Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why everyone is now - or can be - a leader but only if...., October 16, 2008
Seth Godin's books and blog provide a wealth of information, observations, opinions, and (especially) challenges that can help others to overcome what James O'Toole so aptly characterizes as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom." In this, his most recent book, he urges his reader to consider and then take full advantage of unprecedented opportunities to...
Published on Oct. 16 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All-Inclusive Invitation to Lead Combined with Rants about What Not to Do
This book's theme is unconventional leadership, taking a cause or idea and gathering support without a firm institutional foundation by finding like-minded individuals and connecting them. If that's a new idea to you, you will find the book to be flattering in its encouragement and motivational in its tone. If you are an unconventional leader already or know a lot about...
Published on Nov. 28 2008 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All-Inclusive Invitation to Lead Combined with Rants about What Not to Do, Nov. 28 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
This book's theme is unconventional leadership, taking a cause or idea and gathering support without a firm institutional foundation by finding like-minded individuals and connecting them. If that's a new idea to you, you will find the book to be flattering in its encouragement and motivational in its tone. If you are an unconventional leader already or know a lot about how to do this, you will search in vain for anything new in Tribes.

The book's substance is rather thin beyond the few examples and rants.

Here it is:

People are turned into a tribe by "a shared interest" and "a way to communicate" ("leader to tribe, tribe to leader, tribe member to tribe member, and tribe member to outsider"). A leader increases effectiveness for the people by

"transforming the shared interest into a passionate goal and desire for change;
"providing tools to allow members to tighten their communications; and
"leveraging the tribe to allow it to grow and gain new members."

As you can see, he's describing the way causes, nonprofits, political pressure groups, and save the world organizations operate.

Some will be offended by the rants. For example, he takes off rather hard on all religions while being all in favor of faith that you can accomplish whatever you want. There's no real basis for his position other than generalities about how no religions ever favor any changes. Well, if that were the case, there would still be rampant slavery in many nations. It was religious organizations that led the antislavery movement from the beginning.

Mr. Godin is very well informed about things that happened recently on the Internet (or in his own life), but he doesn't seem to have a broader understanding of leadership or change leadership. If either subject interests you, I suggest that you read better informed authors like John Kotter (Leading Change, The Heart of Change: Real-Life Stories of How People Change Their Organizations, and A Sense of Urgency), John Maxwell (The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership: Follow Them and People Will Follow You, and Developing the Leader Within You), and Peter Drucker (Innovation and Entrepreneurship).

I found his commentary that getting ideas is unimportant to be particularly unhelpful. He feels that leadership is all about passion and communication. But with the wrong ideas, you can be passionate about communicating harmful changes.

Ultimately, this is a book that will be enjoyed by those who cannot stop admiring themselves enough. Mr. Godin will encourage them to take actions so they can admire themselves even more. Whatever happened to servant leadership?

Seth Godin fans can't seem to get enough exhortations and rants directing them to be bigger, bolder, and more assertive than ever before about anything that occurs to them. I suppose I should review these books by comparing them to what New Age gurus suggest rather than serious books about accomplishing useful things.

I was intrigued to see that Mr. Godin addressed those who give his books critical reviews by noting that he's pleased that anyone takes the books seriously. Perhaps they aren't meant to be taken seriously. My mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why everyone is now - or can be - a leader but only if...., October 16, 2008, Oct. 16 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
Seth Godin's books and blog provide a wealth of information, observations, opinions, and (especially) challenges that can help others to overcome what James O'Toole so aptly characterizes as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom." In this, his most recent book, he urges his reader to consider and then take full advantage of unprecedented opportunities to become a leader. He cites five different but related reasons: "everyone in an organization - not just the boss - is expected to lead," in today's workplace "it's easier than ever before to change things [and] individuals have more leverage than ever before," those and their organizations that "change things and create remarkable products and services" are rewarded in the marketplace, change initiatives are "engaging, thrilling, profitable and fun," and most of all, there is a "tribe" of other people waiting for a leader "to connect them to one another and lead them where they want to go."

In this context, I am reminded of a passage from Lao-Tzu's Tao Te Ching:

"Learn from the people
Plan with the people
Begin with what they have
Build on what they know
Of the best leaders
When the task is accomplished
The people will remark
We have done it ourselves. "

This is precisely what Godin has in mind when asserting that great leaders "create movements by empowering the tribe [i.e. those with a shared interest] to communicate. They establish the foundation for people to make connections, as opposed to commanding people to follow." The communication to which he refers is between and among the leader and members of a tribe who are connected by a shared interest, a common cause (i.e. "a passionate goal"), and a determination to create things that did not exist before, to achieve something that could happen but hasn't yet. Godin stresses the need for leaders with imagination. In the words of George Bernard Shaw, those who "dream things that never were and say why not."

In his recent published book, Iconoclast, Gregory Berns examines a number of leaders, each of whom was a "breaker or destroyer of images," who in recent years accomplished what others claimed could not be done. When doing so, these modern iconoclasts attacked orthodox beliefs and, in some cases, institutions. "The overarching theme of this book is that iconoclasts are able to do things that others say can't be done, because iconoclasts perceive things differently than other people." Berns goes on to explain that the difference in perception "plays out in the initial stages of an idea. It plays out in how their manage their fears, and it manifests in how they pitch their ideas to the masses of noniconoclasts. It is an exceedingly rare individual who possesses all three of these traits." One of Godin's most important points is that almost anyone can be an iconoclast if she or he creates a movement by empowering a tribe and motivating its members to attack and then destroy the status quo, meanwhile connecting them to each other to leverage their combined strengths.

I agree with Godin that leaders "make a ruckus." So did Alcibiades' drunken seamen who, while ashore and roaming the streets of Athens late one night, smashed sacred icons. It is important to keep in mind that Godin's "tribe" is not a mob, not is it a crowd. "A crowd is a tribe without a leader. A crowd is a tribe without communication." It is easy to collect a crowd. The objective, Godin, suggests, is to create a tribe. Will it be easy? Of course not. That requires more time and effort to motivate, connect, and leverage its members. Also, it is necessary for leaders to overcome fear, not of failure but of blame. "We chose not to be remarkable because we're worried about criticism." Recent research conducted by the Gallup Organization indicates that 29% of the U.S. workforce is engaged (i.e. loyal, enthusiastic, and productive) whereas 55% is passively disengaged. That is, they are going through the motions, doing only what they must, "mailing it in," coasting, etc. What about the other 16%? They are actively disengaged in that they are doing whatever they can to undermine their employer's efforts to succeed. They have a toxic impact on their associates and, in many instances, on customer relations.

Godin would describe the passively disengaged as "sleepwalkers," those who "have been raised to be obedient" and are comfortable "with brain-dead jobs and enough fear to keep in line." For at least some of them, leaders provide the will to make something better happen. I could be wrong but I doubt of he would characterize actively disengaged as "heretics," those who are "engaged, passionate, and more powerful and happier than anyone else." Yes, they threaten the status quo but demonstrate what Joseph Schumpeter describes as "creative destruction." With effective leadership, they support and are supported by their tribe to achieve, together, beneficial change whereas the actively disengaged seek only disruption and destruction.

In my opinion, this is Godin's most important book thus far because he challenges his reader to accept full responsibility for becoming a tribal leader of principled and productive agents of positive change. "No one gives you permission or approval or a permit to lead, You can just do it. The only one who can say no is you." But he doesn't stop there. He also challenges his reader to share his book with others. "Ask them to read it. Beg them to make a choice about leadership. We need them. We need you. Spread the word. Thanks."

Now what? Read this book. Then what? That's up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Godin's Greatest Book - But I Liked It, Dec 16 2008
By 
J. A. Broad "Julie Broad (http://www.revnyou.... (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
My favourite line from the book states "If he wasn't willing to be wrong, he'd be unable to be right as often as he is"...referring to a successful polster. The bottom line is that people should stick their necks out more and challenge the status quo. Because the status quo exists because we don't do anything about it. We must believe that it's probably better than changing to something else, so we just carry on.

The second best line in the book is "Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don't to escape from."

He challenges us to step up, and lead the change away from status quo. He also challenges us to rethink what it means to be a leader.

I think that is a great concept. And, I think it's a message worth spreading even though I really don't believe that everyone should be a leader. But I do believe that change is good, and we need more change, especially inside many of the organizations in the country (auto manufacturers maybe?!).

If you've never read Seth Godin's work before... don't start with this book. "The Dip", "The Purple Cow" and even the free one "Bootstrapper's Bible" are better reads.

That said, every books speaks to every person different depending on where they are in their lives. So, if you're a fan of Godin, read the book. And, maybe it will speak to you more than it spoke to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why buy this book?, Oct. 28 2008
By 
JeanLuc Boissonneault (Ottawa, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
If you are a business owner like me, you better hope your competitor hasn't read Tribe already, this book has made me pay more attention to my own tribe and re focused my energy on what really matters "them" and "the world we are trying to change."

If you haven't read any of Seth's books. Seth is superhuman, just look at his head. He seems to have a way of communicating what's coming next in the marketing world in such a simple way. I've read everyone of his books and he can't keep up with my reading. Now that's a marketer that walks the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, Repetative, hard to read., Oct. 6 2013
By 
Roman Y. Blyshchyk "NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE" (Waterloo, ON , Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
Even though the book is small, it is a pain to read.
The author is great, but this is not the best of his work ( IMHO ).

The same theme and message is being repeated over and over, without much of elaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tribes, May 24 2009
By 
P. Média (Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
The take home message is very very light. The message is simply: we need leaders and you can be one, you should be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystical, yet grounded, Aug. 6 2008
By 
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
Once again, Seth Godin hits a homerun! Tribes is, without a doubt, the best book I've ever read on marketing in the modern age. What I like best about Tribes is that it allows the reader to really get in touch with themselves. Marketing, it seems to say, is within each one of us. "Go away!" the book taunts, "You don't need me. Look inside yourself. The secrets to all your marketing dreams are curled up there like little children, waiting for you to wake them, teach them, guide them to a full and happy life."

Note: this review will only be valid until Oct. 31, 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars keep trying, Sept. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us (Hardcover)
This is one of the worst written books ever. There is no beginning, middle, or end. There is no structure and the author rambles on and on about the same thing jumping from topic to topic. Seth godin is a great marketer but not a good writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not an African tribe silly...., April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes(CD)(Unabr.) (Audio CD)
But a tribe of likeminded people that share a similar niche or interest in something. Tribes describes how necessary it is to build a tribe of your own and lead or join a tribe and contribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So true. I thought I was alone with how I was leading but this book confirms what I have been doing and feeling as a leader. Bravo and spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us
Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin (Hardcover - Oct. 21 2008)
CDN$ 26.00 CDN$ 16.30
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews