Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Had heard this on tape years ago. enjoyed reading it now. Now have all of the series except newest ones.
Published 16 months ago by Ellanore Turner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dead Caterer
I was disappointed with this book. I kept waiting for it to get better, but is never did. I was hoping to use this book for my book club. It was not goo enough. The characters were two dimensional. Blah!
Published 8 months ago by Ingrid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Dead Caterer, Aug. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed with this book. I kept waiting for it to get better, but is never did. I was hoping to use this book for my book club. It was not goo enough. The characters were two dimensional. Blah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, Dec 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had heard this on tape years ago. enjoyed reading it now. Now have all of the series except newest ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reader's snack, May 17 2004
By 
Felicia Jordan (Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is literary junk food, but just about everybody likes to snack on junk food sometimes. The story is fluffy as a quiche but a fun read, nonetheless. As an amateur cook and Colorado resident, I enjoyed Davidson's descriptions of small-mountain-town life and of the creation of delectable dishes. As a person who has dabbled in "nerdy" pursuits, I also enjoyed how Arch, the introverted, role-playing son, got to be a hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catering to the reader, April 2 2004
I got this book from my local library (sorry Amazon!) after reading Dying for Chocolate-the second book in this series. I'm a little out or sequence, but I still enjoyed this book. I actually liked Catering to Nobody better.
I really enjoy the feeling of realism, even with dealing with implausible situations. Goldy is an overworked and underappreciated single mom, with a nasty ex and a troubled son. Arch (the trouled son) is a wonderfully inventive character, and it was no surprize to me that he saves the day.
I'll be going on with this series...in order from now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy culinary mystery, Feb. 1 2004
By 
Lacey Savage (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
Goldy Bear, proud owner of Goldilocks' Catering, (Where Everything Is Just Right!), has a lot on her plate. She has to deal with an ex-husband who continues to be verbally and emotionally abusive, and she has to continually watch him engage in fling after fling, many of which end up in marriage. Her eleven year old son, Arch, is taking the death of his favorite teacher quite hard, and he's dealing with it by becoming obsessed with role-playing games. And her roommate, Patty Sue, who has been paying her rent by helping out with the catering business, has become even more dull and unhelpful in the past little while.
All these issues come to a head when someone attempts to poison Goldy's ex-father-in-law at one of her catering functions. Suddenly, Goldy's the prime suspect, and she finds herself unable to run her catering business. With the bills piling up, Goldy knows that she must take matters into her own hands if she expects to ever be able to cater in her town again.
Thus begins the amateur sleuthing adventures of Goldy Bear. As each one of her neighbors becomes a suspect, Goldy's investigations uncover the kind of dirty laundry that everyone tries to keep hidden in a small town. The first-person point of view works really well in this story, as the reader gets only as much information as Goldy herself has. Another fun aspect of this book is, of course, the culinary theme. As just about everything in the book is compared to food at some point, you better keep something to snack on nearby. The recipes included seem easy to follow, and I'm sure result in delicious culinary experiences of their own.
A fun, light mystery offering ï¿ I look forward to reading more about Goldy and her adventures in culinary sleuthing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, Aug. 6 2003
By A Customer
Good beach read, no gratitous sex, violence, or bad language. In the style of Agatha Christie. Made me very hungry at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Killer Recipes!, July 26 2003
The first book in the Goldy Bear catering mystery series, introduces us to Goldy Bear, owner of Goldilock's Catering Service (where everything is just right!). Goldy is a divorced mother of one son who, after leaving her abusive doctor husband, turns to cooking to make a living for herself and her son, Arch. While catering a wake, her ex father-in-law drops dead and she finds herself as the primary suspect. Could she have poisoned his coffee or is her ex setting her up for a murder rap? While trying to keep her business afloat and herself sane, Goldy sets out to prove herself innocent and find a killer before she is the next one killed.
I highly enjoyed this debut for Diane Mott Davidson. The character of Goldy is a bit whiny at times, but I like the fact that she is plucky and determined to make a better life for herself and Arch. When she gets stressed she cooks, and many of her recipes are included in the book. The food is yummy and the mystery interesting. I would recommend reading this book, but do not read it on an empty stomach! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars foodies, cooks, mystery and fun, July 3 2003
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Diane Mott Davidson brings us Goldy, of Goldilock's Catering, "where everything is just right," a loving mother, cook, small businesswoman, and amateur detective. Goldy runs a catering business in the mountains of Aspen Meadows, Colorado, is a single mom to son Arch, and has a knack for solving murders.
Unlike another female investigator based in central California,(who shall remain nameless here but is well known to mystery fans) the one who makes herself boiled-eggs-mayo-ketchup sandwiches at odd times for nourishment, Goldy really cooks.
Included in every book in the series are wonderful, inventive recipes. As a long time family chef, I find myself identifying much more with Goldy. No matter what else is going on, no matter how little sleep she manages to get, Goldy preps and cooks on a regular basis. Bless her!
Although the plotting is uneven and stretches the imagination just a little to be credible, this first book of Davidson's long series is an entertaining read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Weak Prose - Passable Plot, March 24 2003
By A Customer
This was the most unpleasant selection my monthly book club has nominated. The author seems like she is trying to follow a "Writer's Digest" formula as she unfolds her plot and the effect is just too predictable. The timeline is not paced well either. Sometimes we'll spend a whole chapter on a conversation and then we'll jump ahead three days in the space of a paragraph. The dialogue is cliched and the characters come off as shallow stereotypes. The writing reaches a definite low point as the author describes a "Amour Anonymous" meeting with five characters in attendance and skips from comment to comment so quickly it is hard to imagine how the conversation reaches such emotional highs and lows within the space of a few moments. The plot wraps up neatly and the recipes are an interesting addition (worth trying I hope!) - but these two positive attributes are not enough to save the overall writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Catering Mystery, Oct. 1 2002
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When Goldy (single mother to an 11-year-old boy, and a woman running her own business) gets a job catering a wake at her son's (Arch) favorite teachers funeral, she is not what you would call happy. Yes, she'll make a good amount of money, but she'll also have to be in the same room as her ex-husband. But when her ex-husbands father drinks coffee with rat poison in it, and she becomes the main suspect, she realizes that it's now up to her to find the murderer. In the meantime, Goldy has a guest staying at her house, Patty Sue, whom is undergoing treatment at Goldy's ex-father-in-law's OBGYN office, and, suddenly Arch is acting a bit obsessed with a role playing game. How much more does she need to handle?
Overall this was a pretty good book. Although it was a bit cliched, and reminded me of an episode of "Diagnosis Murder." I knew who the murderer was almost the minute the first poisoning took place. Although, the clichedness is somewhat passable due to the likeness of the main character. Another hit for Diane Mott Davidson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2fe4390)

This product

Catering to Nobody
Catering to Nobody by Diane Mott Davidson (Audio CD - Dec 4 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 35.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews