Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gook for those new to weightlifting
Very straight forward. Presented in an easy to digest style that cuts through the typical fitness garbage. I am looking forward to the next year while I implement the program.
Published 13 months ago by Warren Quirk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners
This book is probably great for people who are used to weight lifting and want to get bigger, but if you are a beginner look elsewhere! This book is short on diagrams and since it emphasises on compound weight lifting that incorporates all the major muscles, one might end up injuring themselves due to a absence of detailed diagrams. I suggest following youtube videos...
Published on Feb. 12 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners, Feb. 12 2012
This review is from: The New Rules of Lifting: Six Basic Moves for Maximum Muscle (Paperback)
This book is probably great for people who are used to weight lifting and want to get bigger, but if you are a beginner look elsewhere! This book is short on diagrams and since it emphasises on compound weight lifting that incorporates all the major muscles, one might end up injuring themselves due to a absence of detailed diagrams. I suggest following youtube videos initially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gook for those new to weightlifting, July 24 2013
By 
Warren Quirk (Edmonton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Lifting: Six Basic Moves for Maximum Muscle (Paperback)
Very straight forward. Presented in an easy to digest style that cuts through the typical fitness garbage. I am looking forward to the next year while I implement the program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 1 2009
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The problem with most health and fitness information is that everybody has a different opinion, and far too often none of the ones you look at seem to match up. The advantage of this new book is that it goes back to basics. It has a focus on six basic moves that will help to optimize for maximum muscle. The focus is for both beginners and for elite lifters.

Schuler and Cosgrove write with a very fluid and engaging style. Their writing not only makes you want to keep reading but to try to implement their ideas. They go through a series of techniques, exercises, programs, nutrition and life. In the end they remind us that lifting is not life, and that we need to have a balanced life.

The six core exercises they focus on are: Squat, Deadlift, Lunge, Push, Pull, Twist and Combo moves. They use these core exercises to build the core of your strength and of your routines. For each of the exercises they have a range of variations.

Lou and Alwyn have written a great fitness book. The writing is excellent, the research impeccable. The book also contains an extensive section of notes, and a great index to go back and search for something you read months ago when it comes time to make a change. This book is easy to read, easy to understand and if you're motivated, trouble-free to implement.

So if you are looking to start working out, or have been for years and need to change things up, check out this book. It has tools to help you here while at university and for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit for Lou Schuler!, June 4 2007
By 
S. Ciampa "sal" (Oak Ridges, Ontario CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like Lou Schuler's Testosterone Diet, I finished reading this book in a weekend. Lou's material is easy to read, understand and hard to put down. A great addition to my fitness collection.

I love the book because Lou breaks down working out into 6 simple movements for the most efficient and effective workout. Lou also includes several plans from fat loss to increasing size and strength.

The advice he offers is great and I've just begun the Fat Loss I plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get your maximum result now,, Nov. 12 2007
You might think that you do it right; you might think that there's no rules. But there are..
New Rules of Lifting is easy to read and follow, complete with warming up, nutrition, and meal planning. Although it's quite basic, but the resource is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Rules of Lifting: Six Basic Moves for Maximum Muscle
The New Rules of Lifting: Six Basic Moves for Maximum Muscle by Alwyn Cosgrove (Paperback - Dec 30 2008)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews