Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughing out loud, and knitting "recipes" too!, Aug. 25 2007
By 
Linda Bulger (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
This book begs to be read out loud, and mine certainly was -- to anyone who would listen! If you think you might be a bit crazy about your knitting and your stash, welcome to Stephanie Pearl-McPhee's world. The text rollicks along and makes you realize that crazy's OK, in fact it's fine.

If you are a knitter used to following patterns, the sock and hat "recipes" will help you to listen when your knitting speaks to you. Entertaining but practical -- a must-have for anyone who loves books and knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, May 30 2013
I bought this book having just learned how to knit, and since then it has been a go to reference for just about everything, including trying to explain knitting to muggles, keep up the fantastic work Stephanie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Yarn Harlot, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Eminently readable; humourous; well-planned, this book is for any level knitter, want-to-be knitter, or any person desiring to know why knitting is so much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, March 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Item was exactly as described. Great price, perfect condition, super-fast shipping. I would definitely buy from this seller again. The book itself is classic Stephanie Pearl MacPhee - funny,charming, and full of useful tips -- kind of like the author herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Loved it! Funny, and full of useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good quick read you'll want to keep around, Nov. 13 2006
By 
Leslie Lewis (Canmore, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, the web's "Yarn Harlot", has written another amusing and helpful book for knitters. If you're at all serious about knitting, or wondering if you should become serious about knitting, get it. But make sure you find space for the yarn stash you'll feel liberated to create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My go-to knitting manual when travelling!, April 13 2010
By 
Pam (in Toronto) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
My "Knitting Rules" book was my constant companion at the beach, the pool and on the airplane this past March vacation. Thanks to Stephanie's recipe for socks, I was able to knit a pair of pedicure socks (so important to own in Canada when preparing for a sunny vacation!)as well as a pair of socks with toes! I read and re-read chapters and chortled out loud...and had to share it with ladies at the pool! A wonderful gift for knitters and non-knitters. Now I am off to Staples to have it wire-bound before it falls apart...too much suntan lotion and wind, I guess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars knitting rules ... yep, Feb. 4 2007
By 
E. M. Bradshaw (yukon canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
knitting rules is pretty great - funny but also has "recipes" for hats, socks, sweaters [rather than detailed patterns which you really don't need for such simple essential knits] and basic measurements to go by ie a toddler's head is typically xx inches

its fun to read with lots of witty lists and ways to justify your growing stash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars relax, it's all good, Nov. 30 2011
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
Stephanie has this way of saying things that makes you laugh and relax. We don't have to knit, but we want to. Therefore you should enjoy your time knitting, not fretting and getting frustrated about it. She includes knitting instructions and ideas to cover most basic projects that you may want to try out. She let me get over my fear of sock knitting with this little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just one more thing..., Sept. 27 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks (Paperback)
I would agree with all the reviews written before mine, but with one more thing to add: The punctuation in "Knitting Rules" is perfection. I haven't had to re-read a sentence once because I didn't understand what was being conveyed. "Knitting Rules" is a must-have for any knitter's library, young or old, novice or expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks
Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (Paperback - March 1 2006)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 12.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews