Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you serious about being a whole man and loving a real woman?
This book is not for babies. 4 of the most fantastic women I know recommended I read this book. These are powerful intelligent women who will not suffer fools, or weak men. Brothers, it's time we had both a heart AND a spine. It's time we became authentically masculine. This book speaks to me as a man like no other. It isn't filled with pop psychology or all about...
Published on Dec 8 2007 by Merlin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think twice
I bought this book for myself. As someone finishing up University and starting a career I was, and am still, seeking some pointers on "manhood" and "adulthood" from a neutral perspective. This book is not it. This book should be called "how to outsmart women", because that is all this book essentially is. It outlines the struggle of the masculine essence against its id...
Published on May 2 2011 by Kyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you serious about being a whole man and loving a real woman?, Dec 8 2007
By 
Merlin (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
This book is not for babies. 4 of the most fantastic women I know recommended I read this book. These are powerful intelligent women who will not suffer fools, or weak men. Brothers, it's time we had both a heart AND a spine. It's time we became authentically masculine. This book speaks to me as a man like no other. It isn't filled with pop psychology or all about learning cute little seduction techniques. Who are you? What's your purpose? Do you have the courage to go and find it, whatever the cost? And find uncommon rewards? Are you strong enough to love with a fully open heart? To let go of Mommy? To become self-reliant and give you true gifts to the world and to your woman? To let go of excuses? To continuously grow? To understand her moods? To understand and properly channel your attractions? To be challenged and stay standing? To be criticized and find the gift in it? And to know a higher, deeper, more blissful kind of love? Or would you just rather not fully wake up and keep with the routine of job, housework, buddies and TV? Your choice. David Deida gives it to you straight. He's even a bit harsh at times. But always on the mark. He's helped me wake up and understand so much about my relationships. But like I said, it's not for babies and it may not be for everybody, unless you're ready for it. Are you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think twice, May 2 2011
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
I bought this book for myself. As someone finishing up University and starting a career I was, and am still, seeking some pointers on "manhood" and "adulthood" from a neutral perspective. This book is not it. This book should be called "how to outsmart women", because that is all this book essentially is. It outlines the struggle of the masculine essence against its id counterpart, the female essence or energy. In the scope of a "how-to" for men and women in relationships, it has a few good points but most of it is so esoteric that there is no point. The book is rife with inneundo (not always a bad thing) and is basically a pseudo-pornographic novel for someone who has no clue about women. "When she is angry, pause, think what is really making her angry, and then do something funny like lick her face or press your belly against her". Is this really going to get my anywhere in life? I doubt it. Fun, quick, easy, but please use your brain when you read this and assess the fact from fiction. The facts are not any hidden mystery or mathmatical equation, it's all common sense with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best book on being a man in these times!, June 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
We recommend this book to all the emn we know. In fact we often gift them the book it's so special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superior!, May 3 2014
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
I really wish I found this book years ago. After a number of failed relationships, I was really starting to accumulate an unhealthy resentment towards women. David Deida clears up virtually all the questions I had about why women behave the way they do towards men and also emphasizes the responsibility that men must honor and uphold to command their lives with power,.confidence and love. When my younger brother starts high school and starts to experience the turbulence of young love for himself, I'll be sure to hand him this book so he can avoid many much of the heartache and confusion that I endured. I'll be referencing this book for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All about what makes a man tick and more, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
Every woman needs to read this if you expect to get anywhere with men. This is teh bible about women, how they work, think want . Come one women you aren't successful with men because you never change what your doing. read the superior man and teh Blue truth understand yourself and men or women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff :), Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
I've only read it once so far, but I've been listening to alot of Davids talks and I think he has much to offer. :) I look forward to reading more of his works. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great read. The sort of book you will keep re-reading for years to come! Awesome, thanks David Deida for your insight into what makes men tick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Men, if you want a "manual" for women..., June 28 2012
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
I am a strong, confident woman who will not suffer weak minded men. I am truly a lover of men and the furthest from a 'man hater'. If I could I would give a copy of this book to all men. I have given copies to all of my men friends, my brother and when my son is old enough he too will get a copy.

I have read every relationship book out there, believe me! LOL This book is the only book that actually hit where the heart lies. Truly I feel David Deida is the only author out there that has a TRUE understanding of the dance between men and women.
I agree with the reviewer who suggested that the people who dissed this book were the people that need it the most.
This book is not for the reader who chooses to remain shallow and superficial. However if you want a relationship that grabs you at your very soul that moves you in ways you have never known possible then I would suggest reading this book.

I have read it many times and always learn something new.

For a woman that is strong, smart, sensual like me, a woman that can railroad the average man, this book is as close to a "manual" that a man can get to for understanding women.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maleness from another Perspective, Oct. 14 2009
By 
Bart Breen "Bart Breen" (Sterling, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
Reviewing a book often reveals as much or even more at times, of the reviewer as the book itself. So in an effort to be fair and as objective as possible, there are a few things that should be disclosed by this reviewer up front. First, the cultural and religious perspective of this reviewer comes from a different perspective than that of the author of this book. The cultural perspective of the book, although not overwhelmingly so, is Indian, Hindu with a strong focus on yoga. This reviewer has a decidedly western cultural background as well as a post-evangelical religious perspective.

That said, most of the book deals with things in a manner that puts what it has to say in a context that doesn't require the reader to accept the cultural and religious elements, such as they are, to understand what is being said and to receive and apply many of the truths it has to say.

There is a strong focus upon recognition of energy both in terms of quality and quantity and how to achieve internal balance as well as relational balance. The author clearly is not concerned with being politically correct in many contexts and layers the book with strong statements of gender differences in terms of energy and psyche that many readers will be challenged by. This is no doubt intentional. In terms of the basic content of the book, I frankly found a lot of common ground with books in my experience that come from a more decidedly secular point of view such as Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex or Iron John: A Book About Men and Christian works such as Wild at Heart: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul.

Some readers may take offense at some of the language in places. The author is not afraid to use some course terms although they are not consistently used and it was evident to this reviewer they were used for emphasis rather than for gratuitous shock value.

With all of these things recognized many who approach this book, even with the cultural and religious overtones understood there is likely still to be some challenges. There are elements within the book, which this reader still found very close to a sense of machismo in places that comes across very strongly. However, there also were elements that moved beyond that to a focus upon servanthood and sacrificial love that would "preach" just as well within a Christian Church or men's retreat that demonstrate the commonality of human experience and values across different spectrums.

What this book adds however, to other books from different perspectives is a very deep level of practical suggestions in terms of actions within relationship and physical elements of control and self-discipline that are much more down to earth that other books of this nature that I've read. Those, like me, however, who don't have a great deal of practical exposure or experience in Yoga may find those elements, which require a great deal of practice and discipline, a little much. Outside of that however, the practical and general teachings and suggestions of the book, in most places, transcend any one cultural or religious system and will challenge most men in more than one area of their lives and relationships.

This may seem trifling but it's worth noting as well that the book is peppered with small spelling and grammatical errors that gives evidence of a lack of attention to editing that this reader found annoying overall.

Overall, a worthy read.

4 Stars

Bart Breen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire (Paperback)
SEXY AND SEXY AND SEXY AND MORE SEXY THAN SEXY ITS REALLY SEXY BECAUSE ITS SEXY THAN SEXY THATS WHY I LOVE SEXY BOOKS THAT ARE SEXY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of the Superior Man: A Spiritual Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Women, Work, and Sexual Desire
CDN$ 19.26 CDN$ 14.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews