Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$17.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 15, 2015
This book taught me all kinds of ways to do perspective! Everything you wanted to know about three point and four point perspective you wanted to know but were afraid to ask? It's right here!

Get this book. Don't think, just get this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
I have many books on perspective, but this one is the most advance, in my opinion, but also the easiest one to follow the exercises from. I looked everywhere for Curvilinear perspective and I finally found good explanations on how to do it. This book doesn't take granted that you know anything about perspective, but isn't trying to teach you all the basic knowledge the way other books do. Less complicated and more fun doing what an artist wants to do the most when doing comic book. Perspective!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2014
Technically speaking, the info in this book is okay. It takes pains to explain it's theories on perspective, shows examples.........but in the end I have to wonder about how much use it'll see--at least on my desk.
There's two hits against it: one being that the sample art inside is just so-so.
The artists contributing to the book may be working pros, but their work doesn't have a lot of appeal or pizzazz to it. As an artist, I'd rather have the highest calibre work showcasing the lesson rather than have mediocre work to "inspire" me.
Second is a quibble that comes from having taught perspective in adult-level art colleges and film schools; there's a flaw in the method. The author jumps into the lesson with all the technical aspects.......establishing the horizon line, the vanishing points, etc...and builds the drawing from there.
But THAT is the very flaw in teaching perspective, that ends up intimidating students, simply because they are at a loss as to how to visualize the object drawn at the outset.
The method in the book, like many other similar approaches to perspective starts off with the formula, and somehow......magically, the student is expected to be able to visualize the desired object along the way--inside the web of perspective construction lines.
It's like being taught how to ride a bicycle by being told to sit on the handle bars and face backwards.

And it's not how most pros do it.
The trick that the book misses out on is in composing the picture. The method put forth doesn't allow the artist to properly fit the construction into a given frame, certainly not without some trial and error.
The professional way to establish perspective eyeball it.
To draw, free-hand what the object or setting is, by eye, composing the picture with the main elements in place.
THEN, once the basic structure is there, the pro goes in and CORRECTS the construction for perspective--using the various methods outlined in the book.
The framing of a subject on the page is the first priority---because that sets up the parameters of what to draw. Depiction of perspective and technical accuracy is then secondary.
This slightly different approach is often the thing that strips away the fear and intimidation that perspective drawings bring to a lot of newcomers ( and some working pros!)--mostly because there's something already down on the page to work off of. It also helps build the visual strengths in the artist because it calls upon them to see the drawing subject in their mind's-eye an then be able to translate it to the page.

Those things aside, the book does present its material clearly and concisely. The illustrations ( while not to my personal liking) do get the points across well enough. It's a good enough how-to book, but not the best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
A very good product and a very good price. It arrived when it said which is a good thing for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2013
It is rare for me to call a book "perfect" right off the bat, but Jason Cheeseman-Meyer's "Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From Ground Up" is just that - perfect.

I am both a traditional and digital artist and, like most artists, I struggle with perspective. For years I have been searching for the perfect perspective book, and now I have found it.

This book is not just for comic artists: it gives good information that can be applied to any piece of artwork. Cheeseman-Meyers covers many different types of perspectives (one-point, two-point, three-point, curvilinear four-point, curvilinear five-point). He describes how perspective is created while showing many easy-to-understand diagrams. Cheeseman-Meyers gives you tutorials, examples, and in-depth explanations behind the difficult subject of perspective-drawing. He tells you when it is best to use certain types of perspective and the effects they add to the setting. He also explains the tools needed for perspective-work.

I am constantly referencing this book while working on art and I have already recommended it to many of my artist friends. It is, though, slightly complicated for new artists who have never touched perspective before. Also, flipping through the book, it seems intimidating, but once you read it perspective drawing becomes much easier. I love all of diagrams Cheeseman-Meyer provides: every page contain nearly five diagrams and pictures clearly showing and describing perspectives.

"Vanishing Point Perspective For Comics From The Ground Up" is a must-have for any artist!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 11, 2012
This is a title that's failry hard to find in the bookstore but when you do, it is a great buy. Easier to follow that many of the others out there. Takes you step by step through the process and lists everything you would need to get started. Even if you're not into comics, it's a great handbook for anyone who draws and struggles with perspective.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2012
You simply do not need any other book on perspective drawing.
This is the best book I have ever seen and read and it has improved my art a hundred percent.
So easy to follow and understand, I cannot say enough good things about this book.
I have tried many other books on this subject and was always befuddled.
I am so glad I purchased this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
For comic artists who want to start on perspective, this is the book for you. This is a step-by-step tutorial book that teaches perspective drawing, specifically for comics. And that means creating perspective from concept rather than observation.

It explains all the foundational perspective rules (those point perspectives, drawing eclipses etc.), as well as tips on drawing characters in perspective. The explanations are simple and illustrated examples clear.

This book even teaches curvilinear perspective, where "straight" lines are drawn as curves, such as the cover illustration. This is more commonly used in comic books and are not taught in other basic perspective books. In photographic terms, this is the fish-eye effect.

Right at the end are pages of tricks and techniques aimed at solving perspective problems, such as fixing distortions, good places to place vanishing points etc.

This is a recommended book for artists at all skill levels.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers
Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers by Marcos Mateu-Mestre (Paperback - Aug. 31 2010)
CDN$ 27.46

How to Draw Noir Comics: The Art and Technique of Visual Storytelling
How to Draw Noir Comics: The Art and Technique of Visual Storytelling by Shawn Martinbrough (Paperback - Oct. 30 2007)
CDN$ 18.71