Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Beginner AI book
Gives concrete explanation of each algorithm and real examples. Most other AI books were a blur until I read this one.
Published on Jan. 18 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice attempt
This is a basic overview of AI programming with a focus on applications. I commend the author for his efforts, but still recommend AI Game Programming Wisdom instead.
Published on June 5 2004 by Taddese Zicke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars not really what I was searching for...., July 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
I suppose this book would be good for those wanting at best a cursory glance at the world of AI (I applaud the author for the breadth of material covered), but for those looking for any practical grounding into AI, this book falls sadly short. There are examples in each chapter, but it seems that what theory is explained is just barely enough to get you by to understand them.
I though the book would be more in-depth. Plus there are several annoying math slip-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice attempt, June 5 2004
By 
Taddese Zicke (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
This is a basic overview of AI programming with a focus on applications. I commend the author for his efforts, but still recommend AI Game Programming Wisdom instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Beginner AI book, Jan. 18 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "josephcn" (SAN ANTONIO, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
Gives concrete explanation of each algorithm and real examples. Most other AI books were a blur until I read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, in depth, recursively precise!, Jan. 5 2004
By 
T. Fitzpatrick "Thornite" (Mid-State NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
I enjoyed working through this text, but not without some re-visiting of my calculus classes and trigonometry brush-ups.
All in all a very good book, and also a great Graduate level reference for the inner workings of actual Artificial Intelligence algorithms.
If you are well prepared, this book is to the point, and well worth the read. Prepare for a visit to College-level Physics theorems, as many algorithms given require a working knowledge of the advanced principles of the science.
Hope this helps-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erratum question, Nov. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
Re the comments below, I contact the publisher on the Internet and ask if they had a erratum sheet. In less than a day, a copy was sent to me, and they also have those sheets onsite for most of their publications. Additionally, a second edition was released in October which corrected the identifiable errors. A class act in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Has some mistakes... but not for long, Nov. 20 2003
By 
nerdyguy1618 (Long Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
This book is a great idea. I am enjoying reading it and working through the examples. I get hooked on each topic, and I find myself absorbed in learning the algorithms and playing with the code. The code is readable, and the author explains the code well.
Unfortunately, there are some errors in this book. I originally complained in my review about not having found any errata on the publisher's site. It turns out they are there now. Last I checked, you get to the errata from the main page, not from the book's page. I am corresponding with the author about some errors that haven't been caught yet. He has been very responsive.
Once the errors get caught and fixed, this will be an amazing book. I don't know of any other quite like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction for beginners to AI, Sept. 13 2003
By 
Dr. Lee D. Carlson (Baltimore, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
Artificial intelligence has grown by leaps and bounds in the last 50 years, but during this time it has also seen a lot of valleys and backwashes, especially in the field of robotics. The unrelenting obsession, driven mostly by military needs, for creating autonomous thinking robots has met with considerable disappointment in the last few decades. This has caused some researchers to distance themselves from the words "artifical intelligence" in order to regain the confidence of funding sources. Thus one hears the words "computational intelligence" or "cognitive science" to describe the field. But sometimes words can accurately describe concepts or properties even they were chosen somewhat cavilierly. "Computational intelligence" could thus be viewed as that branch of artificial intelligence which primarily deals with algorithms designed to deal with large amounts of data, finding interesting and nontrivial patterns thereof.
The content of this book could be viewed as a collection of algorithms in computational intelligence, but also includes topics not usually included in this classification, such as intelligent agents. Indeed, the concept of intelligent agents that the author discusses in the last chapter of the book draws on what he has done before it. The techniques and algorithms that he discusses in these chapters, such as neural networks, genetic algorithms, fuzzy logic, decision trees, and natural language processing, supply the decision-making capabilities for the intelligent agents. These intelligent agents can be viewed as a step towards resolving one of the major issues in artificial intelligence, namely of constructing intelligent software or machines that work in more than one domain. Playing good chess does not mean playing good poker, but developments in agent theory show promise in making expertise in both of these games a reality.
Some of the algorithms discussed in the book have their origins in physics (simulated annealing), biology (adaptive resonance theory, ant algorithms, genetic algorithms, and artificial life), and brain modeling (neural networks). The reader will also be introduced to some of the older methods in artificial intelligence, such as rule-based systems (loosely referred to as GOFAI for "good ole-fashioned artificial intelligence by some researchers). Source code in ANSI C is given for the algorithms, even though the resulting programs are command-line driven. In spite of this, and in spite of no use whatsoever made of Prolog or LISP, all of the chapters in this book will serve to introduce the beginning student or practicing scientist to useful algorithms in AI.
After many letdowns in the past five decades, and also many accomplishments, artificial intelligence is now taking off, and has invaded many different fields with a vengeance. Indeed, financial engineering, bioinformatics, network engineering, elementary particle physics, manufacturing, computer games, and many other fields are making heavy use of intelligent algorithms. A lot of this use has been driven also by the rise of the Internet and the dramatic increase in computational power of computer hardware. Even robotics, the field that has been a source of frustration for researchers in AI, has now shown every sign of finally moving ahead. Without a doubt the 21st century will see the presence of thinking machines. These may not take the form they do in popular entertainment, but in whatever context they are used, one will be able to trace their abilities to the painstaking and patient efforts of the many early researchers in AI. The minds of these machines, however exotic they may be, however advanced they may be, and however they are used, will be products of the incredible originality and skill of the human mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Right on. This is a good book..., July 8 2003
By 
Robert K. Tribit "BKT" (Mckinney, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AI Application Programming (Paperback)
...in fact it is outstanding. This a modern text on AI. AI in my mind has been an oxymoron at best, and a terrible hoax at worst. Current AI had been little more than recursive interation through a problem set, but with focus on modifying the problem/solution set, and or algorithm in what was hoped an intelligent manner through each iteration to arrive at a solution. This is ofcourse a far cry from the early promise of AI, which the author handily acknowledges in the first chapter of the book detailing the history of AI.
The author has a clear goal with this book. Demystify the current state of the art, in the hopes that a baseline is established with the current generation of programmers with which to build on and possibly raise the bar.
This books captures a wide range of AI techniques (i.e. simulated annealing, adaptive resonance theory, ant algorithms, backpropagation algorithms, genetic algorithms/programming, artificial life/evolving neural networks, expert systems, fuzzy logic, hidden markov models, and intelligent agents) and provides ready to run and modify algorithms. The language chosen is C, with faint hints of lisp for some of the data sets. I found this a welcome change, as most hardcore AI books are heavy with the lisp, and heavy with the math. The C is simple, clear, and explained. There is some math, but it is no where near as overwhelming as it is in other AI books.
The analogies chosen are clear and spot on. After reading this book I felt smarter for having read it, and excited to practice some of the techniques learned. I even had thoughts of trying combinations of them for certain problems and also just for fun.
In short, the author has given me renewed hope for AI as a practical technology, and more importantly has not made me feel my money was ill spent. This book was a gamble for me, and I suspect it will be a gamble for others. Rest assured that it is worth the risk, even if you can't readily use any of the techniques it at the very least will spark the imagination and provide inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AI Application Programming
AI Application Programming by M Tim Jones (Paperback - Oct. 17 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews