Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Hope and inspiration
Seldom have I seen a book (and a DVD) so beautifully packaged! Some might call it 'slick'; I call it creative.

While the content falls short of addressing the role of individual responsibility, in great detail and, as another reviewer has said, that "change requires honoring commitments, not blaming others for our failures, assessing the self-sabotaging that...
Published on May 14 2007 by Imelda Duffy

versus
164 of 175 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Word to the Wise...
I am commenting on The Secret as a clinical psychologist who specializes in how cultural and spiritual beliefs affect health as well as the author of a book about converging science and mysticism to navigate our personal journey. First, The Secret is a compilation of opinions from a group of professionals in several fields, rather than a book by the author. It would be...
Published on March 26 2007 by Dr. Mario E. Martinez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huh?, May 12 2007
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
I'm not sure why this book is getting such great reviews. I found it to be lazy. Just think of things and they will happen, stay focused. Action is needed for success and lots of it. I was insulted by the idea that bad things happen to people because they will them on themselves. A lot of the notions are ridiculous and just ideas with no scientific fact. It reminded me of how at the end of every year experts predict all the things that will happen in the upcoming year (who will win the world series, superbowl, what country will dominate, what will happen in other countries, what will happen with the weather, etc.) The "experts" are always wrong, often not even close. That's what the ideas here reminded me of, not even close to how things actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The secret of beeing always right, Sept. 25 2007
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
The secret is really well done to be right in any circumstances and therefore make a lot of money on the back of weak/stupid people who see that whatever they do, the secret predicted it or was right!

Let’s take the example of a sick person who wants to get better.

1-this person focuses on healing her/his decease and that’s what happens: my god! the secret works! Focus on what you want and you get it!
2- this person focuses on healing her/his decease and her/his health gets worse: my god! the secret was right: if you keep thinking of something bad or wrong it will get worse.

In order to focus on healing this person has, first, to acknowledge that she’s sick and from there you can go either way, the Secret will always be right, whatever happens!

It’s the same for everything and this book/movie is nothing else than a huge rip off. It’s only make to get the money from incredulous or weak people or people who are at a point in there life when they need help and are ready to believe anything that could help them.

Just use your brain, think twice to what they say, you’ll find out by yourself that this book is totally empty will not change your life! Using your brain, will change your life and prevent you from getting abused by these kind of people who wrote the book and participated in the movie!
Just THINK will help yourself !
Think positive OF COURSE! Did you really need this book or movie to learn that this kind of attitude is good for you?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth reading for people with chronic illlnesses, Jan. 11 2008
By 
Theresa Hiebert (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
Compilation of views of various authors. The secret as I understood it is the law of attraction. We attract to ourselves that which we think about. All we have to do is talk to the Universe. Who says the Universe is listening? No concrete evidence is produced only personal anecdotes.
I thought this book didn't deserve the hype it has received. Does not have anything to say to give hope to people with chronic illnesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT WORKS, BUT NOT FOR THE STATED REASON, April 21 2007
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
"The Secret" has become quite a cottage industry, predicated on the belief that wanting something and wishing it true will in turn make it come true. The general, simplified theory is that if you want a handsome mate, a new car, a better career all you do is think about the thing you aspire to and one day you will have it. And advocates swear it works.

Yes, "The Secret" may work, but not for the stated reasons. "The Secret" works through the basic fundamental of positive thinking. If one believes they are going to attain something, it has an increased likelihood of occuring because that person has a POSITIVE outlook. It's just that SIMPLE. If one has a positive outlook then good things tend to happen, because said person takes the necessary steps to make it happen, whether they realize it or not.

"The Secret" is nothing new. It's been around since Wayne Dyer wrote his first book. It's just presented in a different format here.

And for a wonderful, HILARIOUS parody of self help books like "The Secret" check out a book called "Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You" bu author Martha Bolton. Funniest book I've read in five years.

And for more books like "The Secret" read any self improvement book from the beginning of the movement, circa 1970. And keep being positive - it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Kindle Edition)
Awesome !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing you can do for yourself and your life, July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
I already had it so I got it for my friend. The best thing you can do for yourself and your life...read and follow this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Positive read, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
The week I read The Secret was one of the most positive weeks of my life! I'm still living in that positive residue and I pick it up at least once a week just for a reminder. It's a very good read.
Terri Schack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comment, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
I loved it. I am conscientiously changing my thinking to reflect what I learned in the Secret. Great read and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more with all the hype about it, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
Very repetitive
Has some interesting and valid points
Not overly unique compared to other books I've read in this realm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend to a friend, April 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret (Hardcover)
I have bought this book and shared this book with numerous people and will continue to do just that. I would recommend this book to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret
The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (Hardcover - Nov. 28 2006)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 17.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews