biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2016
Irritating smartasses supposedly funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
If you haven't read Carl Hiaasen you must. If you care about the environment and have a sense of humour, you will love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
Funny and suspenseful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
I have only recently discovered this author and quite enjoy his work. The hard-hitting detective with a gorgeous girl by his side is pitted against a villain who is dangerous but is over-the-top---in a good way.

I enjoyed this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
I found this book highly recommended by contributors to Amazon's Fiction Forum. Interested, I decided to check out its feedback ratings in the Amazon bookstore and here too, its popularity was remarkably high. Thus, I started reading the book with a strong sense of anticipation. Yet, by this morning, having only got as far as the fifth chapter, I had decided that the time had come to chuck it in and return it to the library. I just couldn't comprehend where all these high star ratings were coming from. The characters, (especially the baddies), are as two-dimensional and unbelievable as any 1950s cowboy shoot-em-up. It seems lie something written for a generation for whom the height of story-telling excellence was reached by Walt Disney's unvaryingly predictable interplays of saccharine-sweet, good boys and girls,... versus the arsenic-laced nasties.

The central idea around which the plot revolves and the use of dialogue, are both original and highly refreshing. But it's the author's totally slipshod attention to plausibility and detail in unfolding this plot, plus his evident lack of any concern about having created nasty characters who are not even remotely believable, that I object to. The author's ability is clearly there for all to see. What I simply cannot understand is why he uses his considerable talent to write a novel which, in the end, can at best only really aspire to reach the disappointingly mediocre level of a 'farce'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
Buckle up and hold on for a zany ride of murder and mayhem punctuated by humidity and eco-politics. If you like Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, you'll be on board for this tale (until things go overboard that is.) This isn't Tolstoy, but it is a fun pool side or beach read. The two thumbs aren't way up on this one, but they're up.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
Charles "Chaz" Perrone is a biologist who doesn't know anything. He is testing water samples in the Everglades where he is deathly afraid of the wildlife. He is running a profitable pollution scam for Red Hammernut, a mogul in the agriculture business. Chaz fears that his wife Joey may be onto his little scam and decides to do away with her by heaving her overboard on a cruise.

But Joey is a championship swimmer and manages to hang onto a bale of marijuana and then get rescued by loner and ex-cop Mick Stranahan. Instead of coming forward to the cops, Joey decides to pay Chaz back. What follows is a crazy, funny blackmail campaign against the lazy Chaz.

Chaz gets to be babysat by Red Hammernut's muscle man, Tool. As Chaz gest more and more frenzied Tool grows a conscience.

I loved this book and all the characters but especially Tool. Hiaasen does a great job of a tongue-in-cheek mystery surrounded by environmental concerns in the Everglades.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 14, 2011
Weighing my love of Christopher Moore and Tim Dorsey, Amazon recommended Carl Hiaasen to me. "Skinny Dip" was the first book I read by him, and I definitely enjoyed it.
That being said, it wasn't as sharp as Tim Dorsey, nor as tongue-in-cheek as Christopher Moore; but considering I've read everything by those two authors, Carl Hiaasen will be my new go-to author when I need a laugh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2007
I noticed no one star ratings on this book, and for good reason. It's really a lot of fun. Now, if you don't enjoy over the top books, stop reading now and don't think about purchasing Skinny Dip, because that's exactly what you'll get.

Hiaasen has a way of mixing religious nuts, villians, humor, underlying serious situations, and truth all in one big happy mess of a good time. He might be a lot of things, but boring is not one of them.

The characters: Chaz--the scum-bag husband who tosses his wife overboard. Joey--the tossed overboard wife. Mick Stranahan--the ex-cop who rescues the wife---no I'm not giving anything away. Throw in some Everglades polluters and corrupt politicians and you've got the recipe for a great funny read. The only reason I'm not giving this a full five stars is that it took me a while to get into. The writing style takes about then pages to get used to and Hiassen has to warm you up first, which is understandable. Okay, that's fine, but I wished it had whisked along a bit faster.

This is not the first Hiassen novel I've read, but the first I've reviewed. I did like his SICK PUPPY and TOURIST SEASON better, but unlike other author who you need to be introduced to before getting into they style, you can start with any Hiassen book. Would also very highly recommend the novels ANOTHER ROADSIDE ATTRACTION and the wonderful and witty DOUBLE WHAMMY. Also, if you want to check out Christopher Moore's books, those are along the same line as Hiassen's. Either way you cut it, you can't lose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2005
Normally one to stick with some national bestseller or cult classic such as "Da Vinci Code" or "Katzenjammer" (McCrae), I was recommend this book by a friend. Thank goodness it wasn't a bad recommendation. I loved it from cover to cover. Fans of Hiassen's clever wit and descriptive storytelling will find Skinny Dip a quick read, but the overall book lacks some depth. The plot progression is a bit predictable and the characters aren't as interesting as in other Hiassen novels. As always with Hiaasen, underneath the laughs here are a lot of anger and sadness. He makes the reader uneasy about the fate of our rapidly disappearing wilderness. His usual culprits are land developers, corrupt politicians and judges, carpetbaggers, and sometimes, promoters and tourists (e.g., Tourist Season). This time, he skewers as corrupted by corporate greed the scientific establishment that supposedly is trying to save what little is left of the Everglades. Let's hope his books awaken some sense of urgency or shame in the powers that be. On the other hand, let's not hold our breaths. Also, try the novels SKIN TIGHT (another great Hiaasen work), KATZENJAMMER (McCrae at his best), and the rapid-fire funny David Sedaris book, NAKED. All are great and worth every cent. You can't go wrong with any of these. I also plan to read ALL of Hiassen's works!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse