Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More than Ideas
Jack Heffron, in his genius, has simplified the writing process for professional writers and teachers as well as for writing initiates. However, this is more than just a book of tips and ideas. You will be inspired by the author's personal revelations and the writing prompts that lie within the book's covers.
Aside from being a wonderful treat--or gift--for a...
Published on Aug. 1 2001 by Rhonda Sandberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words and ideas, a little hard to get into.
I was looking for some inspiration to get ideas flowing. While there are some innovative exercises within these pages, I found the bulk of it just too wordy and maybe a little too involved. It could be that the typeface was just too small for me and the way it made the paragraphs look was a little overwhelming... but I just found it hard to get into, and ultimately ended...
Published 1 month ago by R. Frazer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words and ideas, a little hard to get into., June 16 2014
By 
R. Frazer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
I was looking for some inspiration to get ideas flowing. While there are some innovative exercises within these pages, I found the bulk of it just too wordy and maybe a little too involved. It could be that the typeface was just too small for me and the way it made the paragraphs look was a little overwhelming... but I just found it hard to get into, and ultimately ended up giving it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prompts, prompts, and more prompts!, April 28 2004
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
Jack Heffron's "The Writer's Idea Book" is a very good specimen of a book of writers' exercises. It mixes "prompts" of various sorts (more than 400 of them according to the cover, and I believe it!) with short riffs of practical advice on a wide range of writing matters. While Heffron is a professional editor and does give advice regarding methods that he believes work best, he concentrates on writing for yourself in this book rather than trying to get published. This is just the idea phase after all--check out his later book, "The Writer's Idea Workshop," for practical advice regarding taking your idea from raw ore to refined metal.
There are many prompts meant to help you mine your own experiences for ideas and plots. (As well as your likes and dislikes, your family, your home town, places you've visited, "public moments," secrets, dreams, and more.) There are prompts to help you explore different forms of writing, structure your story, and more. There are even good solid hints on dealing with openings and endings. The huge number of prompts in this book guarantees that you should be able to find something to spark your creativity no matter what mood you're in.
In fact, about the only thing that bothered me about this book was the lack of the unusual. I love genre. Horror, science fiction, fantasy--I love the strange, and this book had a very "literary" feel to it. That'll make it perfect for many other writers out there, but it left me a little flat. I like to have a certain otherworldliness come into play when looking through lots of writing exercises and warm-ups. This book is meant to push you into finding inspiration from the ordinary rather than the extraordinary; I would have liked a better balance.
It's certainly a fun book, however, and definitely a kick in the inspiration department!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than Ideas, Aug. 1 2001
By 
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Hardcover)
Jack Heffron, in his genius, has simplified the writing process for professional writers and teachers as well as for writing initiates. However, this is more than just a book of tips and ideas. You will be inspired by the author's personal revelations and the writing prompts that lie within the book's covers.
Aside from being a wonderful treat--or gift--for a writer at any level, if you need a creative jolt, then BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Unstuck!, Aug. 3 2000
By 
Eldonna Edwards "Author" (San Luis Obispo, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Hardcover)
If you feel as though your writing is stuck you must get your hands on this book. And if you're not stuck, you'll be relieved to know that you never have to be. The book is organized into fours steps: warming up, generating ideas, finding form, and developing the story (or article) which eases you into a finished piece that feels fun (because it is!). Heffron has packed 255 pages full of over 400 writing prompts for writers of any genre, or just to play with in your journal. Play with them for a while and you WILL start calling yourself a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It for the Valuable Prompts Alone, Dec 6 2002
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
Writers encounter many speed bumps in their projects that can slow down their progress. "The Writer's Idea Book" is designed to get you past those rough spots and make the creative process a little easier.
The book features over 400 prompts to enhance your writing. Plus, each section examines the tricky aspects of writing and how you can overcome them successfully.
Part I begins with how to get started on your writing track. Sections deal with showing up, acknowledging the difficulty, enemies of creativity, leading a creative life and what to do when you're stuck. Each section has related prompts so you can get the most out of the advice given.
Part II shows you how to explore your writing as well as you as a writer. A large amount of prompts help you discover the many faces of you, romantic love, secrets and lies, the spirit of your stories and more.
Part III, appropriately titled "Finding Form," takes you deep into the writing craft. Character development, shaping space and time, point of view, setting, openings and endings are all covered in a way new writers and more seasoned writers can both benefit from.
Part IV covers "Assessing and Developing." Heffron shows the need for writers to up the stakes, consider the reader, study their tone and understand theme.
Each section approaches a key aspect of getting the most out of the written word. Prompts that follow each section are directly related to your reading all through the book so you get relevant practice with your own writing.
"The Writer's Idea Book" has quickly become a favorite among writers, no matter what their experience level. The thought-provoking prompts alone make this a valuable tool any writer can use for their own projects.
But watch out! This book will spark so many ideas, you'll be backlogged on writing projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read for everybody, Feb. 28 2001
By 
Svetlana Ostrovskaya (Naperville, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Hardcover)
I am not a writer, but I enjoyed reading that book. It is informative and humorous. I've read it several times, and every time I find some new ideas. Author helped me to realize that I am not dump, and can write many funny stories about my experience. I am not going to publish them, but I was able to entertain my friends and I am going to read them to my son, when he'll get older (he is only 4-month old now). Buy that book and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, March 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
If you want to be a writer but you're not sure where to start, and where to look for ideas then I highly recommend this book. It's a great book also if you're stuck in a rut in your writing. Basically this book has writing excercises for you to get going on your path as a writer. There are even story ideas, and basically its just a book to get you going, to get you start writing. I really like this book, I think that its the best one out there on this subject. The book is most encouraging to writers to keep going in the craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for writers!, Aug. 27 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "naiad51776" (fort walton beach, florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book! It covers all of the areas that many writers have problems with, and helps you get through them. Mary Heaton Vorse once said, "Writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair" and this book agrees. This book is full of prompts designed to get your juices flowing, and above all, get you writing! Even the most die-hard procrastators and people who are very afraid of writing anything uless it's perfect (like me)will be writing in no time. Most of all, this book showed me that you don't have to be published to be a writer. Any one who writes is a writer. Buy this book, you'll be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need these prompts!, May 31 2003
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
The value of this book is in its many and rich prompts. (No offense to Mr. Heffron, but Part I is the omnipresent: "when you write", "where you write", "celebrating your creative self", etc.) Part II however gets you off and running. There are hundreds of powerful prompts to help you explore the infinite ways to know (and to know what you know) and to write about something. The idea being that the writer (human being) is the quintissential observer, sculptor, shapeshifter, and magician. Prompts have you writing from a variety of imaginitive perspectives, and to various ends. You will strengthen weaknesses and discover hidden strengths. Also highly recommend "Beginnings, Middles, and Ends" by Kress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fertile Fodder for the Writer, Feb. 16 2003
By 
A. J. Vasaris (Akron, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Writer's Idea Book (Paperback)
No excuses for writer's block when this book is handy. Just let the book drop, open to any page and read a "prompt", any prompt. The author is generous with his ideas to stimulate the writer's mind. Just start writing and let your mind, and fingers, wander with the writer's fodder presented. So many ideas, prompts and exercizes, you'll never run out as just one of these paths can lead you everywhere.
Well written with kind words and gentle prodding for the writer in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Writer's Idea Book
The Writer's Idea Book by Jack Heffron (Paperback - Nov. 15 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews