Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference for any real-time 3D programming
Finally, no more searching through all my college math textbooks for the reference I need for real-time 3D software development. The basics of vectors and matrices are of course included, but in much more depth than you got in school, more than likely - and with emphasis on how they are useful in 3D game programming. So many game developers lack an intuitive feel for such...
Published on Jan. 10 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Concise reference book , Helps if you already know the stuff
Warning! If you are like I was and do not know much about 3d math, this is NOT a book for you. The author looks like he knows a lot on the subject but fails to explain clearly how and why that stuff works. Some important concepts are explained in only half a page and will leave you with lots of unanswered questions. And the problem is, what good is a book like that if it...
Published on June 18 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference for any real-time 3D programming, Jan. 10 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
Finally, no more searching through all my college math textbooks for the reference I need for real-time 3D software development. The basics of vectors and matrices are of course included, but in much more depth than you got in school, more than likely - and with emphasis on how they are useful in 3D game programming. So many game developers lack an intuitive feel for such basics as transformation matrices, dot products, and cross products and are hobbled by this; just read up to chapter three and the lights will go on, so to speak. The chapter on lighting is particularly, well, enlightening - not only are the various lighting models explained in detail (including some I was unfamiliar with before), but the author provides means for accomplishing them in real-time using texture and vertex shaders.
The notation used in the book is modern and consistent, and the code samples clearly written. I believe this is the first volume to combine complete mathematical explanations of essential 3D computer graphics operations with practical advice on how to implement the sometimes complex math efficiently in real-time systems.
The chapters on picking and collision detection are also complete and include practical advice on implementation in addition to the theory behind it.
This is not a book for most high school math students - the author assumes you've at least been through some higher level math and can talk the basic language of mathematics. However, it does not presuppose that you are familiar with anything but basic calculus, and more importantly, it doesn't assume that you're familiar with some quirky notational system specific to the author. I haven't been in a math class for ten years, but I had no trouble understanding any concepts introduced in this book upon the first read.
I don't forsee this volume leaving my desk anytime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a rock-solid understanding of 3D math, Oct. 16 2003
By 
Dave Astle (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
This book provides a solid foundation for anyone who wants to develop a good understanding of the math behind computer graphics. The author provides clear and concise explanations of the concepts covered, backs them up with mathematical proofs, and usually discusses how the concepts can be applied in games, often with sample code. Each chapter has accompanying exercises that I recommended working through.
The topics covered include things you would expect like matrices, vectors, transformations, 3D geometry, and lighting, but also includes are topics like collision detection, ray tracing, visibility determination, and techniques such as billboarding and shadows. It concludes with several chapters on physics including fluid simulation, and a few useful appendices covering trig, complex numbers, and Taylor series.
If you're brand new to graphics and game programming and haven't had a math class in a while, then the somewhat textbook-like language may be a little daunting, but otherwise, this book is an excellent resource for those interested in solidifying their knowledge of 3D math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reference use only, lacks sample source code, Nov. 17 2002
By 
John (Portland, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
For reference only. This book is basically just filled with formulas (hence, all the other reviewers calling it a math book). This is not the kind of book that I would sit down and read from front to back, however I will keep it in my library.
Anytime you need a formula for your 3d application, you'll more than likely find it in this book. However, much of the book is lacking explanation. Some may like the fact that it is very much to the point, no messing around, here's the formula. I bought this book because I wanted to know more about matrices, rotation, views, and lighting. I was expecting to see more source code samples, especially source code that converts complex formulas into usable code. There are a few OpenGL snippets that do this, but not enough to satisfy my thirst. Hopefully, a newer edition will show each formula along with the corresponding code, or pseudo-code so that you can quickly make use of the formulas. Now, if you are interested in nifty things like decals, edge collapse, and billboarding, you'll find this info in the book. There are other useful tidbits like projectile motion, basic physics and fluid sim. There are many other topics so check the TOC.
4 stars:
For lacking source code samples and for lacking explanation. Front cover exploits OpenGL, but very little code exists (Less than 10 pages of code).
Introduction lacks definition of common 3D terms, so unless you have previous knowledge, this book will be a stumper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes, March 20 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
What a wonderful book.
Any beginner to computer graphics and game development is often overwhelmed by the mathematics that runs the show.
Until now, anyone new to the field has been forced to run self-taught refresher courses on Linear Algebra and Calculus while trying to learn an already-difficult subject. Small wonder that many developers quit out of frustration.
Most computer graphics books provide small backgrounders on the mathematics needed to get by, but almost none of them provides a thorough education and solid explanation on what's really going on. The worst in the group (such as "3D Game Engine Design") provide no assistance whatsoever, and leave the reader floundering by the end of the preface.
Mr. Lengyel's book provides solid mathematical theory on most of the major subjects in computer graphics/game development, and can be looked at as a companion volume to almost any computer graphics text.
3D transformations, lighting calculations, collision/intersection detection-- those are a few of the subjects discussed in the book, in such a way that the intermediate reader can follow along and learn the theory without having to cry for mother.
Please note that you need at least *some* mathematics background to make use of this book; if you're unfamiliar with basic calculus terms for instance, you'll probably want to take a pass, as this book isn't a complete hand-holder. You can only accomplish so much in 400 pages, after all.
For everyone else who took their college math classes (and subsequently forgot most of the material), this book is a great refresher and will get you ready for fully exploring computer graphics.
My only regret is that there's no second volume to discuss curved surfaces and slightly more advanced topics-- no one can have it all I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Concise reference book , Helps if you already know the stuff, June 18 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
Warning! If you are like I was and do not know much about 3d math, this is NOT a book for you. The author looks like he knows a lot on the subject but fails to explain clearly how and why that stuff works. Some important concepts are explained in only half a page and will leave you with lots of unanswered questions. And the problem is, what good is a book like that if it is for people who already know what the book is suppose to teach? Some chapters are almost identical to Mortenson's Mathematics for computer graphics applications. Really not enough on 3d game programming, just brief overviews. I think you will learn more on the subject with web resources. The author may be a 3D guru but he certainly is a bad teacher. You can see that customers that like the book already knew a lot on the subject. So beginners, stay away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books so far..., April 4 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
If this book had all exercises answered in the Answers section I'd give it a 5. It is a wonderfully clear book (so far, I am not done with it yet). It does more than crank out rote formulas, it proves them in an accessible fashion!
I have been able to use what I have taught myself to do my work with a better understanding (I recently joined a CAD company after years in non-graphics work) and this book has been helpful. I will finish this book as it is way better than its comptetion for covering the maths needed for modern computer graphics.
I have but one regret regarding this book, that I didn't have it 5 years ago when I started playing with OpenGL using the Red Book. I have wasted much time and money trying to find the information in this book to grasp the real tools beyond mere APIs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for The Whole Life, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Rodrigo Domingues (Barueri, São Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
Surely this is the book I was looking for.
Mostly of the 3D games books just presents codes and some few mentions to the maths techniques, without regarding the concepts behind them.
This one presents the Maths we use in 3D game development in such way that it does not bore the reader and yet makes him learn the math basis behind the 3D graphics programming, presenting, yet, some physics notes to implement a physics based engine.
If you just wanna code, certainly this is not the book for you, but if you are a serious developer (and programmer), surely this is the only book you should need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Mathematics Book, July 23 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
The book covers the mathematics behind today's 3D rendering engines quite impressively. Theorems and methods are backed by proofs and visual aid. When discussing topics such as quaternions, the book first builds the required background knowledge, and then shows the derivation of formulas. While many books simply print formulas with no explanation as to their origin, Lengyel's book describes in detail the mathematics behind the methods. I strongly recommend this book to any one interested in the field of computer graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book..., Feb. 22 2002
By 
Chris Utz (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
If you hate math this book is not for you. However, if you like math and are interested in actually learning the fundamentals that drive 3-D engines, you will find this book interesting. As stated by others already, it reads like a math text book and there is almost no code in it, however since it is a math book, this shouldn't really be a surprise. If you actually take the time to understand whats going on on every page, you'll walk away with a wealth of knowledge that will aid you in programming your own 3-D engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not for beginners...., Feb. 17 2002
By 
"jbrynt" (greenville, sc usa) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics (Hardcover)
This book is not for newbies in graphics, but it is a strong reference for someone with a start in programming and vector/matrix math. It reads very much like a MATH book, so it's sometimes confusing for those of us that are "mathematically challenged". Nice book though, could use more examples and a larger section on qauternions. Also touches on openGL... nothing on directX... there are better books out there: you just might have to buy a combination of books to get same info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics
Mathematics For 3d Game Prog & Graphics by Eric Lengyel (Hardcover - May 22 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews