Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for artists of all skill levels
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:18 Mins
For comic artists who want to start on perspective, this is the book for you. This is a step-by-step tutorial book that teaches perspective drawing, specifically for comics. And that means creating perspective from concept rather than observation.

It explains all the foundational perspective rules (those point perspectives, drawing eclipses...
Published on April 12 2009 by Parka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad "how-to" book........but it could be better.
Technically speaking, the info in this book is okay. It takes pains to explain it's theories on perspective, shows examples.........but in the end I have to wonder about how much use it'll see--at least on my desk.
There's two hits against it: one being that the sample art inside is just so-so.
The artists contributing to the book may be working pros, but their...
Published 19 days ago by kendaviscartoons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for artists of all skill levels, April 12 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
Length:: 0:18 Mins

For comic artists who want to start on perspective, this is the book for you. This is a step-by-step tutorial book that teaches perspective drawing, specifically for comics. And that means creating perspective from concept rather than observation.

It explains all the foundational perspective rules (those point perspectives, drawing eclipses etc.), as well as tips on drawing characters in perspective. The explanations are simple and illustrated examples clear.

This book even teaches curvilinear perspective, where "straight" lines are drawn as curves, such as the cover illustration. This is more commonly used in comic books and are not taught in other basic perspective books. In photographic terms, this is the fish-eye effect.

Right at the end are pages of tricks and techniques aimed at solving perspective problems, such as fixing distortions, good places to place vanishing points etc.

This is a recommended book for artists at all skill levels.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
It is rare for me to call a book "perfect" right off the bat, but Jason Cheeseman-Meyer's "Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From Ground Up" is just that - perfect.

I am both a traditional and digital artist and, like most artists, I struggle with perspective. For years I have been searching for the perfect perspective book, and now I have found it.

This book is not just for comic artists: it gives good information that can be applied to any piece of artwork. Cheeseman-Meyers covers many different types of perspectives (one-point, two-point, three-point, curvilinear four-point, curvilinear five-point). He describes how perspective is created while showing many easy-to-understand diagrams. Cheeseman-Meyers gives you tutorials, examples, and in-depth explanations behind the difficult subject of perspective-drawing. He tells you when it is best to use certain types of perspective and the effects they add to the setting. He also explains the tools needed for perspective-work.

I am constantly referencing this book while working on art and I have already recommended it to many of my artist friends. It is, though, slightly complicated for new artists who have never touched perspective before. Also, flipping through the book, it seems intimidating, but once you read it perspective drawing becomes much easier. I love all of diagrams Cheeseman-Meyer provides: every page contain nearly five diagrams and pictures clearly showing and describing perspectives.

"Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up" is a must-have for any artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad "how-to" book........but it could be better., Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
Technically speaking, the info in this book is okay. It takes pains to explain it's theories on perspective, shows examples.........but in the end I have to wonder about how much use it'll see--at least on my desk.
There's two hits against it: one being that the sample art inside is just so-so.
The artists contributing to the book may be working pros, but their work doesn't have a lot of appeal or pizzazz to it. As an artist, I'd rather have the highest calibre work showcasing the lesson rather than have mediocre work to "inspire" me.
Second is a quibble that comes from having taught perspective in adult-level art colleges and film schools; there's a flaw in the method. The author jumps into the lesson with all the technical aspects.......establishing the horizon line, the vanishing points, etc...and builds the drawing from there.
But THAT is the very flaw in teaching perspective, that ends up intimidating students, simply because they are at a loss as to how to visualize the object drawn at the outset.
The method in the book, like many other similar approaches to perspective starts off with the formula, and somehow......magically, the student is expected to be able to visualize the desired object along the way--inside the web of perspective construction lines.
It's like being taught how to ride a bicycle by being told to sit on the handle bars and face backwards.

And it's not how most pros do it.
The trick that the book misses out on is in composing the picture. The method put forth doesn't allow the artist to properly fit the construction into a given frame, certainly not without some trial and error.
The professional way to establish perspective is.........to eyeball it.
To draw, free-hand what the object or setting is, by eye, composing the picture with the main elements in place.
THEN, once the basic structure is there, the pro goes in and CORRECTS the construction for perspective--using the various methods outlined in the book.
The framing of a subject on the page is the first priority---because that sets up the parameters of what to draw. Depiction of perspective and technical accuracy is then secondary.
This slightly different approach is often the thing that strips away the fear and intimidation that perspective drawings bring to a lot of newcomers ( and some working pros!)--mostly because there's something already down on the page to work off of. It also helps build the visual strengths in the artist because it calls upon them to see the drawing subject in their mind's-eye an then be able to translate it to the page.

Those things aside, the book does present its material clearly and concisely. The illustrations ( while not to my personal liking) do get the points across well enough. It's a good enough how-to book, but not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find, Feb. 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
This is a title that's failry hard to find in the bookstore but when you do, it is a great buy. Easier to follow that many of the others out there. Takes you step by step through the process and lists everything you would need to get started. Even if you're not into comics, it's a great handbook for anyone who draws and struggles with perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First and Last Word on Perspective, Jan. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
You simply do not need any other book on perspective drawing.
This is the best book I have ever seen and read and it has improved my art a hundred percent.
So easy to follow and understand, I cannot say enough good things about this book.
I have tried many other books on this subject and was always befuddled.
I am so glad I purchased this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!!!!!!, June 5 2014
This review is from: Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up (Paperback)
A very good product and a very good price. It arrived when it said which is a good thing for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up
Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up by Jason Cheeseman-Meyer (Paperback - Dec 8 2007)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 16.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews