Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Right on :)
Mere perfect condition and no complaints. I'm very excited to now have the complete series and read this novel after fully enjoying the movie (and can't wait to love the book more)
(high five)
Published 1 month ago by Brooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sensational but not evocative
I had heard so much about this book for sucha long time that I finally decided to give it a shot...
The book was riveting, the ghastly ideas were original and scary, but the giddy queasiness one should get by reading a book like this was missing. The gruesomeness was absent, the ideas were there, but the descritions were falling short of evoking the very eerie...
Published on Sept. 10 2003 by deepbits


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Right on :), June 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mere perfect condition and no complaints. I'm very excited to now have the complete series and read this novel after fully enjoying the movie (and can't wait to love the book more)
(high five)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the movie, but the book is so much better -- Harris is a master craftsman who delivers great plots and characters with a style so understated that the books seem to be writing themselves.

Like "Red Dragon" I could not put this down.

One of the great thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only Thomas Harris book I enjoyed reading, July 19 2012
By 
Gen - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For some reason, I find all of Harris' other books too awkwardly written to enjoy, and yet this book is an eternal favourite. I've read it three times in my life. The best part is knowing what's going on in Buffalo Bill's head as he does what he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't keep quiet about it, Sept. 21 2006
By 
ManCow (Land of wheat) - See all my reviews
I'm normally one for something a tad more 'fun'-----you know the ones I'm talking about---Sedaris with his 'Me Talk Pretty' or McCrae and his 'Katzenjammer' :both first-rate by the way----but I opted for this as I had seen the movie and wanted to 'read' the story. Glad I did. While the movie was fantastic, the book was, believe it or not, even better. Really blew me away. I'd recommend this even is you have seen the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time running out, June 26 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are only a handful of books that I've read from cover to cover in just one sitting. Thomas Harris' SILENCE OF THE LAMBS was one of them. And for good reasons: his story was completely absorbing and he wrote it well.
You all know the story, especially because of the hit movie. But if you haven't read the book, I urge you to do so. While the film successfully conveyed the psychodrama between Starling and Hannibal, what I thought was missing was the sense of urgency, the suspense that a life was hanging in the balance. The book is a rush because its suspense is so compelling from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and Terrifying!!, May 18 2004
By 
V. Marshall (North Fork, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book prior to watching the movie version and it prepared me for a gruesome ride.
While the writing is basic at best, the horror and mystery is spellbinding. Hannibal Lecter will send chills up your spine for days and many nights! But amazingly he grows on you as a sickeningly likable character. Clarice Starling, the tough yet fragile FBI agent, pursues a murderer and with the help of Hannibal Lecter faces her true fears. Somehow they develop a relationship that makes sense....But how does madness make sense? That must be Thomas Harris's secret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Thriller, May 18 2004
By A Customer
I read this before the film
Deliberatly
And I can tell you - this book is simply phenomenal
Twisting, turning and unpredictablity is what this is about
Yet there are only 4 main locations in the book everything links together, but just as you think you can work out what's going to happen - You realise you don't
The pivotal moments of the book start very slowly, and for the first 2 pages you don't realise you are reading a pivotal moment that will change the entire books perspective from now on. It slowly evolves into a huge event, accelerating away and then before you know it the chapter's finished and you are drawn away to a different location in the next chapter
You have to keep reading -Cos you want to know what will happen
It's simply addictive and extremely well written
Oh- And It's got Hannibal Lector in it
T. Harris is a genius to think up a character like him
Enough Said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silence of the Lambs Book Report Book Review, May 9 2004
In "Silence of the Lambs", Thomas Harris continues the series of HANNIBAL LECTER, a supersmart villain with a serial killer that kills and skins women that are about his size. This time, the head of the department of Behavioral Science of the FBI Jack Crawford, sends in Clarisse Starling to talk to Hannibal at the Chesapeake State Hospital for the Criminally Insane. Everyone at the FBI thinks that Hannibal knows who has been kiiling the women and they send in the beautiful first rate forensicQuantico student to talk to Hannibal. In the midst of our reading ,the killer has ensnared the daughter of a Senator. From there Clarrisse investigates the previous victims of 'Buffalo Bill. Hannibal is transferred to a Tennesssee prison and bribed with more freedom if he tells them who has captured Catherine. Hannibal fools them and ends up escaping from the prison. Catherine is saved and all is well. For now. Read the second book in this trilogy, SILENCE OF THE LAMBS. I really liked it and think that it is a very captivating read. Mr. Harris really keeps you on your toes with this one, as he always does. So, yeah, get this book! It's a great suspense novel and it will keep you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A complex book that doesn't get cluttered., May 2 2004
Clarice Starling is the star of this story. She's an up and coming FBI agent who gives chase to a serial killer named "Buffalo Bill." Starling meets up with a psychiatrist named Dr. Hannibal Lecter. "Silence" is pretty much split up into two different sections. One section includes Hannibal the other does not. The relationship between Starling and Lecter is what kept me interested in the book. I suggest this book to anyone. The thing some people might not like is the subject matter, it is extremely graphic. Other then that, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and Gruesome Crime Novel, March 15 2004
The Silence of the Lambs has to be the most gruesome book I've ever read. The good news is that the characters are really well developed and the plot is thrillingly twisted. In other words: there is more to this book than cannibalism and the ability to shock.
I have never seen the film (although I'm definitely going to now) but on it's own the book is still very disturbing. The smallest things that Hannibal Lector said could be construed as threatening - the fact that he was behind bars and locked away did not diminish his scariness. Lector is incredibly intelligent and perceptive, as well as possessing a twisted sense of humour, which makes him a fascinating villain. The matter of fact way that the author retells his horrible crimes only makes them seem more terrifying. The other killer in the story, Buffalo Bill, was equally demented, although in a less intelligent way than Lector.
I really enjoyed reading about Clarice Starling and I felt that she was a great lead character; brave, decent and driven. The insights into her childhood and her fears of inadequacy were very well done. Jack Crawford, Clarice's superior, was described really well too and the parts of the book set around his home life and dying wife Bella made him seem more real and sympathetic. The plot was impeccable and the tension that was built and maintained throughout was extraordinary.
Overall The Silence of The Lambs is a crime novel that will go down in history as something special.
JoAnne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silence of the Lambs
The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris (Hardcover - June 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews