Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars True Christmas story, Goregeous illustrations, May 5 2004
By A Customer
This is the type of Christmas story that makes you remember what Christmas is suppose to be all about. The illustrations in this book are exquisite . The story is all about a tree that gets picked over every year when people come to choose a Christmas tree.The problem is the tree has been there for years and has grown too tall for anyone to use for a Christmas tree.This greatly upsets the tree and he begins to cry.All the forest animals who love the tree for all that he has provided for them see this and decide to do something to make the tree realize how much he is appreciated and loved by them. So when the tree is asleep , they come and decorate the tree in there own version of a Christmas tree. Very nicely done, smooth text, sure to be a Christmas regular once you have read it. The illustrations alone would make this book a wonderful edition to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love Christmas trees in Florida, too !, Nov. 3 2000
As a former Ohio resident who has lived in Florida for 30 years, I, as all my neighbors, love Christmas, even without the snow. This book is an extension of that love, and everything that is good about Christmas; emotion, caring and love for others.
The illustrations are beautiful, but the message is just as important. I read it to my grandchildren and they almost cried, until the end, when they yelled with delight at the perfectly complete and timed ending. This book is now a holiday ritual for our family. I recommend this book to all who love the spirit of Christmas, regardless of religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Trees are appreciated!, Sept. 23 2001
By 
Ann Holeso (Death Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
If one wishes to learn the meaning of life, goodness, and generosity to others, you must read this book! Being from Michigan, and now living in the desert, I can bring the cold and snow into our home to my two young children.
The story tells of a sad tree who so wishes to be a Christmas tree and how his dear friends help him feel proud and special by a simple act of kindness.
You will read this book year-round and it will become a favorite Christmas story as it is in our home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Story, Dec 19 2001
By 
K. Roth (Columbiaville, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a pretty story to read aloud to your kids at Christmas time. The tree is too big to be a Christmas tree so he sobs and feels sorry for himself. The animals cheer him up by showing him that he means more to them than just being a Christmas tree. It is beautifully illustrated, making the price of it somewhat justified. It is great to see Michigan natives writing/illustrating true to form!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Holiday Treat for Young & Old, if I May Be So Bold, Oct. 20 2000
By A Customer
A delightful new book that may rival "'Twas the Night Before Christmas as holiday poetry for the whole family. Every page sparkles with rhyme and the illustrations are a feast for the eyes. The story is simple enough for pre-schoolers enjoy while young readers will be able to read it themselves. If you believe in friendship, kindness and holiday happiness, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Wish to be a Christmas Tree, Dec 7 2001
By A Customer
One of the best Christmas books I have ever read! This book tells about a lonesome tree and how he was bored standing all alone, then friends decorated him and he loved it. It really touched me how they did that. That is true friends. Overall just a great book about Christmas and Friendship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Christmas story for young children., June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good book for young children that has good moral messaging. The message is simple. The illustrations are lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story with a moral!, Nov. 20 2002
By 
Very Happy "Happy Parent" (Shavertown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This is my favorite christmas story yet. The illustrations are beautiful and even has a great moral which kids can learn from, esp for the holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, Jan. 7 2011
By 
Storywraps "Marilyn" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book entitled "A Wish to be a Christmas Tree" is a wonder to behold. The author is Colleen Monroe and it is illustrated by Michael Glenn Monroe. Together the team has exhibited one of the most sensitive and gorgeous looking picture books that you have ever seen. The lonely tree waits year after year for someone to pick him to be their favourite Christmas tree. He grows taller and taller and is always overlooked. This wonderful story states what Christmas is all about. The gift of giving shows the power of love and devotion given by a collection of his animal friends. They try to cheer up this sad and rejected treejby decorating him with the beauty that only they can provide. His forest friends all pull together to make happiness radiate from this tree and give him his heart's desire- to be chosen. The illustrations are simply stunning and worthy of framing. Between the touching text words and the enriched illustrations this book is truly a winner and classic.i Highly, highly recommended for your Christmas collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wish to be a Christmas Tree
A Wish to be a Christmas Tree by Colleen Monroe (Board book - Oct. 29 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews