Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny, Funny
The humour of Brendan O'Carroll is unmatched. I found this book on a shelf while visiting my sister-in-law. It was a very dogged eared copy as she told me she often rereads it. After reading it I can see why. O'Carroll paints a very realistic picture how life must have been living in Dublin's "Jarro" during the 60's. I highly recommend it to everyone.
Published on Nov. 24 2011 by JDenny41

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Agnes Browne
Agnes Browne is about a single mother of seven children in Dublin, Ireland and their life struggles. When I first read the book, I didn't expect anything from it. It wasn't truly a bad book, so it is something for other readers to give a try. This book can be anything to the reader, whether it be hilarious to downright heartwarming.
Published on April 19 2004 by sally


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny, Funny, Nov. 24 2011
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
The humour of Brendan O'Carroll is unmatched. I found this book on a shelf while visiting my sister-in-law. It was a very dogged eared copy as she told me she often rereads it. After reading it I can see why. O'Carroll paints a very realistic picture how life must have been living in Dublin's "Jarro" during the 60's. I highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family at it's funniest and finest, May 1 2014
By 
Sylvia Holt (B.C., Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
Reading just doesn't get better...or funnier...or closer to the heart. I laughed out loud and dabbed at the tears and then ordered the rest of Brendan O'Carroll's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mammy, May 2 2013
By 
Helen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mammy (Kindle Edition)
You me laugh and you made me cry both in happiness and sadness thanks, nice to read the early times of the brown family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mammy, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
This is exactly the kind of book I enjoy reading , great descriptions of the characters and life at that time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit o' the Irish for ye reading, June 16 2004
By 
CincinnatiPOV "Bibliophile" (Cincinnati, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
Legend has it that if you capture a leprechaun, he will bring you good luck. Brendan O'Carroll must have had the luck of the wee people with him when he wrote The Mammy, a truly hilarious book.
O'Carroll, who acted in the film Angela's Ashes, wrote The Mammy as the first in an upcoming series of three. His debut novel hits its mark with every joke and captures the essence of working-class Ireland.
The series centers on a widowed mother, Agnes Browne, and her seven children, all living in Dublin, Ireland in the 1960s. Her youngest son, a toddler, speaks little but repeats every curse word he hears. Her oldest son tries to seduce girls with licorice and finds himself plagued by a number of puberty-related problems.
The Mammy opens with what could be a heartbreaking scene of loss and sorrow: the death of Browne's husband. But with apt amounts of Irish wit, O'Carroll turns the funeral scene into a hilarious escapade that leaves Browne cursing her late spouse.
The funeral parties get backed up entering the cemetery, so Browne loses track of which coffin belongs to her husband. Without realizing it, she follows the wrong body and is surprised when she sees another woman crying by the gravesite. Without a second's thought, Browne assumes the grieving woman is her late husband's mistress and mutters "'Yeh dirty bastard" under her breath.
Another comical scene ensues when Browne attacks a nun with a cucumber and ends up in court - all because of a pair of knickers. The tale itself is nearly as funny as when Browne has to explain it to the judge. Soon, her only daughter takes the stand and, with a little Irish luck, Browne wins the case.
In The Mammy, Agnes Browne becomes an every-woman, the ultimate mother and friend. She manages her children (a wild brood), helps her friend through cancer and handles her husband's death with grace. And through O'Carroll's imaginative writing, just about everything Browne does is funny.
In the end, the book itself becomes a little treasure lying at the end of an Irish rainbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' Agnes Browne!!, May 3 2004
By 
"bookchickadee" (Landover, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agnes Browne Tie In (Paperback)
What a wonderful book this was. Brendan O'Carroll really has a way with words! He'll have you laughing and crying all at the same time!
You will fall in love with Agnes Browne, a single mother and a dear friend. Any child would be so lucky to have a Mammy such as Agnes and I think we all could use a friend like her. If for nothing else, she's have you laughing so hard you about fall outta your chair!
This book was a really quick read. Partly due to the fact that it's a short book and also because it's so enjoyable to read. I would classify this as a light read. So, if you're looking for something light and fun ~ your answer is within this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Mammy, April 19 2004
By 
Mike Wall (East Lyme CT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
The Browne family of Ireland is a big family one that has seven count them seven children six boys and one little girl. Than unexpectedly there father who they called Redser died. He left his wife now a widow behind with seven children and pretty much no money. In a way these brought these Browne kids together they would watch each others back they had a saying in the book "if you messed with one Browne you messed with seven". It also shows how the mother took the death of her husband. Because now not only did she have to raise seven kids on her own, she had to be the mother and the father to seven little children. The way I rate books is if the book is so good that it makes you never want to put it down. With this book I got that it was a great book one of the best I have ever read. In a rating of 1-5 with five being the best I would rate this book a four and a half, just is a great book and I would recommend this book to anyone who like a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Agnes Browne, April 19 2004
By 
sally (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agnes Browne Tie In (Paperback)
Agnes Browne is about a single mother of seven children in Dublin, Ireland and their life struggles. When I first read the book, I didn't expect anything from it. It wasn't truly a bad book, so it is something for other readers to give a try. This book can be anything to the reader, whether it be hilarious to downright heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars things will never change, April 19 2004
By 
dave gibson (manchester ct USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agnes Browne Tie In (Paperback)
The story of Agnes Browne by Brendan O' Carroll is also a story that is sure to make yoy reminisce about your childhood memories, for those who remembers just getting by managing from week to week trying to support your family "The Mammy" is sure to make you smile. The story of Agnes Browne is a story about living through the good times and bad times. Agnes ventures out into life in the beginnig and manages to support her family without her husband Redsar who is deceased. she is a woman of strengh and determination. After reading this book you will find that Agnes Browne is a woman determined to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful story balancing sorrow with joy, Jan. 25 2004
By 
C. Stephans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mammy (Paperback)
The Mammy is an eloquently written story about a family in Dublin, Ireland. The book is entertaining and moving. It is lighthearted at times and at other times it deals with serious matters such as death, sickness and religion. There are several laugh-out-loud moments when the author brilliantly captures the closeness of friends who share tragedy and exhiliration. The several children in the story offer a spectrum of personalities and clash and interact entertainingly. The story is full of wit and insight into human behavior, especially the love between mother and children.
I have given this book and its sequels as gifts to the delight of several friends. And I recommend it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammy
The Mammy by Brendan O'Carroll (Hardcover - Sept. 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 26.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews