biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno vpcflyout

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$35.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2016
Love it! Looking forward to volume 2...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
"How many walkers have you killed? How many people have you killed? Why?" - Rick Grimms
A+++ Beautiful book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Great quality book, loved the extra illustrations. It arrived after just a couple days, well before the estimated delivery date. I'm definitely hooked on these books now and Amazon has the best deal on them I've found.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
Awesome
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
I'm not really a big graphic novels fan but I really enjoyed this and I will probably continue on to read the rest of the series. The novel provided a lot more information than the Television show which I've been watching for over a year now.

I'm not really enthused with the stark differences between the television series and the book series and if I had to choose which one to live without it would be the television series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
meh, not a fan, needed it for school
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Big Fan of the show, I was late getting into the Walking Dead in it's original format (Graphic Novel), unfortunately due to the fact there wasn't colour. Shame on me it seems, I ordered the first one last month and I've already got 5 more. The novels are phenomenal; the show doesn't follow the book as closely as I would have guessed. The book is raw, fast paced and more intimate. If you are just getting into Graphic Novels like me, then this series should be on your shelf. Thanks to other reviewers I have also acquired the Locke and Key Series, The Preacher Series, Y The Last Man Standing Series and love them all! I plan on having a dedicated book shelf to these glorious collections one day. Seems like there are so many other recommended titles out there I haven't had a chance to explore!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
AWESOME
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
Awesome, definitely throws you for a loop with how it differs from the show.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon January 25, 2015
If you're a Walking Dead viewer wondering if the comic is as good as the series -- the short answer is yes. In some ways, the show has transcended the source material, and as someone who followed the comics before the series, I don't say that lightly. But in other ways, the comic is incredibly powerful, and remains the soul and center. One thing Kirkman, Adlard, and the writers of the show deserve praise for is the way both storylines have diverged. 'The Walking Dead' is essentially two parallel worlds, and both have really bad luck. If you know the comic, you will still have no idea what's going to happen in the show, and vice versa. There are moments where both stories seem to coalesce, but then break apart to follow separate roads once again.

This is the format to buy, without question. The deluxe hardcover is larger, the 8" x 11" oversized edition instead of the standard 7" x 10". Each hardcover book contains two of the softcover volumes; so Book 1 collects Volumes 1 and 2. Every storyline is about the same length -- 6 comicbook issues. So the Volumes are around 150 pages, and the Books are a bit longer, 320 or so pages; they come with extras -- like the original single-issue covers, and miscellaneous artwork from Charlie Adlard and Tony Moore -- that the softcover Volumes do not. While Adlard has been the series artist for a very long time, and does a brilliant, remarkably quick, and consistent job, Tony Moore's art in Book 1 played a big part in the success of 'The Walking Dead'. He's one of the many artists I consider a 'favorite', but he couldn't keep up with the unforgiving monthly pace. Pricewise, each oversized, extra-long hardcover Book is about the same price as the two softcover volumes it collects. Highly recommended.

P.S.: The Compendiums are the most affordable way to pick up the comic -- collecting 48 single issues/8 Volumes/4 Books/2 Omnibus(es) (Omnibae?). They're a bit awkward though. The Omnibus is the super-deluxe format, similar to the Absolute Editions from DC. Image does as excellent job producing each.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse