countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 25, 2016
Consider reading this book (critically) if the authors are "preaching to the choir", but I would strongly caution against using this book as an introduction to exploring this topic, especially if you intend to address this topic with other people who might not be as enthusiastic about it as yourself. The book, "Playing well with others", by Lee Harrington and Mollena Williams, has a far more positive, respectful, accepting, and inclusive tone. "The Ethical Slut" has useful exercises and resources, but I found the undertone of this work of advocacy condescending and manipulative, carrying the baggage of conflicts where injustices exist on both sides. Read with caution.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
For any one new to the idea of polyamory and with any concerns about it already, do not start with this book. The name seems to not relate well to the content as it essentially promotes sleeping with whoever you want and not worrying about hurting your partners. In my view there is nothing ethical in this book. I thought it would be giving constructive ways to deal with jealousy in poly relationships, where it pretty much just says have sex with anyone and everyone and don't care about hurting anyone because you are justified in doing whatever you want. A lot of the work I had done in progressing my comfort with the idea of poly was thrown back in my face after reading this, it confirms what hurts me most about poly already. Not good at all. Avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2012
this book may be advertised as an essential guide for singles and couples who want to explore polyamory, but i would contend that it is an essential guide for anyone who wants a guide on how to have good relationships. This is one of those books i think everyone should read, especially people prone to jealousy, drama, insecurities, etc (so pretty much everyone) As a guide for polyamory, this book is a great introduction and covers all the bases. Such a wonderful book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2009
The Ethnical slut is an eye opening reading experience. It contains a lot of information to absorb in just one reading, so going back through it might be essentail. I wanted to know more about these types of (polyamorous) relationships and I found just about everything I needed to know in this book. If you are looking for more info, this could be the one for you. It's very interesting, to say the least!! I also liked: Swinging for Beginners: An Introduction to the Lifestyle (Revised Edition).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
This book is a good introduction to non-monogamous relationships. It will be most helpful for individuals who want to start on this path, but anyone practicing consentual non-monogamy, or others who don't need to read about why it's okay or need explanations and history to justify their life decisions (to themselves or others) may find that most of this book isn't all that relevant to the questions they have. That said, if you don't know where to start an open, honest conversation about being in a non-monogamous relationship, and you don't have anyone else to talk to who can share their experiences, there are some essentials on respect and safety that everyone should start with. This is a great book for providing those essentials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
Would recommend to any sex positive person in the world. <3
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
Ethical is a great resource for people interested in exploring non traditional relationships, in fact, it's a great resource for people interested in traditional as well. It's all communication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
very imformative and a must read for females
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
Achieved more than I thought it would!!! Excellent read!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
When I bought this book, I wasn't looking for lots of info on how to live a polyamory relationship anyways. So that explains why I found little valuable content. What I was looking for instead was to expand my view of what relationships could be, of what love could be. In that regard, I thought the book had some great insights. Overall, it is well written, it has great insights, and lots of information for those who want to be ethical sluts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse