting (Whether I Wanted To or Not)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Recipe of Laughs, Aug. 6 2008
By 
Brandi (North Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
The Yarn Harlot has a quirky and fun sense of humor. The book has "10 Reasons To/Not To" with all of her recipes. Reasons, of course, that have you both laughing and inspired to attempt her fun and easy "recipes". This book also makes a great gift for aspiring knitters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Yarn Harlot Book, Jan. 24 2008
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
While I quite enjoy reading Stephanie's essays what I really like about this book is all of her "recipes". I have referred to it many times for sizing and ideas. And, of course, some laughter when the knitting goes so bad you are considering a small bonfire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Goddess of Knitting Humour, March 6 2008
By 
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Stephanie has written yet another book that is both entertaining and helpful. This LOL book is a must for anyone who loves knitting! Beginners and advanced knitters will all get something from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, May 30 2013
I bought this book having just learned how to knit, and since then it has been a go to reference for just about everything, including trying to explain knitting to muggles, keep up the fantastic work Stephanie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Yarn Harlot, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Eminently readable; humourous; well-planned, this book is for any level knitter, want-to-be knitter, or any person desiring to know why knitting is so much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, March 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Item was exactly as described. Great price, perfect condition, super-fast shipping. I would definitely buy from this seller again. The book itself is classic Stephanie Pearl MacPhee - funny,charming, and full of useful tips -- kind of like the author herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting Rules! and so does this book!, Feb. 19 2010
By 
Tamara Stuart "T. Lane" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book! It is very funy and captivating throughout! A great reference book for beginner knitters or even experienced ones all around. I would highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks
Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (Paperback - March 1 2006)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 12.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews