Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This book will make you want to become a novelist. ( ;, May 22 2014
(And if you don’t already have sympathy for screenwriters try reading Neil Gaiman’s “The Gold Fish Pond” or David Morrell’s “The Successful Novelist.”)

The book points out that there’s a greater chance of winning the lottery than selling a screenplay, but—if you have drive and talent—following the honest and generous advice in this book can only stack the odds in your favor.

I am not a screenwriter (even though I won five dollars on a scratch and win ticket once)—but want to learn all I can from all kinds of writers and all kinds of books.

It’s well organized by topic and can be re-read in doses as needed. It claims to not be a writing craft book—but it’s that and more. Anyone with a story to tell should find value in this book. Or at least be inspired.

One of my favorite quotes is from the chapter on rewriting:

“An art teacher once taught me to hold a painting up to a mirror to see its hidden flaws. But there is no equivalent to that in writing. If you hold up your script to a mirror, it’s just backwards! The only way to get that perspective is time away from the material. So the trick in rewriting is to get away from it for as long as you can.” — Steven DeSouza
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Helping Hand, July 5 2004
By 
T. Hooper "thdizzy" (Osaka, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
Are you thinking of writing a screenplay? Then you could use the advice in this book. First of all, this is not a how-to book. It doesn't show you how to develop characters, or structure a story, or tell you how to write. What it does give you is information on the daily life and habits of professional screenwriters. One of the most important pieces of advice is to just write. Too often, a beginning screenwriter will spend years to write one script and then shop it around. This is a big mistake for several reasons. A movie producer is looking for someone who can work reliably at speed. If you've only written one script, they're going to be suspicious about your abilities. Another thing is that producers are very busy, so if you get one of them to finally read your script, it's going to be the first and last chance. Do you really want to show him your first script? It's trash to him. Would you send your first painting to an art gallery? Of course not, so you shouldn't do the same with screenwriting. You should have written 5 to 10 screenplays before you think of showing your work around. Most aspiring screenwriters don't want to put in this work, and it shows. If you write, you will get better. If you love writing, and you can apply yourself to your writing, then you can have a chance to work in Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 top screenwriters become your mentors, Nov. 8 2001
By 
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
How would you like to have Ron Bass share his outlining process? or Eric Roth give you advice on how to make readers feel powerful emotions on the page? Or Nicholas Kazan reveal how he tackles the blank page? How about 14 highly successful writers all in one place? This is a gem of a book and the roster of writers Karl Iglesias has gathered for this book is impressive: Ron Bass, Eric Roth, Akiva Goldsman, Ed Solomon, Nicholas Kazan, Leslie Dixon, Scott Rosenberg, Gerald DiPego, Steven DeSouza, Tom Schulman, Michael Schiffer, Amy Holden Jones, Robin Swicord, and Jim Kouf. What's also impressive, and unique in my opinion, is that Mr. Iglesias has structured the book by topic, rather than by individual interview, which feels more like a symposium of habits, skills, invaluable advice, each outlined separately with comments from the panel of experts.
I highly recommend this book to any aspiring writer and all who are interested in the craft of writing for the screen. Having million-dollar screenwriter Ron Bass discuss his outlining process alone is worth more than the price of the book. Forget about shelling out $300 for a screenwriting seminar and go directly to the source: those who are doing it successfully and have agreed to share their wisdom with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Reading for any Screenwriter!, June 11 2004
By 
C. Drews (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
I recommend this book to anyone wanting to get into this cutthroat industry. I learned the most from Ron Bass and Eric Roth. They have great insights within the book and I respect their work. The portion about acquiring an agent and outlining your script were particularly helpful to me. This is going into my amazing pile, next to "The Writers Journey" and "Immediate Fiction". 5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading for process, March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
This book is without a doubt an interesting read. As one who already writes (though not necessarily or exclusively screenplays), I like it because it illustrates beautifully how every writer's process, goals, and priorities are different and equally valid because it works for that individual writer. This is a far cry from the endless and often contradictory "must-do's" in other writing books. What you find in this book is the amazing diversity of how writers write. I've seen similar books that interview novelists but this is far more entertaining, better organized and is chunked in digestable pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth and Real, Feb. 9 2004
By 
C. Dennett "whachyagot" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
A lot of screenwriting books out there can be great sources on what to do and what not to do while writing a screenplay. This book is not like those...it's better. It's like sitting down with a handful of screenwriters and disscussing the process from start to finish. This is advice and multiple views on many of the essential parts of screenwiriting straight from the horses mouth. This is a book that can jump start you if you fall behind and give you what you need to make it through your screenplay. This is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 21 2004
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
Packed with advice from some of the top writers working in the biz today. Great questions, great answers. I read this book over & over again, whenever I'm stuck, dipping into the appropriate section. Great book. Thanks, Karl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
Different than other books on Screenwriting. After you've figured out the mechanics, this book will help inspire you to do the work -- which I think is the hardest part!! Thanks to Karl Iglesias for this gift to writer wannabees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeping the fire lit., June 23 2003
By 
J. Foley (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
There are dozens of books with advice on how to write a screenplay ranging from great advice to blueprints for the humdrum. There aren't enough good books to keep you doing what you need to do to succeed. Yglesias method makes this a good book to dip into. And he doesn't hide contradictory opinions.
Better than coffee whether you need a lift on a day when your working or a kick in the keister on a day when you aren't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best of the best., Feb. 12 2003
By 
M. Stark (Edmonton, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers (Paperback)
I stumbled across this book and browsed through several pages, and being the cynic, expected another boring, recycled screenwriting book. It wasn't until I took it home that I began to fully appreciate what a gem of a book it really is. It reinforced many of the best ideas found in other books and also presented new information.
There are many authors out there that are getting fat feeding off the millions of aspiring screenwriters with books that are stale, mistaken and formulaic. 101 Habits is a refreshing and honest book that belongs in its own category for excellence and quality. It will transform the way you approach your craft and the business side of the game. In many ways it is really several screenwriting books edited down into one masterpiece, with most of the information coming straight from the mouths of working screenwriters.
Thank you for your fine effort Mr. Iglesias. Please write another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 101 Habits Of Highly Successful Screenwriters: Insider's Secrets from Hollywood's Top Writers
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews