Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Board bookChange
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 7, 2011
The book entitled "A Wish to be a Christmas Tree" is a wonder to behold. The author is Colleen Monroe and it is illustrated by Michael Glenn Monroe. Together the team has exhibited one of the most sensitive and gorgeous looking picture books that you have ever seen. The lonely tree waits year after year for someone to pick him to be their favourite Christmas tree. He grows taller and taller and is always overlooked. This wonderful story states what Christmas is all about. The gift of giving shows the power of love and devotion given by a collection of his animal friends. They try to cheer up this sad and rejected treejby decorating him with the beauty that only they can provide. His forest friends all pull together to make happiness radiate from this tree and give him his heart's desire- to be chosen. The illustrations are simply stunning and worthy of framing. Between the touching text words and the enriched illustrations this book is truly a winner and classic.i Highly, highly recommended for your Christmas collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2004
This is the type of Christmas story that makes you remember what Christmas is suppose to be all about. The illustrations in this book are exquisite . The story is all about a tree that gets picked over every year when people come to choose a Christmas tree.The problem is the tree has been there for years and has grown too tall for anyone to use for a Christmas tree.This greatly upsets the tree and he begins to cry.All the forest animals who love the tree for all that he has provided for them see this and decide to do something to make the tree realize how much he is appreciated and loved by them. So when the tree is asleep , they come and decorate the tree in there own version of a Christmas tree. Very nicely done, smooth text, sure to be a Christmas regular once you have read it. The illustrations alone would make this book a wonderful edition to own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2000
As a former Ohio resident who has lived in Florida for 30 years, I, as all my neighbors, love Christmas, even without the snow. This book is an extension of that love, and everything that is good about Christmas; emotion, caring and love for others.
The illustrations are beautiful, but the message is just as important. I read it to my grandchildren and they almost cried, until the end, when they yelled with delight at the perfectly complete and timed ending. This book is now a holiday ritual for our family. I recommend this book to all who love the spirit of Christmas, regardless of religion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2001
If one wishes to learn the meaning of life, goodness, and generosity to others, you must read this book! Being from Michigan, and now living in the desert, I can bring the cold and snow into our home to my two young children.
The story tells of a sad tree who so wishes to be a Christmas tree and how his dear friends help him feel proud and special by a simple act of kindness.
You will read this book year-round and it will become a favorite Christmas story as it is in our home.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2001
This is a pretty story to read aloud to your kids at Christmas time. The tree is too big to be a Christmas tree so he sobs and feels sorry for himself. The animals cheer him up by showing him that he means more to them than just being a Christmas tree. It is beautifully illustrated, making the price of it somewhat justified. It is great to see Michigan natives writing/illustrating true to form!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2000
A delightful new book that may rival "'Twas the Night Before Christmas as holiday poetry for the whole family. Every page sparkles with rhyme and the illustrations are a feast for the eyes. The story is simple enough for pre-schoolers enjoy while young readers will be able to read it themselves. If you believe in friendship, kindness and holiday happiness, you'll enjoy this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2001
One of the best Christmas books I have ever read! This book tells about a lonesome tree and how he was bored standing all alone, then friends decorated him and he loved it. It really touched me how they did that. That is true friends. Overall just a great book about Christmas and Friendship!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2002
This is my favorite christmas story yet. The illustrations are beautiful and even has a great moral which kids can learn from, esp for the holidays.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
This is a good book for young children that has good moral messaging. The message is simple. The illustrations are lovely.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Christmas Wish
The Christmas Wish by Lori Evert (Hardcover - Sept. 10 2013)
CDN$ 17.61

Bear Stays Up for Christmas
Bear Stays Up for Christmas by Karma Wilson (Board book - Oct. 4 2011)
CDN$ 9.49

The Spirit of Christmas
The Spirit of Christmas by Nancy Tillman (Board book - Sept. 8 2015)
CDN$ 8.99