Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but material is duplicated in another of her books...
This is an excellent book... IF you don't already own "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink" by Claudia Nice. The material in this book is entirely duplicated in the "Painting with..." except for the last chaper called "Fur and Feathers". Please do not buy this book if you already own a copy of "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and...
Published on June 6 2004 by a customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected or wanted
A better title would have been, "Creating Textures in Pen & Ink, Enhanced with Watercolor." 75% of each texture comes down to "make a detailed ink drawing". The other 25% is enhancing that ink drawing with watercolor. The pen & ink predominates everywhere. If this is the style of drawing you desire (e.g., detailed drawings where pen&ink...
Published on Feb. 27 2004 by Margaret P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but material is duplicated in another of her books..., June 6 2004
This is an excellent book... IF you don't already own "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink" by Claudia Nice. The material in this book is entirely duplicated in the "Painting with..." except for the last chaper called "Fur and Feathers". Please do not buy this book if you already own a copy of "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink". I did and was disappointed that there was only one chapter of new material in this book.
Now, if you own the other book "Painting Nature in Pen & Ink with Watercolor" then I highly recommend this book as it has subject matter that was not covered in the "Painting Nature..." book.
If you don't own any of her books, then buy the "Painting with Watercolor Pen and Ink" ISBN 158180265X because it completely combines the material in both "Creating Textures..." and "Painting Nature..." books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Are Into Detail and Realism, This Book is for You!, April 29 2000
I bought this book when I was just beginning watercolor. The book is awesome to look at, but a bit on the overwhelming side for someone just beginning watercolor. However, the contents of the book is well worth the investment.
I had experience in the distant past with pen & ink and was fascinated at the way that Mrs. Nice put the two mediums together for very realistic pictures.
There are pages with many illustrations of examples of textures in each medium, and many contrasting examples of textures using the same object so that you can easily compare the different effects of each technique. I find these pages invaluable and something that I refer to over and over. These reference pages are worth the price of the book.
However, once you get past these pages, there are breathtaking examples with many notes listing colors used and information useful for duplicating the same texture. The topics range from natural subjects, to man-made subjects, such as marbles, glass, rusted metal, and blue jeans!
Also of great interest to me is the small section of eyes from both man and animal.
This book is a treasure trove of information for anyone interested in capturing realistic textures of almost anything. It is a book that you will not only gaze at for fun, but also refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful step-by-step instructions, great illustraions, May 1 2000
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in pen & ink drawing. Instead of trying to explain techniques in detailed text, it shows you step by step with color illustrations. It is written for all levels & the instructions are easy to follow.
There is information on types of lines, value and contrast. A wide variety of techniques are also covered. These include, dry surface, damp surface, wet on wet, spatter, blotting, impression, stamping and salt & alcohol.
It shows how to draw & paint metallic objects (gold, silver, iron, rust), baskets, pottery, brick, stone, marble, granite, textiles, clouds, weather, earth textures, rocks, wood, trees, leaves, foliage, flowers, fruit, & eggs.
Another section includes instruction on drawing transparent objects such as glass, eyes and many varieties of water. There is also a section on animals covering butterflies, animal hair, scales & feathers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected or wanted, Feb. 27 2004
A better title would have been, "Creating Textures in Pen & Ink, Enhanced with Watercolor." 75% of each texture comes down to "make a detailed ink drawing". The other 25% is enhancing that ink drawing with watercolor. The pen & ink predominates everywhere. If this is the style of drawing you desire (e.g., detailed drawings where pen&ink predominates), then you will probably give this book 4 to 5 stars. I was looking for watercolor texture techniques and was disapointed.
With that said, the drawings are very well executed and the instruction quality moderate. The author relies too heavily on step-by-step examples as a teaching tool. The addition of color greatly enhances the pen & ink drawings, with spectacular results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., Jan. 18 2003
By 
Joann Leonard "pegasus60" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a new botanical illustrator working in mostly in watercolor I have often found rendering realistic fine detail and texture a difficult and frustrating task. This marvelous book introduces the artist to a new approach that produces detail and textural effects that are both effective and fairly easy to achive.
The illustations are beautiful and the explanatory text is clear, to the point, and easy to follow. The book is well organized; starting with the various pen and ink methods and how they can be combined with watercolor techniques. This is followed by the demonstration of how these techniques can be applied to achive realistic rendering of multitudes of surface textures from apples to zebras and almost everything in between..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Mixed Media Book, Oct. 26 1998
This is a wonderful book to add to anyone's library. This book shows the effects different types of marks a pen creates. It would be a good book to have if pen & ink were the only thing of interest. Fortunately the watercolor sections are just as good and when she combines the two the effect is stunning. Ms. Nice provides ample demonstrations for both the pen & ink and watercolor. She demonstrates different ways of creating texture with watercolor - using alcohol or rock salt for example.
After getting this book I started to practice pen & ink just so I could expand my horizons with my watercolors. The results have delighted me so much most of my new watercolor paintings have pen & ink in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creating Textures in Pen & Ink and watercolor, June 18 2010
By 
Karen F. Morrison "nsmorrart" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor (Paperback)
Very interesting book, very well laid out and helpful. I borrowed the book from the library first and liked it so much I decided I had to own it. It was helpful to me as I was just experimenting with pen & ink with the watercolors I'd been using. The book goes into great detail about ways to use pen & ink effectively. Great illustrations too! I'm really glad I purchased it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New title for this excellent book., May 29 2004
By A Customer
I recently checked this book out from the library and found it to be an excellent resource for me, a student new to these media. I enjoyed the book and decided to purchase it. Amazon lists the book as out of print. Indeed this title is out of print. However, don't despair. This book has been re-released under the new title "Painting with Watercolor, Pen and Ink."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Texture for illustration, Aug. 18 2003
By 
"annesart" (Zephyrhills, FL USA) - See all my reviews
The style of this book is of ink illustrations colored with watercolor. Very good resources to use as examples. I would call it more illustration than watercolor painting. If you like the style, it is a great resource. I keep it my library and pull it when I need it. Good for the well-seasoned beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, Feb. 5 2002
By A Customer
There is a lot of very useful information in this book. Many of the author's techniques are broken down so even the begginer can achieve some very nice work. Her pictures are beautiful and give the artist something to strive for. As a beginner I found this book very helpful and would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor
Creating Textures in Pen & Ink with Watercolor by Claudia Nice (Paperback - Jan. 29 2005)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 16.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews