Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gems of insight and clinical expertise
Collaboratively written by skilled child psychiatrist Daniel J. Sigel and parenting educator Mary Hartzell, Parenting From The Inside Out: How A Deeper Self-understanding Can Help You Raise Children Who Thrive is a thoroughly "reader friendly" psychological guide to improving one's parenting skills through improved self-understanding and through learning from one's own...
Published on May 17 2003 by Midwest Book Review

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Boring
Published 1 month ago by Lindy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gems of insight and clinical expertise, May 17 2003
Collaboratively written by skilled child psychiatrist Daniel J. Sigel and parenting educator Mary Hartzell, Parenting From The Inside Out: How A Deeper Self-understanding Can Help You Raise Children Who Thrive is a thoroughly "reader friendly" psychological guide to improving one's parenting skills through improved self-understanding and through learning from one's own childhood experiences. Presented in terms accessible to parents of all backgrounds, Parenting From The Inside Out offers gems of insight and clinical expertise and is a strongly recommended addition to personal and community library Parenting Skills reading lists and reference shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As simple as it is profound, as warm as it is scientific, April 22 2003
It's impossible to say something can change your life without slipping into cliche-land, but this book is all about the possibility of change and the crux of life: brain, to mind, to heart, and though the book is too grounded in science to say it, to soul; it's the neurology behind the fact that mind is love; but more than anything the ideas in this book are simply fascinating and useful! I have read other work by Dan Siegel and each time I revisit his sythesis of brain science, attachment theory and a warm-hearted psychiatrist's view of Buber's I-Thou, I am filled with new thoughts and emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start, May 31 2009
By 
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
Being that I was raised by people who should never have had kids, this book really opened my eyes in many ways. I am happy with the purchase. This is definalty one of those books that should be a required reading for all parents. A lot of information on the human mind and its responce to various types of parenting.

Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., March 19 2010
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
This book provides insights that will be helpful for anyone who has ever been a child. It is very accessible for the general reader and will be of interest to those wanting to learn more about the intimate relationship between parents and children and how these early relationships can influence our own parenting abilities and relating closely to others. As a psychologist, one of the few books I recommend to my clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help yourself, help your kids!, Dec 1 2011
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
I found this book explained so much of my own childhood that not only do I expect it to help with my parenting skills but also I have understood more and more about how my childhood has affected me as an adult. I strongly recommend this book to anyone especially those considering being a parent but this insight this book offers is suitable for ANYONE, parent or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read for parents, April 14 2009
By 
Julia Henshall "heartdance" (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
every parent should read - how your life and experiences as individuals filter out in your parenting! How to stem the tide of bias and prevent negative unintentional influences on your precious children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meeting the real needs, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
Practical way of making the innermost feelings understood.
First the parents get helped, then the also children can be understood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it explains seemed complicate things clearly and very easy to understand for anyone not just parents. I can't wait for the new edition to come out. I'd highly recommend this book to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parenting from the Inside Out, Jan. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I read all the simple explanations first and then went back to read the tech info on the brain. That way I had a base of knowledge. Everything made so much sense. A great addition to any family library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parenting from the Inside Out review, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parenting From the Inside Out (Paperback)
This is a self development book though looking at the write up one would not automatically assume so. For people who want to make lasting changes to their relationships with significant others. This book goes hand in hand with The Whole Brain Child Book by Richard Siegel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parenting From the Inside Out
Parenting From the Inside Out by Mary Hartzell (Paperback - April 26 2004)
CDN$ 16.50 CDN$ 11.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews