Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's the deal . . .
Normally one to stick with some national bestseller or cult classic such as "Da Vinci Code" or "Katzenjammer" (McCrae), I was recommend this book by a friend. Thank goodness it wasn't a bad recommendation. I loved it from cover to cover. Fans of Hiassen's clever wit and descriptive storytelling will find Skinny Dip a quick read, but the overall book lacks some depth...
Published on Sept. 2 2005 by Sacha Remierz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Skinny plot
Skinny Dip could make a decent even if politically correct 250-page read for the beach this summer -- if only the book weren't almost 400 pages long.
This is the first book I've read by Carl Hiaasen, who has made a name for himself with what I have read are bitingly hilarious narratives mostly set in my native Florida. I picked up Skinny Dip on a whim, looking for a...
Published on July 18 2004 by Eric J. Lyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's the deal . . ., Sept. 2 2005
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Paperback)
Normally one to stick with some national bestseller or cult classic such as "Da Vinci Code" or "Katzenjammer" (McCrae), I was recommend this book by a friend. Thank goodness it wasn't a bad recommendation. I loved it from cover to cover. Fans of Hiassen's clever wit and descriptive storytelling will find Skinny Dip a quick read, but the overall book lacks some depth. The plot progression is a bit predictable and the characters aren't as interesting as in other Hiassen novels. As always with Hiaasen, underneath the laughs here are a lot of anger and sadness. He makes the reader uneasy about the fate of our rapidly disappearing wilderness. His usual culprits are land developers, corrupt politicians and judges, carpetbaggers, and sometimes, promoters and tourists (e.g., Tourist Season). This time, he skewers as corrupted by corporate greed the scientific establishment that supposedly is trying to save what little is left of the Everglades. Let's hope his books awaken some sense of urgency or shame in the powers that be. On the other hand, let's not hold our breaths. Also, try the novels SKIN TIGHT (another great Hiaasen work), KATZENJAMMER (McCrae at his best), and the rapid-fire funny David Sedaris book, NAKED. All are great and worth every cent. You can't go wrong with any of these. I also plan to read ALL of Hiassen's works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully quirky and fun, Oct. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Hardcover)
Carl Hiaasen's SKINNY DIP is one wonderfully quirky and fun crime thriller that throbs with an exotic Miami heart. I think it is clearly his best so far. Yes, even better than BASKET CASE. I've read a lot of good, fun, very imaginative novels lately--A SECRET WORD by Paddock, JONATHAN STRANGE by Clarke, THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG by Haddon. It would be hard to order them, but SKINNY DIP might be my personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Complete Lack of Character Credibility, Dec 12 2014
I found this book highly recommended by contributors to Amazon's Fiction Forum. Interested, I decided to check out its feedback ratings in the Amazon bookstore and here too, its popularity was remarkably high. Thus, I started reading the book with a strong sense of anticipation. Yet, by this morning, having only got as far as the fifth chapter, I had decided that the time had come to chuck it in and return it to the library. I just couldn't comprehend where all these high star ratings were coming from. The characters, (especially the baddies), are as two-dimensional and unbelievable as any 1950s cowboy shoot-em-up. It seems like something written for a generation for whom the height of story-telling excellence was reached by Walt Disney's unvaryingly predictable interplays of saccharine-sweet, good boys and girls,... versus the arsenic-laced nasties.

The central idea around which the plot revolves and the use of dialogue, are both original and highly refreshing. But it's the author's totally slipshod attention to plausibility and detail in his unfolding of the plot, plus his lack of concern about making the nasty characters even slightly believable, that I object to. The author's talent is clearly there for all to see. What I simply cannot understand is why he uses this remarkable ability to write a novel which, in the end, can only really reach the disappointingly mediocre level of a 'farce'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky, Nov. 13 2007
By 
Asia (N.S. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Mass Market Paperback)
I noticed no one star ratings on this book, and for good reason. It's really a lot of fun. Now, if you don't enjoy over the top books, stop reading now and don't think about purchasing Skinny Dip, because that's exactly what you'll get.

Hiaasen has a way of mixing religious nuts, villians, humor, underlying serious situations, and truth all in one big happy mess of a good time. He might be a lot of things, but boring is not one of them.

The characters: Chaz--the scum-bag husband who tosses his wife overboard. Joey--the tossed overboard wife. Mick Stranahan--the ex-cop who rescues the wife---no I'm not giving anything away. Throw in some Everglades polluters and corrupt politicians and you've got the recipe for a great funny read. The only reason I'm not giving this a full five stars is that it took me a while to get into. The writing style takes about then pages to get used to and Hiassen has to warm you up first, which is understandable. Okay, that's fine, but I wished it had whisked along a bit faster.

This is not the first Hiassen novel I've read, but the first I've reviewed. I did like his SICK PUPPY and TOURIST SEASON better, but unlike other author who you need to be introduced to before getting into they style, you can start with any Hiassen book. Would also very highly recommend the novels ANOTHER ROADSIDE ATTRACTION and the wonderful and witty DOUBLE WHAMMY. Also, if you want to check out Christopher Moore's books, those are along the same line as Hiassen's. Either way you cut it, you can't lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, Aug. 4 2005
By 
Christy T. French "author" (Powell, TN, author, "The Bodyguard") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Paperback)
Chaz Perrrone is one big loser. A man who never would have attained his doctorate without the help of family connections. A marine biologist who doesn't even now which way the Gulf Stream runs. As proof of what a total idiot this man is, he decides to kill the one good thing in his life, his wife Joey, by throwing her over the side of a cruise liner during their anniversary cruise. But Chaz seems to have forgotten Joey is an athlete who swam for her college team. His reason: he thinks she's onto the fact that he is doctoring water samples for Red Hammernut, a millionaire farmer dumping fertilizer contaminants into the Everglades.
Joey literally clings to life via a bale of marijuana and is plucked from the ocean by Mick Stranahan, former investigator now island beach bum. Instead of reporting Chaz to the police, Joey decides to get him back with the help of Mick. And the fun really starts!
This is one of the wackiest books I've ever read. The characters are off the wall, from Tool, a hairy giant walking around with a bullet up his rear,to the investigating detective, Karl Rolvaag, a misplaced Norwegian who pines for the calmer life of Minnesota. Kind of like reading a Southern Fargo. The dialogue is great, the plot fun, and the read one I definitely did not want to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a dip, June 27 2005
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Paperback)
This is my first Cal Hiaasen book. I'm glad I read SKINNY DIP. It is Wacky with a capital W. Joey Perrone is murdered by her sleazy marine biologist Chaz on their second anniversary cruise vacation. Well, Chaz thinks he's killed her, but Mick Stranahan, former detective, rescues Joey from the Gulf waters. Together they "gaslight" Chaz Perone and he doesn't know what hit him. Strangely Joey is all at sea as to her husband's motive for murder. Some things in this book seem expected such as the romance between Stranahan and Joey, but the secondary characters, they're something else! Karl Rolvaag, the detective assigned to Joey's case loves snakes and he would rather live in the frozen tundra of Minnesota than the steamy jungles of Florida. The apish Tool, who becomes rather endearing at the end. There is an underlying theme regarding the environment in the form of the Florida Everglades and its erosion. This theme is personified in a real interesting, enigmatic character called the Captain. He is a Vietnam vet, but he is also the Greenman or Wild Man of mythology. What a great character and what a great, fun story. Also recommended: CHILDREN'S CORNER by Jackson McCrae. A brilliant collection that will keep you up at night. And try the novel GLASS CASTLE for something really different. If you're like me, you don't like to read the same genre over and over, and these two books are completely different yet just as good as SKINNY DIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come on in---the water's fine, April 19 2005
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Hardcover)
With his usual far-fetched plots, coincidences, hilarity, and mayhem, Carl Hiaasen has done it once more. Reminiscent of the works of Jackson McCrae, Elmore Leonard, or Clyde Edgerton (think McCrae's Bark of the Dogwood or Edgerton's Lunch at the Piccadilly) this rollicking good time of a novel takes us to South Florida geographically, but there and everywhere in between emotionally. For Hiaasen's works are not just about fun, craziness, and a good time--they're about the human heart and what happens inside of his characters. My two favorites in this novel are Chaz Perrone--the inept marine biologist--and Tool--a formidably-described hulk. Again, these are not just cartoon characters but real people (in a fashion) designed to get Hiaasen's more important message out there: the destruction and pollution of his beloved Everglades. If you like Hiaasen's Sick Puppy, Lucky You, and Basket Case, then you'll love his latest. This is the perfect summer read. Also recommended: Bark of the Dogwood, Lunch at the Piccadilly, Mr. Paradise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The low-down on a very funny read, Feb. 18 2005
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Hardcover)
This is my first Cal Hiaasen book. I'm glad I read SKINNY DIP. It is Wacky with a capital W. Joey Perrone is murdered by her sleazy marine biologist Chaz on their second anniversary cruise vacation. Well, Chaz thinks he's killed her, but Mick Stranahan, former detective, rescues Joey from the Gulf waters. Together they "gaslight" Chaz Perone and he doesn't know what hit him. Strangely Joey is all at sea as to her husband's motive for murder. Some things in this book seem expected such as the romance between Stranahan and Joey, but the secondary characters, they're something else! Karl Rolvaag, the detective assigned to Joey's case loves snakes and he would rather live in the frozen tundra of Minnesota than the steamy jungles of Florida. The apish Tool, who becomes rather endearing at the end. There is an underlying theme regarding the environment in the form of the Florida Everglades and its erosion. This theme is personified in a real interesting, enigmatic character called the Captain. He is a Vietnam vet, but he is also the Greenman or Wild Man of mythology. What a great character and what a great, fun story. Also higly recommended would be the shocking, funny, sometimes morbid, but always entertaining CHILDREN'S CORNER by bestselling author, Jackson McCrae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny, Funny!, July 25 2004
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Hardcover)
I got my copy of 'Skinny Dip' yesterday and finished it early this morning! It was that good. Mr. Hiaasen is back with a hilariously mix of outragouse villains, colorful characters and his anger at humankind for what they have done to the Florida wilderness. The story starts when Biologist Charles 'Chaz' Perrone suspects his sexy wife Joey, has discovered a pollution scam he has been running for a Florida Ag Biz Mogel, Red Hammernut (what a name!)- of course this is all illegal but they are making a bunch of money, so who cares if the enviorment is being destroyed! He solves this problem by taking Joey on a cruise where he plans on dumping her off the boat, thus solving his problem. The only problem Is Joey Is a champion swimmer, and this skill, along with some luck and a bale of Marijuana, allows her to survive! After which she sets out to blackmail her Lazy tail chasing husband, and of course all hilarity ensues! This is another Great Hiassen read in the vien of his other books. If you are a fan you'll not be dissapointed, if your new I recommend you check out some Hiassen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Skinny plot, July 18 2004
By 
Eric J. Lyman (Roma, Lazio Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skinny Dip (Hardcover)
Skinny Dip could make a decent even if politically correct 250-page read for the beach this summer -- if only the book weren't almost 400 pages long.
This is the first book I've read by Carl Hiaasen, who has made a name for himself with what I have read are bitingly hilarious narratives mostly set in my native Florida. I picked up Skinny Dip on a whim, looking for a well-told but light story to read in the summer heat, and I was only partially rewarded.
The story does have its moments. The story's feckless antagonist, a biologist called Chaz, is initially cast as a villain by explaining that he doesn't separate his papers and plastics for recycling. On the payroll of a rule-bending tycoon, Chaz fakes test results to mask fertilizer runoffs in the Florida Everglades and then he throws his wife over the side of the ship on an anniversary cruise to prevent her from discovering the deed. She survives only by grabbing onto a bale of marijuana that happened to be floating by, and vows to take revenge. It's not Ulysses, of course, but it was never met to be.
Where Skinny Dip falls short is in its pacing and its politics.
The poor rhythm of the tale comes from its length, which includes too many dead spots to make it the kind of page-turner it could have been with a more aggressive editor (see the lengthy and ultimately unsatisfying revenge plot of the cannabis-hugging wife).
And the politically correct characterizations -- however admirable they might seem at first -- are in the end tiring. Mr. Hiaasen seems more than a little earnest in the moral undertones he creates. The book's obvious environmental subplot, the use of a character who vows to never misuse the services of illegal aliens again, a host of smiling good guys who never drink and who will their assets to charity -- it's enough to make it seems like the obvious lessons and not the narrative are the point of the book. That may work with children's stories, but one presumes that adults' literary tastes are more involved -- even when they are lounging at the seaside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skinny Dip
Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen (Hardcover - Oct. 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews