Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but material is duplicated in another of her books...
This is an excellent book... IF you don't already own "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink" by Claudia Nice. The material in this book is entirely duplicated in the "Painting with..." except for the last chaper called "Fur and Feathers". Please do not buy this book if you already own a copy of "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and...
Published on June 6 2004 by a customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected or wanted
A better title would have been, "Creating Textures in Pen & Ink, Enhanced with Watercolor." 75% of each texture comes down to "make a detailed ink drawing". The other 25% is enhancing that ink drawing with watercolor. The pen & ink predominates everywhere. If this is the style of drawing you desire (e.g., detailed drawings where pen&ink...
Published on Feb. 27 2004 by Margaret P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but material is duplicated in another of her books..., June 6 2004
This is an excellent book... IF you don't already own "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink" by Claudia Nice. The material in this book is entirely duplicated in the "Painting with..." except for the last chaper called "Fur and Feathers". Please do not buy this book if you already own a copy of "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink". I did and was disappointed that there was only one chapter of new material in this book.
Now, if you own the other book "Painting Nature in Pen & Ink with Watercolor" then I highly recommend this book as it has subject matter that was not covered in the "Painting Nature..." book.
If you don't own any of her books, then buy the "Painting with Watercolor Pen and Ink" ISBN 158180265X because it completely combines the material in both "Creating Textures..." and "Painting Nature..." books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful step-by-step instructions, great illustraions, May 1 2000
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in pen & ink drawing. Instead of trying to explain techniques in detailed text, it shows you step by step with color illustrations. It is written for all levels & the instructions are easy to follow.
There is information on types of lines, value and contrast. A wide variety of techniques are also covered. These include, dry surface, damp surface, wet on wet, spatter, blotting, impression, stamping and salt & alcohol.
It shows how to draw & paint metallic objects (gold, silver, iron, rust), baskets, pottery, brick, stone, marble, granite, textiles, clouds, weather, earth textures, rocks, wood, trees, leaves, foliage, flowers, fruit, & eggs.
Another section includes instruction on drawing transparent objects such as glass, eyes and many varieties of water. There is also a section on animals covering butterflies, animal hair, scales & feathers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Are Into Detail and Realism, This Book is for You!, April 29 2000
I bought this book when I was just beginning watercolor. The book is awesome to look at, but a bit on the overwhelming side for someone just beginning watercolor. However, the contents of the book is well worth the investment.
I had experience in the distant past with pen & ink and was fascinated at the way that Mrs. Nice put the two mediums together for very realistic pictures.
There are pages with many illustrations of examples of textures in each medium, and many contrasting examples of textures using the same object so that you can easily compare the different effects of each technique. I find these pages invaluable and something that I refer to over and over. These reference pages are worth the price of the book.
However, once you get past these pages, there are breathtaking examples with many notes listing colors used and information useful for duplicating the same texture. The topics range from natural subjects, to man-made subjects, such as marbles, glass, rusted metal, and blue jeans!
Also of great interest to me is the small section of eyes from both man and animal.
This book is a treasure trove of information for anyone interested in capturing realistic textures of almost anything. It is a book that you will not only gaze at for fun, but also refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected or wanted, Feb. 27 2004
A better title would have been, "Creating Textures in Pen & Ink, Enhanced with Watercolor." 75% of each texture comes down to "make a detailed ink drawing". The other 25% is enhancing that ink drawing with watercolor. The pen & ink predominates everywhere. If this is the style of drawing you desire (e.g., detailed drawings where pen&ink predominates), then you will probably give this book 4 to 5 stars. I was looking for watercolor texture techniques and was disapointed.
With that said, the drawings are very well executed and the instruction quality moderate. The author relies too heavily on step-by-step examples as a teaching tool. The addition of color greatly enhances the pen & ink drawings, with spectacular results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claudia Nice, March 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
Hi: This is our second book by Claudia Nice added to our library. Enjoyed her fresh ideas and techniques. This appealed to the painter in our home and was well received.
Regards, Robert Watson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great explanations and illustrations, I was very impressed. I will purchase this book again in paper format because it was so well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of information, Feb. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
The information was well presented, easy to follow instructions.
A good variety of subjects from flowers to animals and birds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beginner's dream, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
I have just begun to delve into the art world of Pen and Ink drawing. Claudia Nice is a superb teacher. Her book is easy to read and the instructions are clear, precise and easy to read. I would highly recommend this book to beginners and seasoned artists alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Oct. 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
This is a really great how to book for this genre. Highly recommended. Takes me back to my college days when more of these technique books seem to have existed...scratch that...it was published not too long afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creating Textures in Pen & Ink and watercolor, June 18 2010
By 
Karen F. Morrison "nsmorrart" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
Very interesting book, very well laid out and helpful. I borrowed the book from the library first and liked it so much I decided I had to own it. It was helpful to me as I was just experimenting with pen & ink with the watercolors I'd been using. The book goes into great detail about ways to use pen & ink effectively. Great illustrations too! I'm really glad I purchased it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor
Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor by Claudia Nice (Paperback - Jan. 29 2005)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 16.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews