Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Hope and inspiration
Seldom have I seen a book (and a DVD) so beautifully packaged! Some might call it 'slick'; I call it creative.

While the content falls short of addressing the role of individual responsibility, in great detail and, as another reviewer has said, that "change requires honoring commitments, not blaming others for our failures, assessing the self-sabotaging that...
Published on May 14 2007 by Imelda Duffy

versus
172 of 186 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Word to the Wise...
I am commenting on The Secret as a clinical psychologist who specializes in how cultural and spiritual beliefs affect health as well as the author of a book about converging science and mysticism to navigate our personal journey. First, The Secret is a compilation of opinions from a group of professionals in several fields, rather than a book by the author. It would be...
Published on March 26 2007 by Dr. Mario E. Martinez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, Aug. 31 2011
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
I always wanted to read this book but no one would lend, so really happy i finally bought my own copy. really works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, Feb. 22 2015
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Kindle Edition)
Do recommend everyone to read this book and books alike it really is amazing opportunity for changing your life to be as u desire it to be in all areas . I have experienced it in my own life many times how mind and thoughts creat our life experience so I do blv in everything mentioned in the book think everyone should apply this knowledge to their life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars over-rated, not helpful, Feb. 21 2008
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
This over-hyped, over-rated book is nothing more then a collection of new age ideas that have been around for years. It is a book designed to give meaning to the lives of western women who are rich yet spiritually poor, succesful yet emotionally insecure. There are many better self-help motivational books out there - like How to Stopy Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie, or the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wishful Thinking is Hardly a Healthy or Mature Approach to Life, June 17 2007
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Audio CD)
Hope is generally a good thing: a marker for mental health and a light at the end of the tunnel for when we suffer... However, FALSE HOPE or WISHFUL THINKING is not genuine hope and has little to offer healthy adults. This book focuses on the the latter, exploiting the public's wish for quick fixes and easy answers, as well as the current cultural trend to discount science and embrace childlike pseudo-spiritual ways and superstition to cope with life (although many spiritual beliefs are of value and are mature, these are not included in this book.)

Anything of value in this book is too badly tainted by the aforementioned shortcomings to be worth your time or energy. Pop-psychology at its near worst.

Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huh?, May 12 2007
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
I'm not sure why this book is getting such great reviews. I found it to be lazy. Just think of things and they will happen, stay focused. Action is needed for success and lots of it. I was insulted by the idea that bad things happen to people because they will them on themselves. A lot of the notions are ridiculous and just ideas with no scientific fact. It reminded me of how at the end of every year experts predict all the things that will happen in the upcoming year (who will win the world series, superbowl, what country will dominate, what will happen in other countries, what will happen with the weather, etc.) The "experts" are always wrong, often not even close. That's what the ideas here reminded me of, not even close to how things actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The secret of beeing always right, Sept. 25 2007
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
The secret is really well done to be right in any circumstances and therefore make a lot of money on the back of weak/stupid people who see that whatever they do, the secret predicted it or was right!

Let’s take the example of a sick person who wants to get better.

1-this person focuses on healing her/his decease and that’s what happens: my god! the secret works! Focus on what you want and you get it!
2- this person focuses on healing her/his decease and her/his health gets worse: my god! the secret was right: if you keep thinking of something bad or wrong it will get worse.

In order to focus on healing this person has, first, to acknowledge that she’s sick and from there you can go either way, the Secret will always be right, whatever happens!

It’s the same for everything and this book/movie is nothing else than a huge rip off. It’s only make to get the money from incredulous or weak people or people who are at a point in there life when they need help and are ready to believe anything that could help them.

Just use your brain, think twice to what they say, you’ll find out by yourself that this book is totally empty will not change your life! Using your brain, will change your life and prevent you from getting abused by these kind of people who wrote the book and participated in the movie!
Just THINK will help yourself !
Think positive OF COURSE! Did you really need this book or movie to learn that this kind of attitude is good for you?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret, July 25 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
I did see this movie last year. I wanted a text version to read where ever and when ever, I read it and watched the movie again and again it gave me more inner sense and building my confidence level. The best about it, the whole book was not a written dialogue but the secret of success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth reading for people with chronic illlnesses, Jan. 11 2008
By 
Theresa Hiebert (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
Compilation of views of various authors. The secret as I understood it is the law of attraction. We attract to ourselves that which we think about. All we have to do is talk to the Universe. Who says the Universe is listening? No concrete evidence is produced only personal anecdotes.
I thought this book didn't deserve the hype it has received. Does not have anything to say to give hope to people with chronic illnesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT WORKS, BUT NOT FOR THE STATED REASON, April 21 2007
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
"The Secret" has become quite a cottage industry, predicated on the belief that wanting something and wishing it true will in turn make it come true. The general, simplified theory is that if you want a handsome mate, a new car, a better career all you do is think about the thing you aspire to and one day you will have it. And advocates swear it works.

Yes, "The Secret" may work, but not for the stated reasons. "The Secret" works through the basic fundamental of positive thinking. If one believes they are going to attain something, it has an increased likelihood of occuring because that person has a POSITIVE outlook. It's just that SIMPLE. If one has a positive outlook then good things tend to happen, because said person takes the necessary steps to make it happen, whether they realize it or not.

"The Secret" is nothing new. It's been around since Wayne Dyer wrote his first book. It's just presented in a different format here.

And for a wonderful, HILARIOUS parody of self help books like "The Secret" check out a book called "Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You" bu author Martha Bolton. Funniest book I've read in five years.

And for more books like "The Secret" read any self improvement book from the beginning of the movement, circa 1970. And keep being positive - it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book that saved the world, Aug. 27 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Secret (Hardcover)
The book is an excellent way to view the world and live your life. It's a refreshing way to mentally and physically change your surroundings. I am fortunate to have received this superior knowledge. I love it. Thank you to the powers that be.
Sidster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret
The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (Hardcover - Nov. 28 2006)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews