Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Writer's Bible Continues to Live up to Its Name
The writer's bible dated 2004 A.D. has arrived! Most writers won't wonder what book I'm speaking of since it's THE BOOK.
The first 100 pages or so contain articles and advice while the rest is markets, markets, markets. These articles include agents, pricing, interviews, building a career, and queries. Writers have been complaining about one critical item that's...
Published on Oct. 18 2003 by Meryl K. Evans

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Useless
I'm giving the Writer's Market two stars because it is a useful resource for beginning writers. However, I'm fed up with the book. Not only does it neglect to list many, many, many common markets, let alone the lessor-known markets, but the non-web version doesn't have access to many of the few markets they do list. My non-web version, for example, doesn't have writer's...
Published on May 18 2004 by InvisibleGirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Writer's Bible Continues to Live up to Its Name, Oct. 18 2003
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
The writer's bible dated 2004 A.D. has arrived! Most writers won't wonder what book I'm speaking of since it's THE BOOK.
The first 100 pages or so contain articles and advice while the rest is markets, markets, markets. These articles include agents, pricing, interviews, building a career, and queries. Writers have been complaining about one critical item that's missing from the 2003 edition. It's back. Yes, the "How much I should charge?" article is here to rescue writers (me included) who struggle with pricing. The article has seven pages worth of gold with going market rates sorted by categories. Scan these 100 pages as soon as the book arrives in your hands to put the advice to immediate use.
Copyright issues make me crazy. "The Business of Writing" defines terms relating to rights and provides a brief overview of selling subsidiary rights and contracts and agreements. It's a painless five to ten minutes read. Online markets have pounded writers with more confusion over rights and rates. "Strategies for Negotiating Electronic Rights and Rates," untangles the web.
If you own an older version of the book, this one is still worth the purchase. It has 1,100 new listings and contacts change often with people moving around within the industry and to new locations.
For those who have never seen or heard of this book, read the first article in the book, which takes you on a tour of what's in it and how to use it. The markets cover 300+ agents, book publishers, magazines, journals, scriptwriting, contests and awards, and resources making this a valuable paperweight or doorstopper. Inside of the front and back covers is a key to the symbols and abbreviation to help you make heads and tails of each entry.
Each listing comes with contact information, pay rates, statistics, tips on how to deal with the resource, and details on the publisher's needs. The agents sections provides terms, recent sales, representation type (subjects, fiction, etc.), and member agents.
We get too busy to read books. This is not a book you need to make time to read. When you come up with a brilliant article or manuscript, search the book for possible publishers to pursue. It's a heck of a lot faster than researching online or at the library.
This baby with over 1,000 pages pays for itself with one cheap article. Even if you find just one or two markets from the book, it's worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great resource!!!, June 30 2004
By 
mike (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
I have no idea what jas-webb is talking about!!! This book is a reference book that is great for all writer's not just wanting to get published, but for all types of writer's. Freelance author's, poets and columnists can all benefit from this resource.
If anything, the book gives all the contact information to reach these publishers that JAS-WEBB was referring to. Please don't let someone who has been obviously soured by the publishing process wreck your dreams or think it's a waste of time. Using this book helped me write a great query letter that DID get the attention of some publishers who requested my manuscript for consideration. 2004 Writer's Market lists 100's of publishers that recieve unagented authors and requests proposals and writing samples from all categories. Don't expect the book to get you a publishing deal, you have to put in the time and energy and 2004 Writer's Market helps you do that.
DON"T BELIEVE JAS-WEBB!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resource for freelance writers wanting to sell their work, Sept. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
I have to admit I was very disappointed last year when I bought the 2003 Writer's Market only to find that the article "How Much Should I Charge?" was missing. That is one of the big reasons why I buy the book every year. I tried to find the information elsewhere, but did not have much luck. So, I figured I would give the book one more chance, and I am glad that I did! The pay rates have been added back to the book and they have all been updated--there is even a list of organizations I can contact if I want more information about the pay rates and various jobs. This article alone made my purchase worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Useless, May 18 2004
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
I'm giving the Writer's Market two stars because it is a useful resource for beginning writers. However, I'm fed up with the book. Not only does it neglect to list many, many, many common markets, let alone the lessor-known markets, but the non-web version doesn't have access to many of the few markets they do list. My non-web version, for example, doesn't have writer's guidelines for well-known magazines like Women's World and Good Housekeeping. Apparently, if I wanted those markets, I should have paid $10 more and messed with their CD. (Or I can just go online and get them through a two-second Google search.)
Not to mention, I have often found the information in Writer's Market to be WRONG and I have to always independently check it with the market. Of course, that's something you should do anyway, but I think it's amazing how often WM gets things like addresses and websites wrong. We're not talking information that is bound to change anyway, like editors or contact e-mails, but static information that WM has plain gotten wrong. You can't trust this book.
A few years ago, WM was a LOT more thorough and trustworthy. Now it seems like they don't even update their database against previous editions. Many markets that were in the 2002 and 2003 editions are not in the 2004 edition, even many of those markets still exist. As a freelancer, I don't even use this book very often as a resource since I know it will only list some obvious markets, at best. I find Google and the bookstore work better than WM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Information For The Writer, Feb. 10 2004
By 
carl womack (north carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
Are you looking for someone to publish your book, article, poetry, or someone to consider your play or movie script? Are you looking for an agent? If so, you need this valuable tool. The cover pretty well sums it up: 8,000 book and magazine editors to buy what you write. The book includes contacts for over 300 agents, plus 700 contests and awards. Most entries list what the publisher is looking for, how much they will pay for your work, and what rights they want to purchase. It goes into detail about when the publisher was established in the business, and either their mailing address, email address, or phone numbers. This book gives you access to the "Big Boys" such as Reader's Digest, Cosmopolitan, MS, The Atlantic Monthly, and Parade. Categories for magazines include: General Interest, Gay & Lesbian, Women's, Sports, Juvenille, Child Care, Regional, Literary, Home & Garden, Animal, Automotive, Comic Books, Health & Fitness, Hobby & Craft, Nature, Teen, Religious, Trade Magazines, Travel, Science and Sex. Book categories include: Adventure, Comic Books, Confession, Ethnic, Erotica, Fantasy, Religion, Gothic, Horror, Literary, Juvenille, Plays, and Biography. There are many more categories in both magazines and books, but too many to list. The Writer's Market also contains priceless tips on how to get published, how to estimate word count, manuscript format, mailing submissions, query letters, and much more. I have purchased the book myself since 1993, and I have been published ... and PAID FOR IT!!!!!!!! Please let me stress this, If you want to write, but don't feel you have what it takes, heck, try it and see. You never know until you try. I studied writing under a published author, and she told the class that any given article etc. gets an average of 70 rejections, so if this is your first try and you get a rejection, don't give up! I would also recommend the Literary Marketplace. It too is a superb manual for writer's. The 2004 Writer's Market has over 1100 pages, plus gives you info on finding other writing books of key interest. If you have written, are writing, or want to write a book, article, poem, play, tv or movie script, this book can be a tremendous help. Order yours today!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for All Writers, Dec 11 2003
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
Serious writers look forward to this time of year. The latest edition of Writer's Market always offers something new and contains even more invaluable than the previous year's.
Why should you update your Writer's Market every year? In the past year, some editors have moved on to other opportunities, contact information has changed and submission guidelines have evolved with current needs.
The best reason to get the current year? All new content, 100-percent updated information, new articles and more than 250 literary and script agent listings.
Inside you'll find helpful articles about the writing life as well as the business aspects of the craft. The annual Guide to Literary Agents has been combined into the Writer's Market, now giving writers everything they need to not only find a market for their articles and books but also representation for those who need an agent.
Also new this year, the greeting card and syndicate listings have been moved. They are now exclusively available through Writer's Market Online, joining newspaper and online publications.
Besides book publishers, Writer's Market contains thousands of magazine opportunities covering a variety of topics, including these sample markets:
* Hobby and Craft
* Juvenile
* Regional
* Religious
* Sports
* Teen and Young Adult
* Trade, Technical and Professional Journals
* Travel
* Medical
If you're unfamiliar with this resource, each listing contains icons to help you identify the publisher's pay scale. Example: A market with one dollar sign ($) pays 0 - 9 cents per word or $0 - $150 an article. A market with four dollar signs ($$$$) pays at least $1 a word or over $1,500 per article. You'll also find special icons for markets new to the 2004 edition, Canadian markets, online publications, markets not accepting unsolicited submissions and markets only accepting agented manuscripts.
Regardless of your writing experience, Writer's Market can help you get published. Whether you're looking for a home for your world affairs book or write articles on people who live in coal towns, this guide has a market for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Tool, Jan. 4 2004
By 
Jennifer A. Fischetto (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
The Writer's Market is necessary for any individual who writes and intends on becoming published. With all the varying markets it includes, ALL writers will benefit from this book...including those who write porn/erotica. Anyone who is committed to their craft knows that without free speach we would live in a literary poor society. The individual who previously gave this book one star based on prejudices and narrow-mindedness should consider a change in career/hobby. Regardless of personal beliefs this book deserves a rating of five stars...always has and always will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, Aug. 6 2003
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
The 2004 edition of Writer's Market is as complete and wonderful as it is every year. The massive paperback is brimming with tips and information about the craft as well as the business of writing. It is complete with contact information for book publishers, agents, and magazines. It also has a section on contests and awards, and a nice glossary. It is a good value.
My one gripe is that the book has ads in it. I count three cardboard inserts advertising their magazine, their Web site, workshops, and their other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About to be Published!, June 4 2004
By 
Jeff Wells (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
"2001 Writer's Market" (Cincinnati: Writer's Digest Books, 2000) + "Formatting & Submitting Your Manuscript" (Cincinnati: Writer's Digest Books, 2000) = the book, "Jeff Chandler, Film, Record, Radio, and Television Performances," by Jeff Wells.
ISBN 0-7864-2001-4, photographs and illustrations, filmography, notes, bibliography, index.
Not yet published. Available Fall 2004 from McFarland & Co., Inc., Publishers.
[...]
Thank you, Writer's Digest Books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Edition Yet, Sept. 10 2003
By 
Robert L. Brewer (Dayton OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write (Paperback)
I think the 2004 Writer's Market has the best articles I've ever read in the book. And I didn't even get the book for the articles. Except I'm glad they brought back the "How Much Should I Charge?" piece, because it helps me figure up my rates.
I also noticed there are many more markets, especially in the agent category. As a writer who's thinking about trying to get a book published, this is awesome! If the website has even more information, then I guess I better get that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write
Writer's Market: 8,000+ Book and Magazine Editors Who Buy What You Write by Brogan & Brewer Eds. (Paperback - Aug. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews