Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't start grad school without it!!!
This is the single most useful, insightful book about procrastination I have ever read. (much better than say, Albert Ellis's). Most books on procrastination just tell you to do a better job of beating up on yourself. If you are enough of an achiever to get into grad school, you are probably already quite adept at this.

What makes Fiore's book so important...
Published on Sept. 4 2007 by webbiest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It could help, but needs better organization
This is the first 'self-help' book I've read. Admittedly, I dont put a lot of stock into them, especially when they're more 'coaching' than 'system'. This was book was in between. Some of Fiore's ideas could help a person, but he could have distilled them a lot easier. At the end of the day, it's be confident in your abilities, think positive about yourself, know hard...
Published on Jan. 26 2012 by SBuckle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't start grad school without it!!!, Sept. 4 2007
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
This is the single most useful, insightful book about procrastination I have ever read. (much better than say, Albert Ellis's). Most books on procrastination just tell you to do a better job of beating up on yourself. If you are enough of an achiever to get into grad school, you are probably already quite adept at this.

What makes Fiore's book so important for grad students (or any knowledge worker facing a large, amorphous, unbounded task) is that the insights are derived from Fiore's experiences in counselling doctoral candidates. Working as a counsellor, Fiore observed what distinguished students who thrived and finished, from those who languished. The successful ones were NOT smarter. Nor were they more "self disciplined" in the sense of depriving themselves and suffering more. Nope. The successful ones produced more because they played more. And they suffered less than those who pushed themselves harder by depriving themselves.

If you are in graduate school, finding it just a TEENSY bit miserable... you owe it to yourself to try this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Practical Program for Understanding and Addressing the P-Word, March 31 2012
By 
Rule 62 Ken (Abbotsford, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
In The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play, Dr. Neil Fiore writes a concise but complete manual for procrastinators who want to break the habit and become "producers." Dr. Fiore starts in logical fashion to explain why we procrastinate (feeling like a victim, feeling overwhelmed or fear of failure or success) and then sets out a process for us to learn how we procrastinate. Dr. Fiore's novel approach treats procrastination not as a moral failure or character defect, but as learned behaviour that can become unlearned. He goes onto describe a practice of changing our mental paradigm from people who feel confined and compelled into people who are making choices. The emphasis is on starting rather than completing, and on being human rather than being perfect.

The author introduces and explains a number of novel and freeing concepts such as guilt-free play and the "unschedule" which can be used to make the transition from procrastinator to producer. He also provides some helpful suggestions for overcoming common obstacles and how to work toward a "flow state" in which we are "in the zone" of our assigned tasks. He provides some helpful ideas on being flexible in becoming more productive and concludes with a very helpful chapter about how we can peacefully coexist with procrastinating colleagues, co-workers and partners.

I found the principles and ideas provided in this book to be very helpful. They are adaptable to every walk of life, including the creative and the professional. If you have issues with procrastination, the time it takes to complete these easily read 200 pages may pay dividends for your career and your peace of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Motivation!, Feb. 9 2012
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
Motivating! Understanding the why gives insight into how to do something about procrastination. An excellent purchase for a problem procrastinator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It could help, but needs better organization, Jan. 26 2012
By 
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
This is the first 'self-help' book I've read. Admittedly, I dont put a lot of stock into them, especially when they're more 'coaching' than 'system'. This was book was in between. Some of Fiore's ideas could help a person, but he could have distilled them a lot easier. At the end of the day, it's be confident in your abilities, think positive about yourself, know hard work is always rewarded and take small steps with everything. Practicing all that is what takes time and belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DO IT NOW, Feb. 20 2009
By 
Guy (Montréal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
Among the best books which analyse the procrastination and that give tools to avoid traps. Stop delaying, do it now, read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but it looks good., Nov. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play (Paperback)
Haven't gotten around to reading it yet, but it looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews