Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No other way to train
As far as I am concerned, there is no other way to raise and train a dog. Hopefully you don't own a shock, choke, pinch or prong collar, but if you do, throw it away and order this book! This gentle, effective training method concerns the whole dog, not just a behaviour issue! I've trained all my dogs this way and I own two obedience (yes obd trials without aversive...
Published on Jan. 16 2004 by Yoko

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'd pay much to see Letterman or Lenno interview the author!
Wow. The sample pages didn't let me know what to expect. Less than 1/2 of this book is devoted to dog training. The rest is like this excerpt, which you won't see in the online sample pages:
(p. 22) "There is a perfect moment for carrots to be pulled from the ground and eaten -- the perfect moment of optimum health-giving properties. But what if you can't pick and...
Published on Jan. 26 2002 by J. Tate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS BEFORE YOU BUY YOUR PUPPY, May 9 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
Helpful, insightful & informative, this easy to read book is a must before embarking on a dog training program. Understand just how much damage you could be doing to your canine friend by jerking on his lead & losing your temper. This might not be the bible for a caring dog training program, but it comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique approach, Feb. 2 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
I appreciated the detailed explanation of what it takes to learn something - many repetitions plus variable rewards and why that works; also how to tell when you should move on. It was nice to go from a broad overview of all the components of the dogs life, food, schedule, etc. to the specific training details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Great, Nov. 23 2001
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
If you are totally frustrated with trying to find a compassionate yet effective way to train your dog, this is the book for you. I learned so much about my dog and how to train him while making it fun for both of us. I highly recommend this book. "The Dog Whisperer" was a Godsend for me and Rocky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Background needed..., July 6 2002
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
A. Neder from California said that the book recommends ignoring bad behavior. There's more to it than that. A little background in operant conditioning, like the book Don't Shoot The Dog by Karen Pryor can help. It's not that you allow bad behavior and allow it to continue. You instead learn how not to reinforce bad behavior. Sometimes you can do this by ignoring it. Sometimes other steps must be taken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best dog training book EVER!, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
Regardless of what others might say, it IS possible to train your dog well AND be completely compassionate. I absolutely love this book. My dog and I are very happy I read it - it is a priceless resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars advice can be used for any size of dog but ..., Aug. 3 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
advice can be used for any size of dog but compared to other books I found it very helpful with my large breed pup and dogs. realistic advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A library must have, May 22 2004
By 
Lynn Sparling (PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training (Paperback)
I love this book- and call it a mandatory for those
who really want a well-behaved dog... stress free.
Buy it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dog Whisperer: A Compassionate, Nonviolent Approach to Dog Training
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews