Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very gutsy, exhaustingly researched, a stunner...
I read some of the negative reviews here at Amazon and they all struck me as inane drivel of the highest degree. If you're going to agree or disagree with any thesis you have to show why. If all you're going to come up with is name-calling and arguments about "math in cereal" (!!!, man, give us a break) or other , even worse, "arguments" like...
Published on May 13 2004 by Takis Tz.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Hoagland's flight of fantasy
I had not heard of Mr. Hoagland until a recent appearance on a late-night radio show, during which he spoke about his book. Curious, I bought a copy and read it cover to cover.
After reading the book, my opinion changed. I thought I would be given realistic information to back up the extraordinary claims that he makes. Instead, I got a mass of mathematical...
Published on April 18 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very gutsy, exhaustingly researched, a stunner..., May 13 2004
By 
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
I read some of the negative reviews here at Amazon and they all struck me as inane drivel of the highest degree. If you're going to agree or disagree with any thesis you have to show why. If all you're going to come up with is name-calling and arguments about "math in cereal" (!!!, man, give us a break) or other , even worse, "arguments" like "NASA says it aint no face and that's what i believe" you're in my mind absolutely and positively hopeless. If, in the end, NASA and any institution of that order is for you a credible source, why bother thinking? Turn your brain OFFICIALLY off and let whomever, may that be NASA or anybody else, programm it for you. Why read what Hoagland or a number of other researchers out there profess?
"The Monuments Of Mars" is a book for people who are keen of doing something rare: think for themselves. In order to do that, you need to entertain whatever available notion out there even if it totally comes in conflict with the definition of the world in your mind. Especially if such a notion is well argumentated and has been hardly refuted with adequacy.
For those not familiar with what's presented in this book, here's a very ( and i mean, very) short summary: Hoagland along with a team of scientists ranging anywhere from geologists to physicists to computer programmers who resoluted photos, to historians and other specialties, analysed a vast series of photographs taken by NASA of the Cydonia region in Mars, photos in which the infamous "Face" appears, along with other clearly geometrical features such as pyramids or the clear designs of a former city. All these features, and their undisputed geometry, one would have to be either blind not to see, or terminally brainwashed.
The only question which remained, was to first verify through statistical probability, what the odds were of these features having been made "naturally". The odds are so staggeringly low that it would be a travesty to dismiss these as natural creations. The next, and more important questions have to do with who made them and why.
Why resort to odds when we could have more and clearer photographs of these features so the matter could be put to rest? Well, that's just it (especially for the naysayers), because Nasa refuses to rephotograph the region with a high resolution camera saying there's nothing there to be seen..And that despite all the "noise" about these features. Mysterious if not downright conspiratorial? Yes, obviously and undoudtedly so.
I don't intend to go more into what Hoagland says. You can pretty much imagine in broad lines, and besides it's your decicion and your inclination whether you'll invest the effort in reading his book anyway. To me, if your inclination is beforehand negative, you would've easily fit in in a past world who thought the world is flat because the church or "scientists" say so. And i could list a high number of such embarrasing examples, there's no shortage of them nor will there ever be.
As to the book itself, it is one which is incredibly researched. The degree of scholarship in it is superb, and more importantly, it is not the work of ONE person. Hoagland did not sit down and think all this up as some would like the case to be. There's a vast array of people who worked with him from the scientific community and who agree with him. There's also a number of other resarchers who did NOT research this subject but yet came to the same conclusions with him. Sitchin would be one. Robert Temple would be another. And the list does go on you know, as any search on alternative archaelogy in Amazon or elsewhere would show you.
The fact that we know only 5000-7000 years of human history when this planet numbers over a million years of existence means that we are actually in the dark about our origins. At least as far as "mainstream science" is concerned and this is a fact they accept themselves while offering us all kinds of comical explanations and tons of "missing links" in the process. The truth might be in fact very simple, that is, simple if you actually realise that the Universe is very probably bursting with intelligent life, not only now, but for millions of years in the past, and that the chance that we, are in very intriguing ways connected with the "out there" is also nothing shocking. It only is if you allow the world in your mind to be something painfully small.
Only reading this book will more than likely not be enough to provide you with all the data supporting such theories. Yes i mean data, and not speculations. Raw data. You will need to pick up some Sitchin, some Temple, some Colin Wilson, or others. Only then will you able to form a more spherical and stronger opinion.
But if you haven't done so up to now, Hoagland's book is a great place to start.
Absolutely essential material for people not content with the hilarious version of the truth spoon-fed to us on a daily basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Hoagland's flight of fantasy, April 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
I had not heard of Mr. Hoagland until a recent appearance on a late-night radio show, during which he spoke about his book. Curious, I bought a copy and read it cover to cover.
After reading the book, my opinion changed. I thought I would be given realistic information to back up the extraordinary claims that he makes. Instead, I got a mass of mathematical trivialities that were elevated to a near religious importance.
As a mathematician, I understand how someone with limited understanding of statistics and mathematics in nature can convince themselves of the importance of groupings that appear in nature. It is also important to note that in almost any system, one can pull out seemingly "stunning" mathematical relationships, IF they ignore all the information that falls outside of their self-defined parameters. That is what Mr. Hoagland does, and he is as guilty of "dogmatic thinking" as those he criticized during his radio appearance.
Since I assume this is Mr Hoagland's livelihood, I didn't want to simply criticize the fantastical "evidence" in the book without doing a small test. So here is what I did. I took a series of rocks from the woods near my home, and threw them into my son's sandbox. I then kicked a little sand at them to simulate the "raging winds of mars". Then I stood over the sandbox and looked. Not amazingly, there were several items that looked like they had sharp edges, as long as the definition of "sharp" allowed for slight sand cover and didn't require an actual straight line (much like Mr. Hoagland's criteria). Then I began measuring angles between the larger, more "significant" rocks. Again, not surprisingly, I quickly came up with multiple angles of 19.5, 33, and just for good measure, 47 - my age. Am I to make something of this "stunning" appearance of my age in my son's sandbox? No.
Mr. Hoagland's "math" and "science" are just as trivial. If someone chooses to read this book, it needs to be done with an open mind - not blind acceptance of one man's apparent obsession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 1/ (Resonable Doubt), Sept. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
Well.... the decision is yours. The Avebury region map overlay on Cydonia is hard to dismiss as coincidence. I just may take a visit to Stonehenge and check it out myself. The Brilliant Pebbles testing broadcast was also quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wordy, but thought-provoking, Sept. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
Hoagland is a conspiracy theorist of the highest order. He believes that there are ancient alien artefacts on Mars and that NASA has pictorial evidence of these objects but has chosen to conceal them from the public. The reason for this subterfuge is a 1960 government paper called the Brookings Report which recommended that if proof of alien civilizations were ever to be found on the moon or Mars, it would have to be supressed because of the profound religious impact it could have on humanity.
Hoagland's starting point is a handful of photos originally taken by one of the Viking orbiters in 1976 which shows what could be a face carved into the Martian rock in a region called Cydonia. Encouraged by this discovery, he has identified numerous other structures in the vicinity of this object, some of which could be pyramids. He also has found several numerous mathematical relationships linking these structures, which he believes add up to a message for humanity. Like Zecharia Sitchin and Erich von Daniken, Hoagland favours the alien intervention theory to explain Man's origins. (For those interested in the math, the related book is "The Monkey and the Tetrahedron" by David Jinks).
The main problem with Hoagland's book is its length. Hoagland is obviously not a writer so he writes as he speaks. The outcome is a long-winded dialogue on alien life, NASA cover-ups, photo analysis and mathematics which could easily be condensed into less pages. Some of his claims also stretch credulity to new limits - see for instance his theory about the Arabic writing that is supposedly apparent in one of the Mars photos, where he says this was intentionally inserted by NASA to spite his efforts!
Still, given the lengthy delays before NASA released the photos and the secrecy with which the organisation operates under, it's possible the pix were doctored to suit a cover-up agenda. If you read the book with an open mind you'll probably find it thought-provoking. The fact that it's in its 5th edition is perhaps testimony to the quality of its contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ..., Nov. 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
"It's also worthwhile to review Hoagland's claims regarding an alleged satellite photograph of three "asteroids" that created an internet frenzy in October of 1999. While never going so far as to state on his life that the asteroids were real, Hoagland sensationalized the story for all it was worth until he finally was forced to admit that the blurbs in the photo were not asteroids. This led him to make what was genuinely the most funny comment I have ever heard on talk-radio: that the blurbs in said photo were actually FAKE ASTEROIDS sent by benevolent extraterrestrials to warn us about REAL ASTEROIDS that were still going to hit on November 7th!!! He said that the ET prime directive, as depicted on Star Trek: The Next Generation, prohibited them from taking a more direct course of intervention."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What is really on the red planet, Oct. 8 2002
By 
Jason A Covert (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
I can't say that I understand most of the science stuff but I do get the point. That some very smart people have been looking into this subject for a while and have presented some very compelling evidence towards that end.
-SM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must-Have", April 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
Has science disproven the Face on Mars? Not even close. That's NASA's favorite thing to say... until they're asked exactly which study or scientific paper it was that disproved it. The scientific end has in fact been taken up by a number of willing science professionals who end up looking favorably on the possibility of artificiality. The most recent image of the Face (an image NASA promised, then had to have legal proceedings initiated before they complied) confirms a 10-year old prediction made by Richard Hoagland at an address given at the United Nations. This book should be required reading for anyone wanting a clearer window into some of what's become of our ambitious goals in space exploration and how our agencies perform without ever-increasingly vocal and careful scrutiny by the public, as well as other related and important subjects.
Hoagland's distinctive genius for exploring diverse connections without wandering from the reasonable covers a satisfying number of possible answers to the obvious questions ("Who built the Face on Mars, and why?" being several of them), and this book also gives a clear sense that it's not all about whether a Martian mesa resembles a face, but rather a whole collection of anomalous structures at Cydonia, Mars, each impressive on its own, that integrate into an even more compelling whole. The mathematics embodied in the five-sided "D & M" Pyramid on Mars alone should easily satisfy Carl Sagan's criteria that other civilizations should speak to us in the universal languages of mathematics and geometry (had Sagan not, strangely enough, campaigned against the very idea of Martian monuments... only to recind his opposition in his last book... sadly too late ever to see the fruits we could optimistically hope from such balanced outlooks as he eventually adopted).
It doesn't end there, though... Hoagland's researches go far beyond the simply the idea that we are being "spoken to" by Martian monuments, and give a suprisingly sober and timely idea of just what they may be saying...
At the same time, even in less "provocative" areas of inquiry - the subject of Martian water, or life on Europa, for example - Hoagland's Enterprise Mission still remains on the cutting edge of Mars, and space, exploration and science... Hoagland's ability to spark curiousity and interest in space exploration and science in even the most disinterested or unlikely persons could well make this fascinating book a most valuable asset to parents and educators. "Monuments of Mars" is an inspiring, unswerving example that science is still, after all, about asking questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An eternal Martian mystery, March 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever (Paperback)
Life on Mars. The very words evoke all kinds of visions - from HG Wells' bug-eyed creatures in his War of the Worlds to the little green men that form the basis of so many Disney cartoons. Whether you take the idea seriously or outwardly laugh at the concept, one thing's for sure - every man, woman and child out there wonders deep down inside whether there really is (or was) life on Mars. Instead of simply wondering though, Hoagland actually tries to prove it.
The problem however, is that proving it from a distance of several million miles is a thankless task. Not having the resources of NASA or the US government at his disposal, Hoagland therefore has to rely on photos and whatever data NASA deigns to release to the public. In other words, the evidence may not be ideal to start with and worse, may even be tainted by the issuer.
Conspiracy devotees (and X-Files afficionados) will love this but Hoagland hypothesizes that the US govt since the late 1950s has decided that humanity is not ready for confirmation of life on other planets. This was the conclusion of the Brookings Report, a NASA-commissioned report in 1958 which oddly enough, mentioned the possibility of finding alien artifacts on Mars and the moon and recommended such evidence be suppressed. The outcome is sanitized data and photos which have been passed thru several filters to remove key information. Despite these obstacles however, Hoagland has managed to piece together an absorbing theory which at the very least, will make you think. Give it a read, keep an open mind and be prepared to throw all preconceived notions about life and where we came from out the window. If you can do this, you'll have a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Face?, March 4 2002
By 
"titan2160" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Looks like there's a face and pyramids on Mars but it could just be trick of lights or not. We just won't know until we send a man mission to Mars. Could and would NASA hide the truth, probably so. This book give interesting views on Mars that are worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Face?, March 4 2002
By 
"titan2160" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Looks like there's a face and pyramids on Mars but it could just be trick of lights or not. We just won't know until we send a man mission to Mars. Could and would NASA hide the truth, probably so. This book give interesting views on Mars that are worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever
The Monuments of Mars: A City on the Edge of Forever by Richard C. Hoagland (Paperback - Jan. 31 2002)
CDN$ 37.50 CDN$ 23.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews