Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Salka - "A Fire Officer Always Thinking Out of The Box", June 7 2004
By 
george pickett (Scottsdale , AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
John Salka's book is an extension of his tremendous success as a fire officer. As his former Captain in FDNY on Manhattan's Lower East Side I spotted Salka as a bright, agressive, well liked Lieutenant that was always trying to make his organization better. John not only went through the ranks leading his troops honorably, he had the expertise to teach management techniques that were way ahead of his time in America's fire service. His book First in and Last Out is a tribute to this fine officers knowledge and a must read for fire service personnel or managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartily recommended, June 3 2004
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
First In, Last Out was a book I couldn't put down almost from start to finish. I thought it was going to be about the courage and dedication of the NYC Fire Department - well, it was that and a whole lot more. I read the book several weeks ago and think often of passages that relate to day-to-day life, life in the business world, and how we can be better at all of it by following their ethic. It's a truly inspiring book - and full of real life adventure. The best of both worlds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable guide to managing well, May 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
As a member of corporate America, I know first hand how many bad managers there are out there, and how easy it is to make poor decisions when managing people. This book is straightforward and easy to read, but more importantly, it outlines what I think, are some of the most fundamental ideas behind strong leadership. Some are common sense ideas that are easy to forget (and are helpful to read again from this angle) others are more surprising. But you will see most if not all of them in every good boss/leader you've ever worked for or observed. (and respected, for that matter.) Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a truly useful book on managing and leading - the right way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First In, Last Out, May 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
The Chief provides a pragmatic and useful guide to leadership in organizations of all sizes, missions and purposes. Whether your leadership interest is in business, military, government, education or non-profit organizations, the leadership lessons will find immediate application. And, if you are an aspiring leader, the Chief's viewpoint will accelerate the development of your own leadership style and help you (and your followers) avoid costly leadership mistakes. Worthy of several reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading!, May 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
Few books on business leadership have so thoroughly and quickly captured by interest. The book is extremely well written and is an insightful treatment of the complex human relationships of leadership, accountability, and motivation. It should be required reading for all levels of management in corporations, organizations, and institutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all business professionals!, April 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
Every CEO and aspiring business professional should read this book. Business executives and those who lead corporate teams will gain tremendous insight into how to successfully lead and motivate others. The style of writing is excellent. While reading the book I felt very much like a really great, normal, down-to-earth guy was talking to me, sharing his experiences and providing practical examples that I could easily apply to situations that I encounter everyday in the business world. And who better to teach leadership than someone who successfully leads people into life and death situations on a regular basis? The stories here are true inspiration for any aspiring leader. This is an exceptional book full of practical advice for all business professionals. All of our business leaders today, from production floor managers, to human resource executives to small business owners to the heads of large corporations should read this book and follow its example. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First In, Last Out, April 7 2004
By 
Jeff Clohessy (Evergreen Park, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
Chief Salka shares "real world" proven leadership skills that can be adapted to many organizations. First In, Last Out is an excellent book and a must read for Chief Officers, Company Officers, and Firefighters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the Heat of the Moment, April 6 2004
By 
Paul Petillo (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
How often do we use fire related analogies in our daily business conversations? We are either putting out fires or looking to lead our people in the right direction as things "heat up". This book is more than just a read for firefighters and those who aspire to the career. I originally purchased it for my 16 year old son but found it a necessary tool for managers who lead their teams into the unknown everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First In,Last Out, April 3 2004
By 
Bill Shouldis (Philadelphia PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First In Last Out (Hardcover)
This book is a must reading for fire chief's to the newest firefighter. The author's approach to understanding the culture and meaning of wearing the maltese cross is "first class". Chief Salka does a great service to the men and woman on the "front line". As an educator and emergency responder,I believe this book belongs in every firehouse. Bill Shouldis, Deputy Chief Philadelphia Fire Department
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First In, Last Out: Leadership Lessons from the New York Fire Department
CDN$ 19.50 CDN$ 14.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews