Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars For any computer programmer using Bryce
The Bryce 5 Handbook by Shamms Mortier by computer graphics expert Shamms Mortier is a superbly presented and written guide to using Corel's Bryce 5 program for the creation of marvelous, three-dimensional graphics in games, animation, movies, and more. Individual chapters accessibly address the basics of Bryce, terrain models and objects, deep texture, infinite planes,...
Published on July 8 2002 by Midwest Book Review

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay Away
If you are evening considering for a second to buy this book, do one thing first, type Shamms Mortier (the author) into the amazon search engine and arrange the books from their publication date. Scan the titles and note the number of stars his past books have received. He has five 1 star books, twelve 2 star books, and two 3 star books. Surprisely he has no 4 or 5 star...
Published on Oct. 20 2002 by Jason White


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Stay Away, Oct. 20 2002
By 
Jason White (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
If you are evening considering for a second to buy this book, do one thing first, type Shamms Mortier (the author) into the amazon search engine and arrange the books from their publication date. Scan the titles and note the number of stars his past books have received. He has five 1 star books, twelve 2 star books, and two 3 star books. Surprisely he has no 4 or 5 star books. Shamms has a repuation for writing books of extremely low quality on topics he knows nothing about. He's also infamous for his 'max-the-parameter' style teaching in which he instructs the reader to crank an option to its highest setting to see what it does. He's really a horrible teacher, because he doesn't know the material, doesn't have any artistic ability, doesn't know how to write, and doesn't care about the end product. He also doesn't seem to care about ripping off his fellow man.
So enough about him, how was the book? It [stinks]. If you like to waste your money, there are much better ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For any computer programmer using Bryce, July 8 2002
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
The Bryce 5 Handbook by Shamms Mortier by computer graphics expert Shamms Mortier is a superbly presented and written guide to using Corel's Bryce 5 program for the creation of marvelous, three-dimensional graphics in games, animation, movies, and more. Individual chapters accessibly address the basics of Bryce, terrain models and objects, deep texture, infinite planes, lights, object animation and much more. Screenshots, illustrations, and step-by-step instructions make The Bryce 5 Handbook a first-rate and highly recommended resource for any computer programmer using Bryce. An accompanying CD-ROM features demo versions of several applications, tutorial project files, and color images from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Book, Feb. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
With the many good books out there related to Photoshop and other graphic programs it is a shame that this book is the only one available for Bryce 5. Someone ought to take this author aside and help him reduce his arrogant attitude related to teaching. It is not OK to tell someone who needs help that the authors instructions are to be at a level for experts and that he is not going to stoop so low as to explain fundamentals.
I rated this book as a 1 and would have given it a 1/2 star if such a rating existed.
I actually found the Bryce 5 instruction book that came with the software to be more helpful than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars utter crud-o-la, Dec 24 2002
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
okay i have this book and now all i want to do is to warn people not to buy this book... read the other reviews on this page (besides the obvious fake 5 star written by the publishing company) and you will see we are all in agreement: "shamms is a sham!" the only thing positive i can say about this manual is that they spelled some the name of the program right. i also bought the poser 4 book at the same time and man oh man is that crud to. your best bet is to stay away from Mortier at all costs. don't let this shmuck make any more money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars R. Shamms Mortier great artist but bad writer, July 20 2003
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
I have never seen or read anything from this author that is good in any way. He took a simple program and turned it into a nightmare I have been using Bryce for years (3 thru 5). I'm an advanced user and I couldn't make heads or tales of what he was even trying to say. If you want a good book that will start simple and work its way up the ladder get (Real World Bryce 4 by Susan Kitchens ) this is by far the best book out there and it works with 5 also not enough diffrence between 4 & 5 to let it bother you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written and Edited, July 29 2002
By 
P. Yoshida (Marco Island, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a beginner because it was the only version 5 book. I tried to work through the examples and most of them do not work. There are numbered interface diagrams that do not match up the numbers with the text. As a beginner you cannot make sense of this poorly written book without the help of Bryce manual which I would have been better off with. I have since purchased Real World Bryce 4 and have learned more in 100 pages than I did from reading this whole book. Spend your money elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Technically accurate, but not worth the money, July 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
While this is the only Bryce 5 reference I am aware of, I would still sooner recommend Susan Kitchens' Real World Bryce 4. Mortier's handbook is technically accurate and covers the essentials, but so do the manual and third-party web tutorials. While Kitchens' book is insightful artisitcally and contains complex, practical, and appealing examples, Mortier's book appears simplistic and sloppy. Read the manual and buy Real World Bryce 4 if you want something more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buy Real World Bryce 4 Instead., Aug. 25 2002
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
Even if you are currently using version 5 of Bryce, there is only one book available that is worth you dollars, and that is Real World Bryce 4 by Kitchens and Gavenda. Real World Bryce 4 is an excellent reference for the software. The only major differences between Bryce 4 and Bryce 5 are tree lab and metaball. Both of these utilities are easy to learn, therefore you are better with the Real World Bryce 4 book and referring to the manual for these 2 utilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars AN AWFUL, AWFUL BOOK, May 8 2003
By 
DARTH (PALM BEACH. FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bryce 5 Handbook (Paperback)
IT'S A SHAME THAT THIS BOOK IS THE ONLY ONE ON SALE DEALING WITH BRYCE 5. THIS BOOK IS WORSE THAN THE MANUAL THAT CAME WITH THE SOFTWARE (IF THAT'S POSSIBLE). THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE DIFFICULT TO FOLLOW AND THE WRITER TELLS US RIGHT OFF THE BAT HE WILL NOT BE DEALING WITH BASICS. IF WE DIDN'T NEED HELP WITH THE SOFTWARE WE WOULDN'T BUY THE BOOK IN THE FIRST PLACE. THE BOOK IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY AND THE AUTHOR SHOULD BE REPLACED WITH SOMEONE WHO CAN WRITE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bryce 5 Handbook
The Bryce 5 Handbook by Shamms Mortier (Paperback - May 23 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews